Rulebook 6.1.3:
"6.1.3. Equip (+1 stealth)
Equipment cards are action cards that give minions special abilities.
The equip action has a default +1 stealth.
<snip>
To **equip** with an equipment card currently possessed by one of your
other minions, tap the acting minion (the minion who is attempting to
get the equipment) and announce the equipment card he is getting."
I thought there was a ruling with Vast Wealth & Leather Jacket, but
can't find it.
Scenario:
Minion A has Leather Jacket at start of turn.
Minion B takes an "equip" action to get the LJ off Minion A.
(Successfully).
Minion C takes an "equip" action to get the LJ off Minion B.
...
Minion A takes an "equip" action to get the LJ off Minion X.
All minions have successfully equiped with the LJ this turn, therefore
all untap at the end of the turn.
The only thing I can think of that might stop this is the "During X do
Y limits Y to once per X" ruling.
Not that they necessarily gain much out of it, but it still strikes me
as odd.
Please clarify this for us, thanks.
A.
minion A to X untap at the end of your turn...
the move equipment between vampires is an equip action and thus
triggers the leather jacket (unlike cards like heidelberg castle)...
Correct.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
V:TES homepage: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
Though effective, appear to be ineffective -- Sun Tzu
Sure enough. One of those things where it may seem odd - but then,
Leather Jacket, as equipment, is kind of odd in the first place. If
all the vampires want to pass around a Leather Jacket and untap from
it the end of a turn, there's no reason they shouldn't. It's not
like they're gaining something that they couldn't have had from
equipping with it anyway. It's just that that little "tap now to act,
untap later" effect can get passed around endlessly in a single turn -
with all its consequent costs and risks, such as being intercepted and
not being free to act that turn (if you wanted them to). But if
Leather Jacket parties sound like fun to you, go to town.
Fred
I could see Sargon doing it with a weenie buddy to avoid every having
to pay his infernal costs.
John
There's the key point: they don't really gain much out of it at all -
yes, each minion gains an untap at the end of the turn, but all-but-one
of them wouldn't have been tapped in the first place if they hadn't
passed it around...
There's some minor corner-case uses for this, like using Sargon to gain
the edge for acting when he doesn't want the jacket in the end, or
whatever; but it's mostly tapping and untapping for no real effect.
> Please clarify this for us, thanks.
>
>
> A.
-John Flournoy
> If all the vampires want to pass around a Leather Jacket and untap from it
> the end of a turn, there's no reason they shouldn't. It's not like they're
> gaining something that they couldn't have had from equipping with it
> anyway.
Maybe your hand is full of Force of Wills, and Restricted Vitae is in play.
And it sure helps to have them untap as blockers, after you rescue them from
torpor with your other minions.
--
hg@ "If you can't offend part of your audience,
iki.fi there is no point in being an artist at all." -Hakim Bey
Moving just the leather jacket is pointless. The main benefit is that you
also can move other equipment.
Say for example that Smudge has equiped with IR-goggles, Sport bike and
Ivory bow. You want to move this to a better vampire, but need to have the
vamp untapped. Have Smudge equip with jacket, and then let Omaya take all
equipment from smudge.
I see leather jacket as a minion phase Nod that can also be used to prevent
stuff.
/henrik isaksson
*Hag's Wrinkles
*Sargon
*Perfectionist
*Freak Drive [for]
Sure. Cool. The imaginative combination of cards is one of the delights
of the game!
Fred
As others have shown, it's not pointless. But that is an interesting
application, I suppose. It still has the cost, normally, of not allowing
the equipping minion to act. So you couldn't (say) bleed with Smudge using
a laptop and a Leather Jacket, have Omaya take them and then use the laptop
to bleed again which would be cool. None the less, I never realized you
could grab multiple equipment cards from another vampire with a single
action.
> I see leather jacket as a minion phase Nod that can also be used to prevent
> stuff.
Only amongst minions you wish to leave untapped - and then with the risk of
getting intercepted and messing up all your plans or worse. Hardly a Nod.
Fred
If Reg Driscoll 'equips' with multiple equipment from a minion, can he
move it all to another minion?
If so, and one of those pieces of equipment is a Leather Jacket, then
he can untap at the end of the turn and the other minion can act with
all the goodies on him!
Yes. All of the just-equipped equipment to a single other minion.
> If so, and one of those pieces of equipment is a Leather Jacket, then
> he can untap at the end of the turn and the other minion can act with
> all the goodies on him!
Yes.
When performing a Torpor Rescue, or Torpor Diablerise, is this deemed a
"Encounter in Torpor" action with specified result until I get there,
or must I declare the Rescue/Diablerie as part of the action.
Secondly, if I perform a Rescue can I take their equipment from them as
well? Since theoretically they're helpless until I get them out.
D
"Encounter in Torpor" is an action from earlier editions of the rulebook.
In the current rules : "Rescue a Vampire in Torpor" and "Diablerise a
Vampire in Torpor" are separate, distinct actions. You have to declare
which you are doing, during action declaration.
See the rulebook: http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/rulebook/
> Secondly, if I perform a Rescue can I take their equipment from them
> as well?
No.
--
* lehrbuch (lehr...@gmail.com)