Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Temporary vs permanent control effects (LSJ?)

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Joshua Duffin

unread,
Mar 12, 2002, 4:13:08 PM3/12/02
to
I'm pretty sure there's some kind of rule about
how temporary and permanent control effects
interact, but I can't recall what it would say
happens in this case.

Say I take control of someone else's vampire (until
the end of the next action) with Spirit Marionette.
Say someone else then gets control of it with a
permanent-control effect, like Malkavian Time
Auction or Succubus Club (assume that I did the
Spirit Marionette action on my predator's turn with
Madness Network).

Does the new owner have truly permanent control of
the Marionetted vampire, or will the Spirit
Marionette return control to the vampire's original
controller at the end of the next action?

thanks,

Josh

Halcyan 2

unread,
Mar 12, 2002, 7:45:05 PM3/12/02
to
>I'm pretty sure there's some kind of rule about
>how temporary and permanent control effects
>interact, but I can't recall what it would say
>happens in this case.

Changes in permanent control override temporary control effects.

>Say I take control of someone else's vampire (until
>the end of the next action) with Spirit Marionette.
>Say someone else then gets control of it with a
>permanent-control effect, like Malkavian Time
>Auction or Succubus Club (assume that I did the
>Spirit Marionette action on my predator's turn with
>Madness Network).

Whoever got it with the Auction or Club gets to keep it.

>Does the new owner have truly permanent control of
>the Marionetted vampire,

Yes.

>or will the Spirit
>Marionette return control to the vampire's original
>controller at the end of the next action?

No.

See similar questions and rulings specifically regarding a player temporarily
taking control of a vampire (Temptation) and then Graverobbing it.

Halcyan 2

LSJ

unread,
Mar 12, 2002, 9:30:21 PM3/12/02
to

Correct on all points.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

martijn

unread,
Mar 13, 2002, 3:41:06 AM3/13/02
to
"Joshua Duffin" <jtdu...@yahoo.com> wrote in message news:<a6lr15$f6u41$1...@ID-121616.news.dfncis.de>...

> Say I take control of someone else's vampire (until
> the end of the next action) with Spirit Marionette.
> Say someone else then gets control of it with a
> permanent-control effect, like Malkavian Time
> Auction or Succubus Club (assume that I did the
> Spirit Marionette action on my predator's turn with
> Madness Network).

This only works if you play the Spirit Marionette just before your own
turn starts and if no other minion acts before your turn starts,
right?

Spirit Marionette:
[OBE] +1 stealth action. (D) Take control of any ready untapped minion
until the end of the next action. That minion must bleed your prey
unless he or she must hunt.

Card texts reads THE next action, not this minions next action. Or am
I to understand that the action referred to on the card is the next
action this minion performs?

IMO if you take control of a vampire via SM in another methuselah's
minion phase (via Madness Network) and any other minion acts before
your turn starts, you lose control of the Spirit Marionetted minion,
before your turn starts. Thus making this a very tricky combo to pull
off succesfully as both Time Auction and Succubus Club only work in
your own Untap/Master phase.

MW

Joshua Duffin

unread,
Mar 13, 2002, 10:03:16 AM3/13/02
to

"martijn" <war...@houdoe.net> wrote in message
news:aeb4c2b1.02031...@posting.google.com...

> "Joshua Duffin" <jtdu...@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:<a6lr15$f6u41$1...@ID-121616.news.dfncis.de>...
> > Say I take control of someone else's vampire (until
> > the end of the next action) with Spirit Marionette.
> > Say someone else then gets control of it with a
> > permanent-control effect, like Malkavian Time
> > Auction or Succubus Club (assume that I did the
> > Spirit Marionette action on my predator's turn with
> > Madness Network).
>
> This only works if you play the Spirit Marionette just before your own
> turn starts and if no other minion acts before your turn starts,
> right?

Yes, that's right.

> Card texts reads THE next action, not this minions next action. Or am
> I to understand that the action referred to on the card is the next
> action this minion performs?

No, you're reading it right.

> IMO if you take control of a vampire via SM in another methuselah's
> minion phase (via Madness Network) and any other minion acts before
> your turn starts, you lose control of the Spirit Marionetted minion,
> before your turn starts. Thus making this a very tricky combo to pull
> off succesfully as both Time Auction and Succubus Club only work in
> your own Untap/Master phase.

Correct as far as rules, but I don't think it makes it
as tricky as you're thinking. To make it work, you
just have to use the last Malkavian acting during your
predator's turn to Spirit Marionette someone's vampire.
If nobody else at the table has Malkavians who can act
via your Madness Network, you're golden (and I'd expect
that most of the time, they won't). Nobody without
Malkavians is going to have a chance to act before your
untap or master phase; your predator's actions are done
before you start using the Madness Network, and nobody
else gets a turn between your predator and yourself.
:-)


Josh

not ready for prime time, but maybe late-night public access

0 new messages