regards
pallando
---------------
pallando(at)gmx(dot)at
OMG that's a cool card! NVM the power/balance, I love the flavour!
('Kerrie' is basically a cane/walking stick with a big bulge at the end
to inflict damage, as the picture shows.)
LSJ, if a vampire uses the ranged/out-of-play strike of the Kerrie in
combination with Baal's Bloody Talons, does the Kerrie avoid the burn
effect from BBT, or is it burned when it comes back into play? I
believe it avoids the burn effect, but I wanted to check.
It's my opinion that using Baal's Bloody Talons with Kerrie as a Str +
1 melee weapon is certainly fine, however, using the alternative Ranged
Strike no longer qualifies Kerrie as a melee weapon strike (as in
Kraken's Kiss, Shadow Strike, etc.) and BBT can't be used. But, LSJ,
please correct me if I'm wrong... I have 10 BBT! :)
Even if using it at range no longer counts as a melee weapon strike,
the following could happen:
Combat at long range.
Initial strike: as a melee weapon. BBT played on the strike even though
it fails to damage the foe.
Pursuit for an additional strike.
The additional is declared at range - BBT has already been played, and
the effect of the card is 'The damage from this weapon's strikes is
aggravated' not 'this melee weapon's strikes' - in theory this ranged
strike would _also_ be aggravated.
And then would still follow Emmit's question of 'does flipping the card
during strike resolution absolve it from burning at the end of the
round.'
-John Flournoy
As far as I'm aware, and a text search for "melee" in the online rules
confirms this, there is no in-game defintion of the term "melee
weapon". A melee weapon is simply a weapon that is noted as such by
card text. In other words, a long range strike with a melee weapon is
still a strike with a melee weapon, and nothing in the text for Kerrie
suggests that the strike would be otherwise. So it looks to me like
any effects that work for melee weapons, including potence strikes,
BBT, etc. should work with this.
As far as burning from BBT, I would say no. Kerrie goes out of play
after strike resolution and remains out of play until the end of the
action. BBT's burn effect triggers at the end of the round, at which
point Kerrie is still out of play, and does not retrigger for any
reason at a later point.
> As far as I'm aware, and a text search for "melee" in the online rules
> confirms this, there is no in-game defintion of the term "melee
> weapon". A melee weapon is simply a weapon that is noted as such by
> card text. In other words, a long range strike with a melee weapon is
> still a strike with a melee weapon, and nothing in the text for Kerrie
> suggests that the strike would be otherwise. So it looks to me like
> any effects that work for melee weapons, including potence strikes,
> BBT, etc. should work with this.
What CthuluKitty says has been confirmed on the WW Forums by LSJ:
http://forums.white-wolf.com/viewtopic.php?t=27140
I'm not sure why Scott hasn't said this himself on the newsgroup...
But this definitely puts Kerrie up there on the "goodness" scale.
... way above the "another bastard sword" category the most pessimistic
rushed to point out ;)
best,
Fabio "Sooner" Macedo
Correct me if im wrong,
Greetz,
Oort
Correct, by card and rule text.
--
That is my story, be it bitter or be it sweet.
Keep a little and let a little come back to me.
LSJ (vtesr...@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
"Yeah, yeah, yeah. Patience. How long will that take?"
-- Ed Gruberman
I avoid posting via Google.
So, for things where the answer is "yes, card text applies", I won't
be jumping through Google to say so, and it will thus wait until I
can access the NG through a friendlier interface (with the added
bonus that perhaps someone else will give a more elaborate answer
in the meantime to which I can just respond "correct").