Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Derange

3 views
Skip to first unread message

Michael Beer

unread,
Aug 17, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/17/98
to
Just to prevent any mistakes in future gameplay:

Card Text of Derange is:

This is a +1 stealth action. (D) Put this card on a vampire who is not a
Malkavian antitribu. The vampire with this card is now considered to be
a Malkavian antitribu and is no longer a member of his or her original
clan. The vampire with this card may move it to another vampire as a (D)
action. As above, and the vampire with this card does not untap as
normal. He or she may burn 1 blood to untap.

So the initial restriction to play this card is that it cannot be played
on a Malk Antitribu.

Is there a restriction to the subsequent (D) actions to pass on the
Madness, that is,
is it possible to derange a Malkavian Antitribu with the (D) action
Derange provides?

Another issue is the clan-changing aspect of the card.

Assume a Camarilla vampire, titled with a Camarilla Title (Prince, for
example).

RTR062398 states as follows:

Titles can only be held by vampires of the appropriate clan or sect. A
clan Justicar title can only be held by a member of that clan,
Camarilla vampires cannot hold Sabbat titles and vice-versa, etc. If
a titled vampire changes clan or sect inappropriate to his title, he
loses the benefit of the title unless and until he changes his clan or

sect appropriately. If his title is contested while he is a member of
an inappropriate sect, he immediately yields the title.
(Losing capacity is not sufficient to lose the benefit of a title.)

What exactly happens?

I assume that a Sabbat vampire holding the title of a Prince would

- holds the title of Prince

The first paragraph seems to imply that the vampire looses the title
entirely ("Camarilla vampires cannot hold Sabbat titles and
vice-versa,..."), but the following text seems to mean that the title is
not lost, but is somewhat dormant.

- cannot cast the prince votes (which would belong to the "benefit"
category)
- cannot use Prince/Justicar cards (which would be a "benefit" too)
- cannot call Votes restricted to Camarilla Vampires (since she belongs
to the Sabbat)

LSJ, please clearify the situation with the new errata in mind.

Thanx

Michael Beer


LSJ

unread,
Aug 18, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/18/98
to
Michael Beer wrote:
>
> Just to prevent any mistakes in future gameplay:
>
> Card Text of Derange is:
>
> This is a +1 stealth action. (D) Put this card on a vampire who is not a
> Malkavian antitribu. The vampire with this card is now considered to be
> a Malkavian antitribu and is no longer a member of his or her original
> clan. The vampire with this card may move it to another vampire as a (D)
> action. As above, and the vampire with this card does not untap as
> normal. He or she may burn 1 blood to untap.

That text (from the spoiler list) is incorrect. The actual
text on the card is, according to Tom Wylie, (inferior):

Put this card on a vampire. The vampire with this card is now considered


to be a Malkavian antitribu and is no longer a member of his or her

original clan. The vampire with this card may move it as a (D) action.
This card cannot be played on a Malkavian antitribu.

> So the initial restriction to play this card is that it cannot be played
> on a Malk Antitribu.

It is a standing restriction.

> Is there a restriction to the subsequent (D) actions to pass on the
> Madness, that is,
> is it possible to derange a Malkavian Antitribu with the (D) action
> Derange provides?

No.

> Another issue is the clan-changing aspect of the card.
>
> Assume a Camarilla vampire, titled with a Camarilla Title (Prince, for
> example).
>
> RTR062398 states as follows:
>
> Titles can only be held by vampires of the appropriate clan or sect. A
> clan Justicar title can only be held by a member of that clan,
> Camarilla vampires cannot hold Sabbat titles and vice-versa, etc. If
> a titled vampire changes clan or sect inappropriate to his title, he
> loses the benefit of the title unless and until he changes his clan or
>
> sect appropriately. If his title is contested while he is a member of
> an inappropriate sect, he immediately yields the title.
> (Losing capacity is not sufficient to lose the benefit of a title.)
>
> What exactly happens?
>
> I assume that a Sabbat vampire holding the title of a Prince would
>
> - holds the title of Prince

Well, "holding a title" is a little ambiguous - typically implying
the priviledges of the title. He would hold the title if he were
Camarilla, but he's not. If his sect changes back to Camarilla, then
he will again hold the title.

Sorry for using such an ambiguous phrasing.

> The first paragraph seems to imply that the vampire looses the title
> entirely ("Camarilla vampires cannot hold Sabbat titles and
> vice-versa,..."), but the following text seems to mean that the title is
> not lost, but is somewhat dormant.

It's dormant, right.

> - cannot cast the prince votes (which would belong to the "benefit"
> category)
> - cannot use Prince/Justicar cards (which would be a "benefit" too)
> - cannot call Votes restricted to Camarilla Vampires (since she belongs
> to the Sabbat)

Correct.

> LSJ, please clearify the situation with the new errata in mind.

He is not a Prince in any way until he becomes Camarilla again.
(And only if no one else has laid claim to his title while
he was away.)

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Searchable database of official card text, errata, and rulings:
http://deckserver.net/cgi-deckserver/rulemonger.cgi/powersearch

Kevin Kelly

unread,
Aug 24, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/24/98
to
> > LSJ, please clearify the situation with the new errata in mind.
>
> He is not a Prince in any way until he becomes Camarilla again.
> (And only if no one else has laid claim to his title while
> he was away.)

That brings up an interesting situation. So what happens? I would
think that bringing the former Prince (or whatever) would then contest
the title and the usual pissing contest would begin - is this correct -
or is the formerly titled vampire just SOL?

Kevin

LSJ

unread,
Aug 24, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/24/98
to

SOL. He immediately yields the title.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com) VTES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
Searchable database of official card text, errata, and rulings:
http://deckserver.net/cgi-deckserver/rulemonger.cgi/powersearch

-----== Posted via Deja News, The Leader in Internet Discussion ==-----
http://www.dejanews.com/rg_mkgrp.xp Create Your Own Free Member Forum

ber...@cco.caltech.edu

unread,
Aug 24, 1998, 3:00:00 AM8/24/98
to

> > > LSJ, please clearify the situation with the new errata in mind.
> >
> > He is not a Prince in any way until he becomes Camarilla again.
> > (And only if no one else has laid claim to his title while
> > he was away.)
>
> That brings up an interesting situation. So what happens? I would
> think that bringing the former Prince (or whatever) would then contest
> the title and the usual pissing contest would begin - is this correct -
> or is the formerly titled vampire just SOL?
>

As per the rulings, the formerly titled vampire is SOL. A vampire with an
"inactive" title that is contested must yield that title.

-Chris

0 new messages