Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Second Tradition: Domain

1 view
Skip to first unread message

Demos

unread,
Jul 5, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/5/97
to

Can I use Second Tradition: Domain to block a bleed? Of course the
reacting Vampire, say Democritus, is a Justicar and he is tapped.
--
Respectfully,

Demos
Ventrue Elder

JlB1925

unread,
Jul 7, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/7/97
to

>Can I use Second Tradition: Domain to block a bleed?
There's nothing to the contrary, so of course.
---

Liam Burke
"This sentence no verb."
-overheard

LSJ (VtES Rep)

unread,
Jul 7, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/7/97
to

Demos wrote:
>
> Can I use Second Tradition: Domain to block a bleed? Of course the
> reacting Vampire, say Democritus, is a Justicar and he is tapped.

Only if you need the intercept.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@regency.wizards.com)
Official VtES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
(*) - Subject to review by Rules Team

Demos

unread,
Jul 7, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/7/97
to

So if there is NO stealth I can not use it to block a bleed. Correct?

LSJ (VtES Rep)

unread,
Jul 7, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/7/97
to

Demos wrote:
>
> So if there is NO stealth I can not use it to block a bleed. Correct?

Correct, unless you have negative intercept.

John Whelan

unread,
Jul 8, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/8/97
to

LSJ (VtES Rep) (vte...@regency.wizards.com) wrote:

: Demos wrote:
: >
: > Can I use Second Tradition: Domain to block a bleed? Of course the
: > reacting Vampire, say Democritus, is a Justicar and he is tapped.

: Only if you need the intercept.

Hmmm. That's how we always played it, until we saw the wording on the
V:tES edition of the card, which convinced us otherwise. Is this
considered errata?

BTW, are there any websites available that list all current rulings,
errata etc.

John W.


L. Scott Johnson

unread,
Jul 9, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/9/97
to

jbwh...@dorsai.org (John Whelan) writes:
>BTW, are there any websites available that list all current rulings,
>errata etc.

Yes, with a search cabability, even:
http://Rulemonger.Home.ML.Org

--
L. Scott Johnson (sjoh...@math.sc.edu) | 65536 bytes found in lost chains.
http://www.math.sc.edu/cgi-bin/sjohnson/home | Convert to taglines? Y/n
Graphics Specialist and V:tES Rulemonger. |

LSJ (VtES Rep)

unread,
Jul 9, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/9/97
to

John Whelan wrote:
> LSJ (VtES Rep) (vte...@regency.wizards.com) wrote:
> : Demos wrote:
> : > Can I use Second Tradition: Domain to block a bleed?
> : Only if you need the intercept.
>
> Hmmm. That's how we always played it, until we saw the wording on the
> V:tES edition of the card, which convinced us otherwise. Is this
> considered errata?

The Rules Team doesn't consider this ruling to be errata.

Dave Green

unread,
Jul 9, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/9/97
to

John Whelan (jbwh...@dorsai.org) wrote:
: LSJ (VtES Rep) (vte...@regency.wizards.com) wrote:
: : Demos wrote:
: : >
: : > Can I use Second Tradition: Domain to block a bleed? Of course the
: : > reacting Vampire, say Democritus, is a Justicar and he is tapped.

: : Only if you need the intercept.

Could he also use it if untapped in need of intercept? That
has always seemed to be the most straightforward interpretation
of the card to me, but I seem to remember some official hemming
and hawing over it at one point.

-Dave Green

LSJ (VtES Rep)

unread,
Jul 9, 1997, 3:00:00 AM7/9/97
to

Dave Green wrote:
> : LSJ (VtES Rep) (vte...@regency.wizards.com) wrote:
> : : [Use Second Tradition] Only if you need the intercept.

> Could he also use it if untapped in need of intercept? That
> has always seemed to be the most straightforward interpretation
> of the card to me, but I seem to remember some official hemming
> and hawing over it at one point.

No. Card text on the VtES version (errata to the Jyhad version)
says "Only usable by a tapped vampire".

0 new messages