Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Some questions, LSJ?

4 views
Skip to first unread message

Petri Wessman

unread,
Nov 18, 1998, 3:00:00 AM11/18/98
to
Hello all, here are some questions that have popped up in local games
lately:

- Blessing of Chaos: the card text says "...Put this card on the
acting vampire. If the vampire with this card attempts to block
another vampire, that vampire cannot play action modifiers requiring
Dementation, Dominate, Presence, or Chimerstry. Vampires opposing
this vampire in combat cannot play cards that require those
Disciplines.".

What happens if someone plays an action modifier before the minion
with the Blessing blocks? For example, is minion A announces a bleed
and immediately plays a Conditioning on it, and minion B (with
Blessing) then announces intention to block. Does the Blessing only
affect modifiers played after the block attempt?

- Can a minion with Derange on him/her move the Derange to another
minion controlled my the same meth? I'd assume no, since the move is
a (D) action and you can't do those against yourself, but I'd like
confirmation.

Can the Derange be moved to (another meth's) torpored minion? I'd
assume yes.

- Another "just checking" question: can several different minions use
Cloak the Gathering to give another minion stealth for the same
action? I'd assume yes, since as far as I understand the "only one
modifier" rule only applies to the acting minion.

- Cailean vs. Shadow Step. What happens? Both cards say that they can
"set the range" for the combat, skipping the Establish Range step.

//Petri

James Coupe

unread,
Nov 18, 1998, 3:00:00 AM11/18/98
to
In article <7xhfvx5...@termiitti.akumiitti.fi>, Petri Wessman
<or...@termiitti.akumiitti.fi> writes

>Hello all, here are some questions that have popped up in local games
>lately:
>
>- Blessing of Chaos: the card text says "...Put this card on the
> acting vampire. If the vampire with this card attempts to block
> another vampire, that vampire cannot play action modifiers requiring
> Dementation, Dominate, Presence, or Chimerstry. Vampires opposing
> this vampire in combat cannot play cards that require those
> Disciplines.".
>
> What happens if someone plays an action modifier before the minion
> with the Blessing blocks?

Nothing, the card is not retroactive.

> For example, is minion A announces a bleed
> and immediately plays a Conditioning on it, and minion B (with
> Blessing) then announces intention to block. Does the Blessing only
> affect modifiers played after the block attempt?

Yes.

>
>- Can a minion with Derange on him/her move the Derange to another
> minion controlled my the same meth? I'd assume no, since the move is
> a (D) action and you can't do those against yourself, but I'd like
> confirmation.

Rules change. (D) actions can be done against yourself, but they become
undirected, basically.

>
> Can the Derange be moved to (another meth's) torpored minion? I'd
> assume yes.
>

Unless the card specifies ready minion, there is no reason why not, I
would have thought.

>- Another "just checking" question: can several different minions use
> Cloak the Gathering to give another minion stealth for the same
> action? I'd assume yes, since as far as I understand the "only one
> modifier" rule only applies to the acting minion.

1 modifier/action/minion.

You have to use several different minions. You can't get 1 minion to
play several cloaks on one action even if they aren't the acting one.

And the vampires playing cloak can be tapped.

>
>- Cailean vs. Shadow Step. What happens? Both cards say that they can
> "set the range" for the combat, skipping the Establish Range step.
>

Whichever one is played first takes precedence. So, presumably
whichever one the acting vampire uses.

--
James Coupe (Prince of Mercia, England)

Vampire: Elder Kindred Network
http://madnessnetwork.hexagon.net

LSJ

unread,
Nov 18, 1998, 3:00:00 AM11/18/98
to
Petri Wessman wrote:
>
> Hello all, here are some questions that have popped up in local games
> lately:
>
> - Blessing of Chaos: the card text says "...Put this card on the
> acting vampire. If the vampire with this card attempts to block
> another vampire, that vampire cannot play action modifiers requiring
> Dementation, Dominate, Presence, or Chimerstry. Vampires opposing
> this vampire in combat cannot play cards that require those
> Disciplines.".
>
> What happens if someone plays an action modifier before the minion
> with the Blessing blocks? For example, is minion A announces a bleed

> and immediately plays a Conditioning on it, and minion B (with
> Blessing) then announces intention to block. Does the Blessing only
> affect modifiers played after the block attempt?

Yes.

> - Can a minion with Derange on him/her move the Derange to another
> minion controlled my the same meth? I'd assume no, since the move is
> a (D) action and you can't do those against yourself, but I'd like
> confirmation.

Yes. (D) is not a restriction or a enhancement - it's just a
description. If the action is targetting a vampire you control, then
it is not (D) by definition of (D). In this case, as with all
undirected actions, your prey and predator may attempt to block.

> Can the Derange be moved to (another meth's) torpored minion? I'd
> assume yes.

Yes.

Note that Derange can only be moved to vampires, and only to vampires
who are not Malkavian Antitribu already.

> - Another "just checking" question: can several different minions use
> Cloak the Gathering to give another minion stealth for the same
> action?

Yes.

> I'd assume yes, since as far as I understand the "only one
> modifier" rule only applies to the acting minion.

It applies to each minion individually.

> - Cailean vs. Shadow Step. What happens? Both cards say that they can
> "set the range" for the combat, skipping the Establish Range step.

Once one of them has set the range, the other can no longer (be used to)
do so. Acting minion gets first chance to play an effect, as always.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and DCI (tournament) rules:
http://www.wizards.com/VTES/VTES_Rules.html

Kevin Kelly

unread,
Nov 18, 1998, 3:00:00 AM11/18/98
to
LSJ wrote:
>
> Petri Wessman wrote:
> >
> > Hello all, here are some questions that have popped up in local games
> > lately:
> >
> > - Blessing of Chaos: the card text says "...Put this card on the
> > acting vampire. If the vampire with this card attempts to block
> > another vampire, that vampire cannot play action modifiers requiring
> > Dementation, Dominate, Presence, or Chimerstry. Vampires opposing
> > this vampire in combat cannot play cards that require those
> > Disciplines.".
> >
> > What happens if someone plays an action modifier before the minion
> > with the Blessing blocks? For example, is minion A announces a bleed
> > and immediately plays a Conditioning on it, and minion B (with
> > Blessing) then announces intention to block. Does the Blessing only
> > affect modifiers played after the block attempt?
>
> Yes.
>

Doesn't the reacting methusula get a chance to play reactions before the
acting minion plays modifiers? I don't know what order this should take
but it seems that the "first one takes precidence" without a specific
order which get the first *chance* to play will cause a speed play thing
that could cause problems. I can just see people fighting over who's
card hit the table first. How would this work?

Kevin

LSJ

unread,
Nov 18, 1998, 3:00:00 AM11/18/98
to
Kevin Kelly <kke...@activecom.net> wrote:
> Doesn't the reacting methusula get a chance to play reactions before the
> acting minion plays modifiers? I don't know what order this should take
> but it seems that the "first one takes precidence" without a specific
> order which get the first *chance* to play will cause a speed play thing
> that could cause problems. I can just see people fighting over who's
> card hit the table first. How would this work?

The acting player *always* has first chance to play an effect.
[1.6.1.5]

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and DCI (tournament) rules:
http://www.wizards.com/VTES/VTES_Rules.html

-----------== Posted via Deja News, The Discussion Network ==----------
http://www.dejanews.com/ Search, Read, Discuss, or Start Your Own

Kevin Kelly

unread,
Nov 20, 1998, 3:00:00 AM11/20/98
to
LSJ wrote:
>
> Kevin Kelly <kke...@activecom.net> wrote:
> > Doesn't the reacting methusula get a chance to play reactions before the
> > acting minion plays modifiers? I don't know what order this should take
> > but it seems that the "first one takes precidence" without a specific
> > order which get the first *chance* to play will cause a speed play thing
> > that could cause problems. I can just see people fighting over who's
> > card hit the table first. How would this work?
>
> The acting player *always* has first chance to play an effect.
> [1.6.1.5]

Ok, just to make sure I am clear on this:

I used to think the modifier/reaction order was:

Action Declared -> Opponent has chance to play reaction -> acting meth
plays mod ->etc until complete.

But you are saying:

Action Declared -> actor has chance to play mod -> opp has chance to
play reaction -> etc

or is it:

Action -> play as many mods as you want but have to lay them down at the
same time -> play reactions (as many as you want but at the same time)
-> etc.

Kevin

0 new messages