Card text on Descent into Darkness: "...breaking any temporary control 
effects"
So if the DiD is successful, you lose control of the vampire 
immediately, and the original owner may burn (or not) the DiD during 
their influence phase, as normal.
--Colin McGuigan
Since descent into darkness breaks any temporary control effects, I would
say that as soon as you do it, the vampire goes back to whoever you stole it
from, and then becomes "out of play"
David
although my clock says 12:10 so I can see into the future : )
Time to set my clock back to 2003. =P
--Colin McGuigan
Gehenna spoilers? Pshaw! Try "Bet it all on Smarty Jones..."
Or stock tips, at the least.
--Colin McGuigan
Smarty Jones?
Stock Tips, sure, don't buy anything! : )
Y'know, the horse that won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes this 
year?
> Stock Tips, sure, don't buy anything! : )
That's advice for 2001. =P
--Colin McGuigan
thing is it goes out of play first then it sayz the part about
breaking any temporary controle effects.
But another question, if the original owner does get it back i can
still decide when to burn the DiD right? and basicly keep that vamp
out of the game for as long as i want
No.  Descent into Darkness is a minion card, so, barring explicit card 
text to the contrary, it is controlled by the controller of the vampire 
it's on.
You MR + DiD the vampire, it does go out of play, but its original 
controller can bring it back in during their next influence phase.
--Colin McGuigan
Arguably:
It goes out of play before the temporary control fails. Since the 
vampire is out of play there is nothing to change control of the DiD so 
it should stay until you choose to burn it. 
If so... what happens when you are ousted? the DiD burns -does the vamp 
have time to revert before it burns as well? Does it even come back into 
play? (ie does it end up in the original controller's ashheap, in the 
owners ready region, or out of play?)
Not really. =P
> It goes out of play before the temporary control fails. Since the 
> vampire is out of play there is nothing to change control of the DiD so 
> it should stay until you choose to burn it. 
Card text on DiD is enough to change control.  DiD is a minion card, and 
so is controlled by the controller of the minion.  DiD specifically 
states that it breaks temporary control effects on the minion, ergo, it 
is controlled by the minion's original controller.
> If so...
Moot.
--Colin McGuigan
The minion card is out of play so the DiD isn't on a minion.
 
Descent into Darkness card text: "Put this card [DiD] on him or her [the 
minion] (in play)"
The text in [] added by me for context, of course.
--Colin McGuigan
Correct (where "original" means "current permanent controller").
-- 
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Yes. The tempoprary control is not broken until the minion leaves play 
however.
Doesn't matter when the temporary control is broken -- the DiD is still 
controlled by the Methuselah who controls the minion that it's on.
--Colin McGuigan
No one controls the minion if it is out of play.
Sure they do.  Contested cards, eg, are out of play but are most 
definitely controlled by a specific Methuselah.
--Colin McGuigan
No. Out of play cards are not controlled. They cannot be counted for,
for example, Consanguinous Boon.
Poor phrasing on my part.  Not controlled in terms of "controlled" vs" 
"uncontrolled", but out of play cards are still...owned?...by a Methuselah.
--Colin McGuigan
nope. 'owned', in vtes context, means belongs to whoever put the cards
in their deck and brought them along. some cards say they go to their
owner's ash heap when burned.
out of play cards are ....in front of.....a methuselah.
...associated...with a methuselah
something. i dunno.
salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm
(replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)
"I like to play the field"-LSJ
Anyway -given that it's out of play and therefore not controlled does 
the DiD (and its vampire) stay with the person who played the DiD until 
they choose to burn it?
I would hate to see Mind Rapers &co get another way to permanenely 
remove vampires but I can't see why this wouldn't work without 
rewording.
(the vampire is not controlled at all so there is no reason for breaking 
the temporary control effect to do anything to control of DiD)
No, LSJ already answered that.  You and I just started arguing on a 
tangent. =P
--Colin McGuigan
You mean this?
Subject: Re: Mind rape + Descent into Darkness, what happens?
From: LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com>
Newsgroups: rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad
Colin McGuigan wrote:
> Card text on DiD is enough to change control.  DiD is a minion card, and 
> so is controlled by the controller of the minion.  DiD specifically 
> states that it breaks temporary control effects on the minion, ergo, it 
> is controlled by the minion's original controller.
Correct (where "original" means "current permanent controller").
-- 
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
 
Since we have just established that the vampire is not controlled this 
clearly isn't a valid/sufficient answer.
-The DiD is put in play by one player. 
-The minion it is played on is out of play thereafter. 
-The minion leaves play before the DiD breaks the temporary control 
effect.
- the out of play minion has no controller (though it would revert to 
it's last permanent controller when it reenters play).
Why should the DiD change control from the Meth that played it? 
a) It is NOT on a minion (it's 'on' an uncontrolled card/an uncontrolled 
card is on it) so the default controller is the Meth who put it in play.
b) The minion in question has no controller anyway. (LSJ above)
Yes.
And wow, Thunderbird doesn't like it when you quote someone's signature. 
  So I have to paste the rest of your message in; it got cut off after 
LSJ's sig when I hit "reply":
 > Since we have just established that the vampire is not controlled this
 > clearly isn't a valid/sufficient answer.
It's a terminology issue, but a vampire, even one out of play, does have 
a controller, even if it's not "controlled".  Otherwise, eg, you would 
not have to pay to contest a vampire.
 > Why should the DiD change control from the Meth that played it?
 > a) It is NOT on a minion (it's 'on' an uncontrolled card/an
 > uncontrolled
 > card is on it) so the default controller is the Meth who put it in
 > play.
Where do you get this?  It's on a minion just fine.  It even says, "Put 
this card on..."
> b) The minion in question has no controller anyway. (LSJ above)
The minion is not controlled (for purposes of Con Boon, etc) but that 
doesn't mean it has no controller.
--Colin McGuigan
When out of play, it's not a vampire, it's a card :)
//Doc.
-- 
"Wees jezelf, er zijn al zoveel anderen" - Loesje
begin Your_MS_program_incorrectly_interprets_this_as_an_attachment.txt
Technically, its both a vampire and a card in both cases. =P
--Colin McGuigan
When it is contested it has two (or more) contesters. It does not have a 
controller.
It is not controlled by you; it is in your play region. As you say a 
matter of terminology and the correct terminology is not clear -however 
it is clear that "control" is not part of the correct terminology.
 
>  > Why should the DiD change control from the Meth that played it?
>  > a) It is NOT on a minion (it's 'on' an uncontrolled card/an
>  > uncontrolled
>  > card is on it) so the default controller is the Meth who put it in
>  > play.
> 
> Where do you get this?  It's on a minion just fine.  It even says, "Put 
> this card on..."
1) you put it on a minion.
2) the minion leaves play
2) it is no longer on a minion
2) the temporary control effects are broken
>  > b) The minion in question has no controller anyway. (LSJ above)
> 
> The minion is not controlled (for purposes of Con Boon, etc) but that 
> doesn't mean it has no controller.
yes it does. Being controlled is a necessary result of having a 
controller.
Your numbering seems to be a little off.  And the sequencing, too.  It's 
really "vampire leaves play, (reminder text: temp control effects are 
broken), put this card on the vampire".  So the card is rather 
definitively on a minion.  By card text.
But it's pointless continuing this argument.  I showed you LSJ's post 
confirming that DiD is a minion card on a minion, and is controlled by 
the minion's permanent controller.  What else do you want?
--Colin McGuigan