I may think if you contest by accident, you'll use the old rules... am i
wrong ?
reyda
As per his post, the card that would cause the contest (the new one) is
burned.
"simply burn the incoming copy of the unique card."
>Question 2 : I put Vast wealth on Anson. he takes the aciton to equip with
>... the soul gem. What happens ?
Same again.
>Question 3 : I'm contesting the soul gem with a vamp controlled by another
>methuselah. I play "Temptation of Greater Power" thanks to Anneke. I gain
>control of that vamp. How is the contest handled ?
From "simply burn the incoming copy of the unique card" I would be
tempted to rule that you burn the copy on the vampire you just stole.
LSJ may want to review this for consistency.
--
James Coupe PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D
"You reinstall Dial-Up Networking. The Elf screams and becomes EBD690ECD7A1F
an icon. *** CONGRATULATIONS! *** You completed the BT Internet B457CA213D7E6
Helpdesk training course in 15 out of a possible 9000 moves." 68C3695D623D5D
> In message <9g37mr$4bk$1...@hadron.noos.net>, Reyda <re...@noos.fr> writes
> >I hve 2 vamps ready : Anson and Anneke with the soul gem on her.
> >question 1 : Anneke is burned in combat. soul gem triggers. next vamp in the
> >crypt is anson. He is put in play... How is the contest handled ??
>
> As per his post, the card that would cause the contest (the new one) is
> burned.
>
> "simply burn the incoming copy of the unique card."
>
Would this re-trigger Soul Gem's effect text?
Marc Gabriele
Since the incoming copy of the unique card is the Soul Gem, by
implication I meant "burn the new copy of the Soul Gem". Sorry for not
being clearer.
Since the Gem is burned, not the bearer, it wouldn't trigger.
The incoming Anson is burned. It's unclear if this re-triggers the Gem, but
I think it does.
>Question 2 : I put Vast wealth on Anson. he takes the aciton to equip with
>... the soul gem. What happens ?
As with finding a Sport Bike when you already have one, the new Gem is
burned and you've wasted an action.
>Question 3 : I'm contesting the soul gem with a vamp controlled by another
>methuselah. I play "Temptation of Greater Power" thanks to Anneke. I gain
>control of that vamp. How is the contest handled ?
Hm. I think the incoming Gem is burned, but given that it's already contested,
I'm not sure. I'll let LSJ handle that one.
>I may think if you contest by accident, you'll use the old rules... am i
>wrong ?
Yep. The rule says if you contest with yourself through some tricky
control transfer mechanism or suchlike, the incoming copy is burned.
gomi
--
Yes, I believe but I'd rather not pray
What I believe in I'd rather not say, baby
Oh bah, wrong example. Damnit.
Since the incoming Anson never went into play (and was merely
"incoming") I'd be tempted to rule that he never got the Soul Gem put on
him.
Correct on all counts.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Yes.
That's a fair idea, but it seems likely to eventually lead to some
headaches.
I'll put it on the RT list for review.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc. ERC
Seems this question was answered very recently, actually.
B is also allowed to play, for instance, a +intercept reaction card.
This is because FN doesn't tap B immediately (which would preclude
him from blocking or playing +intercept or any other reaction). B
is tapped only when his controller announces "I don't block" or
when some other block is successful.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.