If a minion burdened with an Anathema, full of blood, suffers aggravated
damage and is headed towards torpor, can the opposing minion play an
Amaranth and receive pool for burning the vampire?
Anathema Card Text:
Worth 1 vote. Called by any Prince or Justicar at +1 stealth. Choose a ready
vampire. If the referendum is successful, put this card on that vampire. If
that vampire is reduced to zero blood in combat, he or she is burned, and
the Methuselah controlling the opposing minion gains pool equal to the
burned vampire's capacity.
Anathema Clarifications and Rulings
Burns the target vampire when the target is reduced to zero blood in combat,
regardless of the source of the loss of blood (card text). Still won't burn
a vampire just for entering a combat with zero blood, however - there must
be an actual "reduction" in blood. [RTR 19980623]
Amaranth Card Text:
Only usable by a vampire who can commit diablerie. Diablerize an opposing
vampire instead of sending that vampire into torpor. Not usable by a vampire
going into torpor.
Amaranth Clarifications and Rulings
Only vampires who can commit diablerie can use Amaranth. If a vampire is
prohibited from commiting diablerie, he can't use Amaranth to overcome the
restriction. [RTR 19991001]
6.5.5. Diablerie
Diablerie is the act of sending another vampire to Final Death by drinking
his blood. Only ready vampires can commit diablerie. Vampires of Clan
Assamite suffer from a Blood Curse which prevents them from committing
diablerie. The vampire committing diablerie is called the diablerist.
Diablerie is resolved as follows:
1. All blood on the victim is moved to the diablerist. Blood in excess of
his capacity drains off as normal.
2. The diablerist may take any equipment on the victim.
3. The victim is burned (sent to his owner's ash heap). Any cards and
counters on him are also burned.
4. If the victim was older (had a higher capacity) than the diablerist, the
diablerist can be given a Discipline. His controller may go through her
library, ash heap and hand to get a master Discipline card to put on the
diablerist and then reshuffle her library or draw back up to her hand size,
as necessary. This increases the diablerist's capacity by one, but does not
automatically give the diablerist a blood to fill that new capacity.
5. A blood hunt may be called.
Since Amaranth is a combat card and does not specify that combat ends, would
this work in the following manner?
FattyAnathema (12 cap) is struck by Badger (6 cap)with 1 agg damage. At the
end of Damage Resolution, FattyAnathema is headed to torpor. Badger plays
Amaranth, which means she is Diablerizing FattyAnathema instead of letting
him go to torpor. Combat has not yet ended. Badger follows the steps of
Diablerie:
1. All blood on FattyAnathema is moved to the diablerist.
At this point, Anathema's text kicks in and FattyAnathema is burnt, as there
is a reduction of blood to zero and combat has not yet ended.
Is this a correct assumption?
-Mike Ooi
>At this point, Anathema's text kicks in and FattyAnathema is burnt, as there
>is a reduction of blood to zero and combat has not yet ended.
>
>Is this a correct assumption?
>
>-Mike Ooi
>
>
>
>
I dont think so.
IIRC as soon as the vampire is no longer ready combat ends.
Hence, as amaranth is played, and resolves, at this point, the vampire
is no longer ready, hence combat ends. Anathema does not trigger.
Yes.
You finish the Anathema diablerie (again, no interrupting the effect).
The you burn the victim (redundantly) for Anathema's card text (and Fatty's
controller gains pool).
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
> You finish the Anathema diablerie (again, no interrupting the effect).
>
> The you burn the victim (redundantly) for Anathema's card text (and Fatty's
> controller gains pool).
As Fatty is the victim of the diablerie, Badger's controller will gain the
pool.
Card text of Anathema.
Carpe noctem.
Lasombra
--
Posted from rr-163-54-80.atl.mediaone.net [24.163.54.80]
via Mailgate.ORG Server - http://www.Mailgate.ORG
No. If combat ended as soon as the opposing minion was about to go to
torpor, there'd be no oportunity to play Amaranth at all (since
Amaranth is a combat card and has to be played in combat).
Flux
Badger, right. Thanks for the catch.
Dear gods, and here I was, about to torch my Nosferatu Princes
Anathema/Archon/Amaranth deck, because it was trying to do too much.
Silly me, it wasn't doing too much, it was doing to little at any
given time! Muah! Ha! Hah!
The Fanboy
Does Badger still get the skill card?
Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown, Jr.
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp
I didnt say it ends when a vampire is about to go to torpor, i said it
ended when a vampire is no longer ready. A vampire on his way to
torpor is indeed ready, a burnt one is not.
In any event, LSJ has ruled me wrong.
Hmm. That should say "Amaranth", not "Anathema" - there is no "Anathema" diablerie.
> > The you burn the victim (redundantly) for Anathema's card text (and Fatty's
> > controller gains pool).
>
> Does Badger still get the skill card?
If Fatty is older, yes. You finish the Amaranth diablerie.
She also gets any equipment on Fatty.
She also gets a blood hunt :-)