I have always played that you play out both the concealed and weapon at
once, which would make the distinction of DI'ing only the concealed
card pointless as the weapon would still burn.
*confused, and thinking that this game just keeps getting more and more
pointlessly complicated*
G
It's not really THAT complicated. Play the card. Name any targets.
Allow for interrelation. Pay any costs. Resolve effects.
In this case, you aren't playing the weapon card. You are equipping it
from your hand. You are required to reveal it at the time of playing
the Concealed, but it's not put into play until the Concealed
resolves.
So it works as thus.
- Combat round begins.
- 'At beginning of combat/round' card opportunities.
- Play Concealed Weapon.
- Reveal designated Weapon in hand.
- Replace card.
- Opponents have option to play Direct Intervention.
- Resolve Concealed Weapon by putting Weapon on the Vampire, and
paying all costs/effects.
- Triggered effects happen (I don't think any apply to Combat cards)
- Continue 'At beginning of combat/round' card opportunities.
Morgan Vening
Concealed Weapon - Equip this minion with a non-unique weapon card
from your hand at the beginning of a round. Pay weapon's equip cost,
as normal. The weapon cannot cost more than 2 pool or inflict (with a
regular strike) aggravated damage or more than 3 damage.
Direct Intervention - Cancel a minion card as it is played. That card
has no effect. No cost is paid. If the burned card was an action card,
the acting minion remains untapped. If the card was a strike card, the
minion chooses another strike.
>- Play Concealed Weapon.
>- Reveal designated Weapon in hand.
I'm not sure you reveal it as much as just call it by name. but,
seeing as how if you name something you don't have in hand is
cheating, it hardly makes an actual difference. except for the bit in
the rules where you're not allowed to reveal cards in hand to other
players.
salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm
(replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)
> - Replace card.
> - Opponents have option to play Direct Intervention.
I'd wager that this is the other way around. The card can be DI-ed as it is
being played, but you only replace it after it has been played.
--
Bye,
Daneel
Yes.
In practice, both are played and, if DI'ed, then the wepaon is retrieved.
Just as other little things are glossed over in routine play (and
rewound when the "oversight" becomes problematic).
> I have always played that you play out both the concealed and weapon at
> once, which would make the distinction of DI'ing only the concealed
> card pointless as the weapon would still burn.
>
> *confused, and thinking that this game just keeps getting more and more
> pointlessly complicated*
Hardly pointlessly.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Ah, right. In practice, again, it is usually done the way Morgan says
(and rewound if necessary).
Does the play announce and reveal the conceal/disguise card and then
pick up that card before playing the weapon card?
Or does concealed/disguised plus the weapon need to be played at the
same time?
Andrew
http://groups-beta.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/f397c50d919990da
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
Andrew