Dear Newsgroup:
I have written a letter to the Internet partners and I am following up with their recommendation (sent an email to the abuse department).
The person in question is in Germany.
Here is their letter, what is the situation? Any lessons for the Usenet?
Hi Mehran,
If you look again at the bottom you will see the line:
The user making this post is doing so from a computer
using IP address 81.169.155.246
There is a command called "whois" that can be run at any UNIX prompt including
the terminal prompt under MacOS. There's a command-line version of whois
for Windows that also does the same thing. Run it like this:
$ whois -h whois.ripe.net 81.169.155.246
% This is the RIPE Whois query server #2.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% Rights restricted by copyright.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html
% Note: This output has been filtered.
% To receive output for a database update, use the "-B" flag
% Information related to '81.169.144.0 - 81.169.156.255'
inetnum: 81.169.144.0 - 81.169.156.255
netname: STRATO-RZG-KA
descr: Strato Rechenzentrum, Berlin
country: DE
admin-c: CM265-RIPE
tech-c: XX1-RIPE
tech-c: WB14-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PA
remarks: in case of spam, attacks from these addresses
remarks: please inform ab...@strato.de
mnt-by: STRATO-RZG-MNT
mnt-lower: STRATO-RZG-MNT
mnt-routes: STRATO-RZG-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
person: Christian Mueller
address: Cronon AG
address: Pascalstrasse 10
address: D-10587 Berlin
address: Germany
phone: +49 30 398020
fax-no: +49 30 39802222
abuse-mailbox: ab...@strato.de
nic-hdl: CM265-RIPE
remarks: see also: XX1-RIPE CM5081-NSI CM1-ABC SOUL-RIPE
mnt-by: CRONON-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
person: Christian Xaver Mueller
address: Cronon AG
address: Pascalstrasse 10
address: D-10587 Berlin
address: Germany
phone: +49 30 398020
fax-no: +49 30 39 802-222
abuse-mailbox: ab...@strato.de
nic-hdl: XX1-RIPE
remarks: see also: CM265-RIPE SOUL-RIPE
mnt-by: CRONON-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
person: Wilhelm Boeddinghaus
address: Strato Rechenzentrum GmbH
address: Pascalstrasse 10
address: D-10587 Berlin
address: Germany
phone: +49 30 39802-0
fax-no: +49 30 39802-222
nic-hdl: WB14-RIPE
remarks: see also INTERNIC: >WB131<
mnt-by: CRONON-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
% Information related to '81.169.128.0/18AS6724'
route: 81.169.128.0/18
descr: Strato Rechenzentrum
origin: AS6724
mnt-by: STRATO-RZG-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
% Information related to '81.169.144.0/20AS6724'
route: 81.169.144.0/20
descr: Strato Rechenzentrum
origin: AS6724
mnt-by: STRATO-RZG-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
As you can see, you can e-mail ab...@strato.de about this. Since 81.169.155.246 is their IP address, they presumably know what customers of theirs are using their IP numbers, and can take action
on it.
Beyond this, the only time we put up any kind of network block in the web-to-news gateway is if the gateway is used for spamming. This isn't the case here.
The person who is impersonating you could do the same thing by putting your name and address in MS Outlook and using that to send news through their own ISP's newsserver.
It's generally accepted on Usenet that anyone who posts to a newsgroup using forged identification of another active participant has already lost the argument. By responding to
them you merely give them the attention they want. The best policy is to ignore them.
Ted Mittelstaedt
Director of Network Operations Center
Internet Partners, Inc. / Seasurf Internet
supp...@ipinc.net