> Help! Quick card question! The card Wake with evening's freshness says 
> do not replace until after combat (as do others.)  But what if I play 
> it, not planning to enter combat? To just play a reaction or something? 
> Can I pick a new card then right away, even before I declare my 
> reaction?
>   
To resolve any card that says "Do not replace until after combat", that 
card is not replaced until the current action is resolved or a combat 
resulting from that action is resolved.  In the case of a reaction card 
(a la Wake), the current action is the action being reacted to.
>   Question 2:  Can you declare a block against someone at +1 stealth 
> even if you don't have the appropriate intercept?  This question ties 
in 
> with the first....
Yes, you can declare an _attempt_ to block.  However, since Wake does not 
allow you to actually redraw a card, you would need to have an intercept 
card already in hand in order to successful block the action.
On a slight side note, it is possible to wake and do nothing or wake and 
have another minion block, if only to cycle cards.
"I can send and receive e-mail even over the Internet"-aol commercial
@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$
# Adrian Sullivan   sull...@cslab.uwlax.edu   Spoutingly yours 8^) # 
$ GAT/CS/O/WS R+++* tv&--- b++(+++)&+ t X++&-- 5->? e+*>++++ PS+&-+ @
# PE&++&- C(+++)$ UX+>+++$ N++(+) K+>++++ w---$>? M++$ r(+) y*+? 3.1#
@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$@#$
Note that although this is popularly accepted and perhaps "official",
it is in contradiction to the rules (at least in Jyhad): the Jyhad
rules mentioned that you cannot attempt to block unless you play
sufficient intercept to begin with.
So, you can't just burn a Wake without playing another reaction card,
or risking your minion getting into combat.
-- 
"Live Life with Heart."
Alan Kwan kw...@cs.cornell.edu
>Note that although this is popularly accepted and perhaps "official",
>it is in contradiction to the rules (at least in Jyhad): the Jyhad
>rules mentioned that you cannot attempt to block unless you play
>sufficient intercept to begin with.
I believe that the  idea is
if I am trying to burn through my hand to come up with that 
stealth card that I know is coming and will allow me to bleed 
my prey out,  I will play a wakey whenever possible just to 
get it out of my hand.  I have played wakey's in reaction to 
my Grandprey's actions cause I could and wanted to get then out of my hand.
It worked cause I drew the int that I needed to stop my predator 
from calling that damnebly KRC that would've killed me and 
probably allowed him to oust my prey at the time immediately 
following the vote. ( like one blood left in his pool after that vote)
So is this legal or not?
I can see no reason for it to not be?
>Alan Kwan kw...@cs.cornell.edu
Stu
-- 
"He said: 'Continue. Take my people back...to the stars'"
        -- Londo (re: Centauri Emperor's last words),
           "The Coming of Shadows"
Tom Wylie		rec.games.trading-cards.* Network Representative for
aa...@cats.ucsc.edu		Wizards of the Coast, Inc.
>I believe that the  idea is
>if I am trying to burn through my hand to come up with that 
>stealth card that I know is coming and will allow me to bleed 
>my prey out,  I will play a wakey whenever possible just to 
>get it out of my hand.  I have played wakey's in reaction to 
>my Grandprey's actions cause I could and wanted to get then out of my hand.
>
>It worked cause I drew the int that I needed to stop my predator 
>from calling that damnebly KRC that would've killed me and 
>probably allowed him to oust my prey at the time immediately 
>following the vote. ( like one blood left in his pool after that vote)
>
>So is this legal or not?
>I can see no reason for it to not be?
It is legal, but you may want to make a house rule against that,
unless you /really/ want to exclude anyone without 10 Wakes or so
from playing in your group.
>>On a slight side note, it is possible to wake and do nothing or wake and
>>have another minion block, if only to cycle cards.
>Note that although this is popularly accepted and perhaps "official",
>it is in contradiction to the rules (at least in Jyhad): the Jyhad
>rules mentioned that you cannot attempt to block unless you play
>sufficient intercept to begin with.
>So, you can't just burn a Wake without playing another reaction card,
>or risking your minion getting into combat.
No, you still can cycle the Wakes.  You needn't attempt to block to play a
Wake.
Curt Adams (curt...@aol.com)
: Note that although this is popularly accepted and perhaps "official",
: it is in contradiction to the rules (at least in Jyhad): the Jyhad
: rules mentioned that you cannot attempt to block unless you play
: sufficient intercept to begin with.
Agree with this.
: So, you can't just burn a Wake without playing another reaction card,
: or risking your minion getting into combat.
Disagree with this. Text of the card is: (like we don't all know it by heart...)
Wake with Evening's Freshness	Reaction
  Do not replace until after combat.
  Usable only by a tapped vampire. This vampire can play reaction cards and
   attempt to block as though untapped until the current action is concluded.
From this, I do not get that the vampire _must_ attempt to block, or 
_must_ play a reaction card; only that it is now possible where before it 
was not.  Have I 4 tapped vampires and 4 wakes in my hand, I can burn all 
these wakes on a single action and choose to do nothing. The use of the 
wake allows me options where before I had none - not force actions where 
before I could do nothing.
Since an untapped vampire may decline to block, I do not see any reason 
why a WWEF'd vampire should not be allowed the same choice.
(Not that I necessarily _agree_ with this wording, but it is what the 
card says, IMHO. As Curt said - it makes it awfully hard to compete if 
one doesn't have a mittful of Wakes...)
Shane H.W. Travis       | I try to take one day at a time,
tra...@duke.usask.ca    |  but sometimes several days attack at once.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan | 	-- Ashleigh Brilliant
How did you draw intercept if you cannot redraw a wake with evening's 
freshness?
> So is this legal or not?
> I can see no reason for it to not be?
I'm not clear on what happened. Can you re-explain? Thanks.
        Sure. Wake just says that said tapped vampire `can' play reactions and 
block as if it were untapped. It doesn't require you to do so any more than 
being untapped forces your hand in such a stiuation. The point is that the 
effect of the Wake (that you act for a time as if you were untapped) is an 
effect, appart from blocking or playing reactions.
        Wake can be played at any time that you have a tapped minion and 
someone is performing an action.
> >Alan Kwan     kw...@cs.cornell.edu
> 
> Stu
> -- 
> "He said: 'Continue. Take my people back...to the stars'"
>         -- Londo (re: Centauri Emperor's last words),
>            "The Coming of Shadows"
Ritaxis
--