Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Advanced questions

46 views
Skip to first unread message

Jozxyqk

unread,
Apr 21, 2003, 2:41:11 PM4/21/03
to
You can spend 4 transfers and 1 pool to "merge" a vampire and its Advanced
counterpart...

1) What if the one that was in the uncontrolled region had blood on it?
Where does the blood go?

2) What if the one that was ready had changed clans/sects/capacity?
i.e. What if I influenced out the CE Jeremy MacNeil, and Clan Impersonated
him to Malkavian, and then merged him with the Advanced one? Is he
instantly a Brujah again? Which statistics take precedence?

3) What if there was a hypothetical Malkavian with an Advanced version,
and someone Malkavian Dementia'd him, and then merged him from their own
uncontrolled region? Would the "merged" two cards go back to the
original controller?

Jozxyqk

unread,
Apr 21, 2003, 2:46:14 PM4/21/03
to
> 2) What if the one that was ready had changed clans/sects/capacity?
> i.e. What if I influenced out the CE Jeremy MacNeil, and Clan Impersonated
> him to Malkavian, and then merged him with the Advanced one? Is he
> instantly a Brujah again? Which statistics take precedence?

...2a) What if the one in the *uncontrolled* region had changed clans/sects/
capacity and had been Banished?

LSJ

unread,
Apr 21, 2003, 2:50:03 PM4/21/03
to
Jozxyqk wrote:
> You can spend 4 transfers and 1 pool to "merge" a vampire and its Advanced
> counterpart...
>
> 1) What if the one that was in the uncontrolled region had blood on it?
> Where does the blood go?

Blood bank.

> 2) What if the one that was ready had changed clans/sects/capacity?
> i.e. What if I influenced out the CE Jeremy MacNeil, and Clan Impersonated
> him to Malkavian, and then merged him with the Advanced one? Is he
> instantly a Brujah again? Which statistics take precedence?

The advanced stats override the base vampire's stats.

If the base is ready and you merge the advanced, the advanced stats "are applied"
(and would override any other permanent contradictory clan/sect designation, but
any temporary "floating" sect/clan designation would still be floating - like
Clan Impersonation or Writ of Acceptance).

If the advanced is ready and you merge the base, the base's stats are simply
ignored and nothing changes.

> 3) What if there was a hypothetical Malkavian with an Advanced version,
> and someone Malkavian Dementia'd him, and then merged him from their own
> uncontrolled region? Would the "merged" two cards go back to the
> original controller?

The merged vampire is the same vampire. It will "go back" at the appropriate
time. Merging doesn't change control effects.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

LSJ

unread,
Apr 21, 2003, 2:52:10 PM4/21/03
to

When merging, any cards on the uncontrolled vampire card are discarded. Only the
uncontrolled vampire card is merged.

Talonz

unread,
Apr 21, 2003, 8:22:23 PM4/21/03
to
LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message news:<3EA43DDA...@white-wolf.com>...

> When merging, any cards on the uncontrolled vampire card are discarded. Only the
> uncontrolled vampire card is merged.


An oddity of sorts;

game 1)
I influence out Jeremy (new) 8 pool and transfers
I merge the old Jeremy with the new, +1 pool and 4 transfers

game 2)
I influcnce out Jeremy old 7 pool and transfers
I merge the new Jeremy with the old +1 pool and 4 transfers

In one game the merged Jeremy costs me 9 pool and 12 transfers, in the
other 8 pool and 11 transfers. Is this correct? And was this
considered in playtesting?

T

Derek Ray

unread,
Apr 21, 2003, 9:04:51 PM4/21/03
to
In message <76d1d5ef.03042...@posting.google.com>,
talo...@hotmail.com (Talonz) mumbled something about:

>An oddity of sorts;
>
>game 1)
>I influence out Jeremy (new) 8 pool and transfers
>I merge the old Jeremy with the new, +1 pool and 4 transfers
>
>game 2)
>I influcnce out Jeremy old 7 pool and transfers
>I merge the new Jeremy with the old +1 pool and 4 transfers
>
>In one game the merged Jeremy costs me 9 pool and 12 transfers, in the
>other 8 pool and 11 transfers. Is this correct?

Yes.

In game 1, you have a built-in Rush action on your vampire for the turn
before you influence out the lesser Jeremy.

In game 2, you have one less pool cost and NO built-in Rush action.

What's the problem?

--
"There's no gray. There's just white that's got grubby." -- T.P.

Halcyan 2

unread,
Apr 22, 2003, 6:29:38 AM4/22/03
to
>The advanced stats override the base vampire's stats.
>
>If the base is ready and you merge the advanced, the advanced stats "are
>applied"
>(and would override any other permanent contradictory clan/sect designation,
>but
>any temporary "floating" sect/clan designation would still be floating - like
>Clan Impersonation or Writ of Acceptance).
>
>If the advanced is ready and you merge the base, the base's stats are simply
>ignored and nothing changes.


And you've stated:

<< When merging, any cards on the uncontrolled vampire card are discarded. Only
the uncontrolled vampire card is merged. >>

But what about effects that are non-card related? If the Banished Advanced
vampire was an Archon, took the innate action to become Anarch, had 5
corruption counters, and who had been hit several times by Violet Tremain
(reducing his capacity), do all of these non-card effects carry over to the
merged version?

Halcyan 2

LSJ

unread,
Apr 22, 2003, 8:02:14 AM4/22/03
to
Halcyan 2 wrote:
> But what about effects that are non-card related? If the Banished Advanced
> vampire was an Archon, took the innate action to become Anarch, had 5
> corruption counters, and who had been hit several times by Violet Tremain
> (reducing his capacity), do all of these non-card effects carry over to the
> merged version?

Yes. It's the same vampire.
You've merged an advanced crypt card with him. But he's the same vampire.
The new crypt card has effects (might change his clan, sect, capacity, etc.),
but he's the same vampire.

reyda

unread,
Apr 22, 2003, 9:10:37 AM4/22/03
to
Halcyan 2 wrote:

:: But what about effects that are non-card related? If the Banished


:: Advanced vampire was an Archon, took the innate action to become
:: Anarch, had 5 corruption counters, and who had been hit several
:: times by Violet Tremain (reducing his capacity), do all of these
:: non-card effects carry over to the merged version?

just one thing : if everything you stated happens in a single game, be sure
to take photographs of the table for the upcoming Jyhad Book of Records !!
=D


Chris.QJ

unread,
Apr 22, 2003, 9:26:47 AM4/22/03
to
LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> schrieb:

>Halcyan 2 wrote:
>> But what about effects that are non-card related? If the Banished Advanced
>> vampire was an Archon, took the innate action to become Anarch, had 5
>> corruption counters, and who had been hit several times by Violet Tremain
>> (reducing his capacity), do all of these non-card effects carry over to the
>> merged version?
>
>Yes. It's the same vampire.
>You've merged an advanced crypt card with him. But he's the same vampire.
>The new crypt card has effects (might change his clan, sect, capacity, etc.),
>but he's the same vampire.

hi

i think you misunderstood Halcyan2 here.

say i have lucita+ in play, with the above mentioned
setup(corruptioncounter,anarch, archon, violet).
then lucita+ gets banished.
i also have the regular lucita in my uncontroled region, and transfer
her out, and merge the banished lucita+ with her, during my next
influence phase.

now, do the counters and effects become active with the merger or are
they ignored?

regards
Chris.QJ
VEKN Prince of Vienna

LSJ

unread,
Apr 22, 2003, 9:34:17 AM4/22/03
to
Chris.QJ wrote:
> i think you misunderstood Halcyan2 here.

I think you're right.

> say i have lucita+ in play, with the above mentioned
> setup(corruptioncounter,anarch, archon, violet).
> then lucita+ gets banished.
> i also have the regular lucita in my uncontroled region, and transfer
> her out, and merge the banished lucita+ with her, during my next
> influence phase.
>
> now, do the counters and effects become active with the merger or are
> they ignored?

Ignored. They were applied to some other copy of Lucita, not to the one
that was controlled when the merge occurred.

The only thing that the "merge action" does is move the uncontrolled card
to the controlled vampire (and adjust the controlled vampire accordingly).

The new "merged" vampire is the same vampire as the controlled vampire.

0 new messages