Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Scorpion's touch and first strike

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Naram

unread,
Mar 24, 2002, 8:27:46 PM3/24/02
to
A few questions:

1) Is scorpion's touch usable with silence of death?

2) does the reduction of strength effect the first regular strike used
by the opposing minin. ST states "does not effect the >current< strike
resolution, so this question comes down to is first strike and regular
strike part of the same resolution phase.

Thanks
Naram

LSJ

unread,
Mar 24, 2002, 9:03:05 PM3/24/02
to
Naram wrote:
>
> A few questions:
>
> 1) Is scorpion's touch usable with silence of death?

Silence of Death doesn't restrict any strikes, so all strikes are "usable".

In addition, Scorpion's Touch is either a hand strike or a melee weapon
strike, depending on the striker's choice in the matter, so will benefit
from the First Strike quality imparted by Silence of Death. (card text).

> 2) does the reduction of strength [affect] the first regular strike used
> by the opposing [minion]. ST states "does not effect the >current< strike


> resolution, so this question comes down to is first strike and regular
> strike part of the same resolution phase.

Yes. All strikes that resolve after the Scorpion's Touch effect is applied
to the minion are affected.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Petri Wessman

unread,
Mar 25, 2002, 4:06:32 AM3/25/02
to
On Mon, 25 Mar 2002 02:03:05 GMT, LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> said:

>> 2) does the reduction of strength [affect] the first regular strike used
>> by the opposing [minion]. ST states "does not effect the >current< strike
>> resolution, so this question comes down to is first strike and regular
>> strike part of the same resolution phase.

vtesrep> Yes. All strikes that resolve after the Scorpion's Touch
vtesrep> effect is applied to the minion are affected.

<delurk/>

Could you please clarify? I found the question interesting, so is the
full answer "yes, first strike and regular strike are part of the same
resolution phase, so playing ST as first strike does not reduce the
hand damage of the opposing minion's (non-first-strike) strike"?

Or is it the other way around?

//Petri

LSJ

unread,
Mar 25, 2002, 6:18:39 AM3/25/02
to

The full answer is "Yes. First Strike resolves before normal strikes, so
normal strikes resolve after First Strikes, and any strike that resolves
after the minion has received an adjustment to strength (like his normal
strike after your First Strike) is affected by the adjustement to strength
(only interesting for strength-based strikes, of course)."

There's no mention of "phase" in there.

0 new messages