Being veterans, we all told him that he's wrong, but he insisted the
text says so. Upon checking, the Final Nights version of the card
does indeed not mention 'hand strike', leading people to believe that
it won't work in an Immortal Grapple if they had never played with the
Dark Sovereigns version of the card.
I checked all errata on the White-Wolf site which seems to verify that
Burning Wrath works like it always has, as a hand strike.
So are we correct in assuming that the Final Nights version of Burning
Wrath is a misprint, or did you errata Burning Wrath under our noses
;-)
Ethan Burrow - Prince of Austin
saa...@yahoo.com
http://whitestar.ddg.com/vtes/
>So were were talking during lunch about Pot/Obt and the discussion
>went to Burning Wrath. Rob says it sucks, and the rest of the group
I agree with Rob, but mostly because it costs 3 blood.
>I checked all errata on the White-Wolf site which seems to verify that
>Burning Wrath works like it always has, as a hand strike.
"Hand Strike: any non-ranged, non-weapon strike that deals damage based
on the striking minion's strength, or any minion's non-ranged
damage-dealing innate strike. [LSJ 19970224]"
Burning Wrath card text: "[pot] Strike: strength+1 damage, aggravated.
[POT] Strike: strength+2 damage, aggravated."
Burning Wrath works under IG. =)
--
"There's no gray. There's just white that's got grubby." -- T.P.
No misprint. It is a hand strike, as printed (a non-ranged, non-weapon
strike that does damage based on the striking minion's strength).
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
I think you'll find that it just got it's card text brought back in line
with
the whole "strength" thing, but is not misprinted. Scorpion Sting also fails
to mention anything about being a hand strike.
however, luckily the definition of a hand strike, being something about a
non-ranged non-weapon strike based on a minion's strength, adequately covers
both burning wrath and scorpion sting.
so wrath away!
salem.
Does anyone know about a list of things in Jyhad that used to be true,
but are not anymore? That would be a lot more useful to me me than
than trying to check each aspect or card individually.
Thanks
Wisefool
Mercuriel
It's all agg.
It is.
>Does anyone know about a list of things in Jyhad that used to be true,
>but are not anymore?
http://www.thelasombra.com/lists/migration.htm is useful on this regard.
--
James Coupe "Never give in to them," she whispered. "No matter what
PGP 0x5D623D5D EB they do or how important you feel it is to get their accep-
D690ECD7A1FB457CA21 tance. Never kill part of yourself for them. Because other
3D7E668C3695D623D5D people will notice that part is missing before you do."
That is usefull, but its pretty easy to deal with the changes result
from an explicit change in card text. I was more interested in
general changes in the philosophy of the game, or even simple rules
changes people might have missed. This probably applies much more to
my playing group than most others. 80% of our cards are from old
Jyhad boxes, when they became dirt cheap. It might be more accurate
to say we've been playing the old edition, and only started changing
since Sabbat War, and even then we only made the changes as we noticed
them. I came into the game later, and was surprised to learn how many
of the rules we played by were house rules, often house rules that
became unnecesary as the game grew more sophisticated. Also, like a
lot of others, we played the rpg first, and some of the differences
really pissed people off.
Well anyway, I think we've got things pretty straight now. These days
its little things we're doing wrong, or else we at least know we're
doing it wrong.
Wisefool
Mercuriel
Can the play this card for any effect, or do they burn prior to
resolving damage?
Raille
Like any ally, the BBA burns when he loses his last life. [6.1.5]
Combat ends when that happens. [6.4.3]
If the BBA loses his last life before strike resolution, then the
strike doesn't resolve.
LSJ wrote:
>
> Raille wrote:
> > The Blood brother Ambush allows you to play pot cards as a 3 cap
> > vampire.
> >
> > Can the play this card for any effect, or do they burn prior to
> > resolving damage?
>
> Like any ally, the BBA burns when he loses his last life. [6.1.5]
> Combat ends when that happens. [6.4.3]
>
> If the BBA loses his last life before strike resolution, then the
> strike doesn't resolve.
>
Thats what I was thinking. I had a friend ask me to relay the question
to the newsgroup for an answer.
Raille