Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Rules question: Reanimated corpse

29 views
Skip to first unread message

Nosferatu_3

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 9:17:29 AM1/31/07
to
This card states that it is removed from the game when it runs out of
pathos counters or whatever it gets when you recruit it. If it is
burned in combat, does it go to the ash heap instead?

LSJ

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 9:25:45 AM1/31/07
to

Yes.

Baaliprimogen

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 10:08:59 AM1/31/07
to

What if you play khobar Towers on it. Do you gain x pool or zero. And
what happens with kindred segregation? If I kan move it from ash-heap
into play. How many pathos counters does it gain?

John Flournoy

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 10:41:55 AM1/31/07
to
On Jan 31, 9:08 am, "Baaliprimogen" <VegardKi...@gmail.com> wrote:
> On Jan 31, 3:25 pm, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
>
> > Nosferatu_3 wrote:
> > > This card states that it is removed from the game when it runs out of
> > > pathos counters or whatever it gets when you recruit it. If it is
> > > burned in combat, does it go to the ash heap instead?
>
> > Yes.
>
> What if you play khobar Towers on it. Do you gain x pool or zero.

You gain X - you set the cost when you brought it into play.

> And
> what happens with kindred segregation?

It ignores it, since the 'pool cost' of a Reanimated Corpse is always
zero - RC has a blood cost, not a pool cost.

> If I kan move it from ash-heap
> into play. How many pathos counters does it gain?

Zero, and thus immediately burns - nothing about the cards that return
allies from the ash heap says 'and add pathos counters', only life.

(LSJ confirms: http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-
cards.jyhad/msg/57031a1bf0d1c2c6)

-John Flournoy

XZealot

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 11:28:25 AM1/31/07
to
On Jan 31, 9:08 am, "Baaliprimogen" <VegardKi...@gmail.com> wrote:

What if you had a Tremere with both an Infernal Familiar and Ankara
Citadel putting Reanimated Corpses in play? Would you get the full x
for Khobar towers even though you only paid half X? You know because
I am thinking of building an Etrius/Matthias deck where you gain 22
pool every turn from Etrius sacrificing a 22 counter Reanimated Corpse
every turn while Matthias refills him. How does that sound?

5 turns and a gain of 110 pool later, I can do just stupid stuff with
the deck.

Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown, Jr
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp

Peter D Bakija

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 11:51:35 AM1/31/07
to
On Jan 31, 11:28 am, "XZealot" <xzea...@cox.net> wrote:
>> What if you had a Tremere with both an Infernal Familiar and Ankara
> Citadel putting Reanimated Corpses in play? Would you get the full x
> for Khobar towers even though you only paid half X? You know because
> I am thinking of building an Etrius/Matthias deck where you gain 22
> pool every turn from Etrius sacrificing a 22 counter Reanimated Corpse
> every turn while Matthias refills him. How does that sound?

Almost as good as then clan impersonating Etrius into a Ravnos, making
15 Tumnimos first, and then playing Ravnos Carnival to pay for even
bigger Corpse Brides. Possibly after re-clan impersonating back into a
Tremere again if necessary...

-Peter

XZealot

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 11:54:53 AM1/31/07
to

Man, you're crazy. That will never work. :)

Nosferatu_3

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 1:15:45 PM1/31/07
to

I was just trying to be kinda clever and use burned reanimated corpses
to bring out shambling hordes. I just have to get them burned before
their pathos runs out. Nothing a few traps can't handle!

James Coupe

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 3:39:21 PM1/31/07
to
In message <1170260905.6...@q2g2000cwa.googlegroups.com>,

XZealot <xze...@cox.net> writes:
>What if you had a Tremere with both an Infernal Familiar and Ankara
>Citadel putting Reanimated Corpses in play? Would you get the full x
>for Khobar towers even though you only paid half X?

Full X.

Ankara means you only pay half. However, the cost was still whatever it
actually was.

--
James Coupe
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D YOU ARE IN ERROR.
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 NO-ONE IS SCREAMING.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION.

Rehlow

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 6:04:11 PM1/31/07
to

Etrius is only there for the Ankara Citadel, so just use Mata Hari as
your Ravnos. Make some Tumnimos, play a huge Ravnos Carnival. Set X to
50 bajillion, which becomes only 25 bajillion with Mata Hari's Ankara
Citadel, which you easily pay with Ravnos Carnival. Earlier you played
Khobar Towers via Mata Hari instead of a real FoS. Turn after the
Reanimated Corpse comes out (because no one can kill anyone with
inferior fortitude :P) you sac it for 50 bajillion pool. Mata Hari is
obviously broken. I'm going to go home and make this terrible deck
tonight. I love it. Its so stupid it just might work. Or I just play
Week of Nightmares and win anyway!

Later,
~Rehlow


Peter D Bakija

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 6:56:16 PM1/31/07
to
In article <1170284651....@v33g2000cwv.googlegroups.com>,
"Rehlow" <news...@rehlow.com> wrote:

> Etrius is only there for the Ankara Citadel, so just use Mata Hari as
> your Ravnos. Make some Tumnimos, play a huge Ravnos Carnival. Set X to
> 50 bajillion, which becomes only 25 bajillion with Mata Hari's Ankara
> Citadel, which you easily pay with Ravnos Carnival.

While I greatly admire your clearly superior plan, it doesn't involve
Clan Impersonation. How can it *possibly* be good?

:-)

Peter D Bakija
pd...@lightlink.com
http://www.lightlink.com/pdb6/vtes.html

karlgs...@gmail.com

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 7:09:30 PM1/31/07
to
On Jan 31, 3:39 pm, James Coupe <j...@zephyr.org.uk> wrote:
> In message <1170260905.655513.173...@q2g2000cwa.googlegroups.com>,

>
> XZealot <xzea...@cox.net> writes:
> >What if you had a Tremere with both an Infernal Familiar and Ankara
> >Citadel putting Reanimated Corpses in play? Would you get the full x
> >for Khobar towers even though you only paid half X?
>
> Full X.
>
> Ankara means you only pay half. However, the cost was still whatever it
> actually was.
That LSJ ruling never made sense to me. I get full-value for an ally
brought in via reduced cost (Charisma, Sunset Strip, etc.). It seems
that the Tower is evaluating the cost at the time of use and not
remembering incoming cost. So, why do we have to remember the
incoming cost for Corpses? Why not evaluate them when you use the
Towers?

Having to remember the cost also seems to run counter to not having to
remember multi-round effects, cf. LSJs discussion about why Dreams of
the Sphinx has counters.

LSJ, can you please verify what's going on here.

Karl

obelisk

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 8:24:28 PM1/31/07
to

> I was just trying to be kinda clever and use burned reanimated corpses
> to bring out shambling hordes. I just have to get them burned before
> their pathos runs out. Nothing a few traps can't handle!

Kiss of Ra?

LSJ

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 8:51:42 PM1/31/07
to

Tower uses current cost. For Reanimated Corpse, that cost is X.

karlgs...@gmail.com

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 9:09:01 PM1/31/07
to
On Jan 31, 8:51 pm, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
So, how is X calculated with reduction effects? Such as, The Baron
sproting Charisma, is X what The Baron paid or is it what The Baron
would have paid without the reduction effects?

Karl

LSJ

unread,
Jan 31, 2007, 9:13:14 PM1/31/07
to

Since they aren't on the ally when Towers hits, they don't apply.

Salem

unread,
Feb 1, 2007, 6:55:43 AM2/1/07
to

combat card?

--
salem
http://users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/vtes/
(replace 'hotmail' with 'yahoo' to email)

cnislev

unread,
Feb 2, 2007, 11:10:57 AM2/2/07
to
use Zombies instead, can be sacrificed. Or just discard the corpses? I
am not sure I understand the fuss...

gpett...@gmail.com

unread,
Feb 5, 2007, 12:19:24 PM2/5/07
to

50 bajillion + 1.

--
- Gregory Stuart Pettigrew

0 new messages