Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

questions (was Re: Qns.)

5 views
Skip to first unread message

LSJ

unread,
Aug 11, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/11/98
to VTE...@oracle.wizards.com
On VTES-L, "....salem christ...." <k940...@BOHM.ANU.EDU.AU> writes:
> [vtesrep writes:]
> >Michael Beer <Mi...@leila.ping.de> wrote:
> >> Especially: Is a vamp with 1 blood, using Force of Will, burned at the
> >> end of the action, or does he simply go into torpor with 1 point of
> >> unhealed aggravated damage (suppose that the action remained unblocked)?
> >
> >Assuming: unblocked action.
> >
> >FoW: cost 1 blood. The vampire is empty when he pays that cost (and before
> >FoW deals any damage to him).
> >
> >or (superior): the vampire takes one aggravated damage and goes to torpor.
>
> what if he was going to torpor during combat because he took more damage
> than he had blood, does the agg damage from FoW know that in the combat he
> had unhealed damage, or does it only count unhealed damage happening at the
> same time the agg is happeneing?

The former.

A vampire in Torpor is effectively wounded (has unhealed damage) already.
That's what Torpor is for: wounded vampires.

With that in mind, damage (regular and aggravated) is treated the same
by a vampire in torpor as it is by a vampire in the ready region:

* Pay one blood to heal each point of regular damage (if unable, there
is no other effect - the vampire remains in torpor).
* Pay one blood to prevent destruction from each point of aggravated
damage (if unable, the vampire is burned).

> and a stupid torpor question:
> if my vamp has 2 blood, can it attempt to rescue someone else's empty
> vampire from torpor, and then try and make the other vampire pay, thus
> having the action fizzle?
> or do you have to declare who's going to pay when you announce the action
> (and therefore since the cost can't be paid if you declare "other vamp
> pays" then you can't attempt the action.)

The latter. The cost is announced along with the rest of the information
about the action (the acting minion, the target if any, the default stealth,
etc.) at the start of the action.

You cannot attempt an action whose cost cannot be paid.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Searchable database of official card text, errata, and rulings:
http://deckserver.net/cgi-deckserver/rulemonger.cgi/powersearch

-----== Posted via Deja News, The Leader in Internet Discussion ==-----
http://www.dejanews.com/rg_mkgrp.xp Create Your Own Free Member Forum

CPilh...@bhak12.ac.at

unread,
Aug 12, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/12/98
to
In article <6qpt5k$kdl$1...@nnrp1.dejanews.com>,

vte...@wizards.com (LSJ) wrote:
> On VTES-L, "....salem christ...." <k940...@BOHM.ANU.EDU.AU> writes:
> > [vtesrep writes:]
> > >Michael Beer <Mi...@leila.ping.de> wrote:

>
> A vampire in Torpor is effectively wounded (has unhealed damage) already.
> That's what Torpor is for: wounded vampires.
>
> With that in mind, damage (regular and aggravated) is treated the same
> by a vampire in torpor as it is by a vampire in the ready region:
>
> * Pay one blood to heal each point of regular damage (if unable, there
> is no other effect - the vampire remains in torpor).
> * Pay one blood to prevent destruction from each point of aggravated
> damage (if unable, the vampire is burned).

_This_ I call a good explanation. Why couldn't you state that earlier?
Perhaps you could think your initial posting from 7/7 over, and make
it a bit clearer to us players. In the last few weeks there has been
a lot of confusion about the topic, and in the light of the asked
questions, perhaps you can reword your ruling.

Just to make it a bit more accessable. I think the most confusing thing
is "wounded vampire", and "healing" and actual "damage".
I only wanted to make a few useful suggestions for easier access to
the new rules. Thanks.

-Carl, VEKN Prince of Vienna

LSJ

unread,
Aug 12, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/12/98
to
CPilh...@bhak12.ac.at wrote:

> vte...@wizards.com (LSJ) wrote:
> >
> > A vampire in Torpor is effectively wounded (has unhealed damage) already.
> > That's what Torpor is for: wounded vampires.
> >
> > With that in mind, damage (regular and aggravated) is treated the same
> > by a vampire in torpor as it is by a vampire in the ready region:
> >
> > * Pay one blood to heal each point of regular damage (if unable, there
> > is no other effect - the vampire remains in torpor).
> > * Pay one blood to prevent destruction from each point of aggravated
> > damage (if unable, the vampire is burned).
>
> _This_ I call a good explanation. Why couldn't you state that earlier?

I have, several times. For example :

Subject: Re: Aggravated Damage (Re: VTES RTR 980707)
From: vte...@wizards.com (LSJ)
Date: 1998/07/09
Message-ID: <6o2el5$n72$1...@nnrp1.dejanews.com>

Healing [unprevented] regular damage requires a blood. You go to torpor if
you cannot heal all the [unprevented] damage dealt. [Unprevented] aggravated
damage cannot be healed, so the vamp goes to torpor. [Unprevented]
aggravated damage done to a vampire who already has unhealed damage (and is
thus already on his way to torpor) requires the vampire to burn a blood to
prevent destruction. If he cannot, he is destroyed (burned) outright.

> Perhaps you could think your initial posting from 7/7 over, and make
> it a bit clearer to us players.

Like now?

> In the last few weeks there has been
> a lot of confusion about the topic, and in the light of the asked
> questions, perhaps you can reword your ruling.

I have - about a dozen times. Choose the one you like.

> Just to make it a bit more accessable. I think the most confusing thing
> is "wounded vampire", and "healing" and actual "damage".

"healing" and "damage" are concepts that have not changed since the
game was released. They are not part of my rulings. If some players
have glossed over the distinction between the two, that cannot be
cited as a problem of the 7/7 rulings.

"wounded" is just convenient, descriptive shorthand for "a vampire who
is going to torpor or is in torpor" which also happens to cover the
corner-case of Undead Persistence properly. The term's definition was
always given whenever it was first used in a given thread.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Searchable database of official card text, errata, and rulings:
http://deckserver.net/cgi-deckserver/rulemonger.cgi/powersearch

-----== Posted via Deja News, The Leader in Internet Discussion ==-----

0 new messages