Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Burst of Sunlight Questions

5 views
Skip to first unread message

Michael

unread,
Apr 20, 2001, 5:49:11 AM4/20/01
to
With the talk of Environmental and non-Environmental damage within combat,
what is the damage from a Burst of Sunlight considered.

I have always considered it Environmental as it is affecting all vampires
within the combat, despite it has Strike: (text) which looks like something
that could be prevented with a Skin of Steel. Which is it?

Additionally, would a Burst of Sunlight affect a vampire that has been
Bauble'd or is it immune to the aggravated damage since it is now a piece of
equipment?

Michael Eichler
Prince of Ramstein

R. David Zopf

unread,
Apr 20, 2001, 8:57:36 AM4/20/01
to
Michael <ramst...@MailAndNews.com> wrote:

>With the talk of Environmental and non-Environmental damage within combat,
>what is the damage from a Burst of Sunlight considered.

The damage it does to the minion who selected it as a strike is
environmental. The damage it dies to its victim is from a strike.

>I have always considered it Environmental as it is affecting all vampires
>within the combat,

It might help to consider that Environmental damage refers to damage
not received directly from the opposing minion's strikes. It doesn't
necessarily have to affect all vamps in combat (eg. Carrion Crows is
environmental damage, as is the backlash damage from a Zip Gun.
Weather Control gives environmental damage to both minions, etc.)

> despite it has Strike: (text) which looks like something
>that could be prevented with a Skin of Steel. Which is it?

The opposing vamp can prevent with Skin of Steel and similar strike
based damage prevention cards. The minion playing Burst must use a
card with "Prevent X Damage" text, since the backlash damage is not
treated as a strike.

>Additionally, would a Burst of Sunlight affect a vampire that has been
>Bauble'd or is it immune to the aggravated damage since it is now a piece of
>equipment?

? :-) Bauble has no such text, so the vampire wouldn't be immune.


Regards,
R. David Zopf
guenh...@mindspring.com
Atom Weaver


LSJ

unread,
Apr 20, 2001, 8:14:22 AM4/20/01
to
Michael wrote:
>
> With the talk of Environmental and non-Environmental damage within combat,
> what is the damage from a Burst of Sunlight considered.
>
> I have always considered it Environmental as it is affecting all vampires
> within the combat, despite it has Strike: (text) which looks like something
> that could be prevented with a Skin of Steel. Which is it?

The damage inflicted on the opposing vampire is from the strike. The rest is
environmental (including the damage inflicted on the striking vampire).



> Additionally, would a Burst of Sunlight affect a vampire that has been
> Bauble'd or is it immune to the aggravated damage since it is now a piece of
> equipment?

He is not a piece of equipment. "The vampire with this card cannot attempt actions,
block or vote." (card text). Nothing there about being immune to damage.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Gomi no Sensei

unread,
Apr 20, 2001, 3:08:12 PM4/20/01
to
In article <3AE0281E...@white-wolf.com>,

LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
>Michael wrote:
>>
>> With the talk of Environmental and non-Environmental damage within combat,
>> what is the damage from a Burst of Sunlight considered.
>>
>> I have always considered it Environmental as it is affecting all vampires
>> within the combat, despite it has Strike: (text) which looks like something
>> that could be prevented with a Skin of Steel. Which is it?
>
>The damage inflicted on the opposing vampire is from the strike. The rest is
>environmental (including the damage inflicted on the striking vampire).
>
>> Additionally, would a Burst of Sunlight affect a vampire that has been
>> Bauble'd or is it immune to the aggravated damage since it is now a piece of
>> equipment?
>
>He is not a piece of equipment. "The vampire with this card cannot attempt actions,
>block or vote." (card text). Nothing there about being immune to damage.

But, to clarify, if the equipment placed into play with Bauble is on a minion
in a combat in which Burst of Sunlight is played, this does not somehow
magically mean the Baubling vampire is 'in the combat' and therefore exposed
to Burst of Sunlight's damage.

The Baubling minion 'becomes' a piece of equipment, yes, but only in the
very circumscribed fashion described on Bauble.

gomi
--
Individually, I love you all with affection unspeakable; but, collectively,
I look upon you with a disgust that amounts to absolute detestation.
- Gilbert and Sullivan, 'Pirates of Penzance'

Halcyan 2

unread,
Apr 20, 2001, 4:40:14 PM4/20/01
to
>But, to clarify, if the equipment placed into play with Bauble is on a minion
>in a combat in which Burst of Sunlight is played, this does not somehow
>magically mean the Baubling vampire is 'in the combat' and therefore exposed
>to Burst of Sunlight's damage.
>
>The Baubling minion 'becomes' a piece of equipment, yes, but only in the
>very circumscribed fashion described on Bauble.

For game purposes, that piece of equipment is just a piece of equipment. The
vampire who used Bauble just happens to have a few restrictions and would not
be affected if that weapon (but not the vampire) was in a combat involving
Burst.

Similarly, if the vampire is removed from play, the Bauble'ed weapon remains in
play as a normal weapon.

Although it makes sense that the equipment is the vampire, that doesn't fit
into the framework of the game mechanics. Just like how the game doesn't
differentiate whether a piece of equipment is "real" or "illusionary" for
example.

Halcyan 2

Reyda

unread,
Apr 20, 2001, 10:32:36 PM4/20/01
to

"Halcyan 2" <halc...@aol.com> a écrit dans le message news:
20010420164014...@ng-mq1.aol.com...

> >But, to clarify, if the equipment placed into play with Bauble is on a
minion
> >in a combat in which Burst of Sunlight is played, this does not somehow
> >magically mean the Baubling vampire is 'in the combat' and therefore
exposed
> >to Burst of Sunlight's damage.
> >
> >The Baubling minion 'becomes' a piece of equipment, yes, but only in the
> >very circumscribed fashion described on Bauble.

just imagine Terrence bauble'd into an assault rifle, playing taste of vitae
to gain 4 blood =)


0 new messages