Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

corruption timing

3 views
Skip to first unread message

rai...@mich.com

unread,
Oct 18, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/18/97
to

This came up by accident.

I corrupted a 1 point vampire with 0 blood, but forgot to
burn the corruption counter and take control. When can I burn
the corruption counter legally to take control of this vampire?

Can I wait until after the vampire has hunted and before my turn,
so as to allow it to untap? or must I wait until it is my
minion phase?

Dave.

-------------------==== Posted via Deja News ====-----------------------
http://www.dejanews.com/ Search, Read, Post to Usenet

LSJ

unread,
Oct 20, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/20/97
to vte...@oracle.wizards.com

In article <8771789...@dejanews.com>, rai...@mich.com wrote:
> This came up by accident.
>
> I corrupted a 1 point vampire with 0 blood, but forgot to
> burn the corruption counter and take control. When can I burn
> the corruption counter legally to take control of this vampire?

The next time card text lets you (i.e., when you put another Corruption
Counter on him).

"Forgetting to burn the counter" is tantamount to simply not burning
the counters, which is allowed by Corruption's card text.

Since Corruption is an action (not a permanent effect), the option to
burn the counters to gain control only exists during that action. (*)

> Can I wait until after the vampire has hunted and before my turn,
> so as to allow it to untap? or must I wait until it is my
> minion phase?

You have to wait until you successfully take another Corruption
action against that vampire.

--
L. Scott Johnson (vte...@wizards.com)
Official VtES Net.Rep for Wizards of the Coast.
(*) - Subject to review by Rules Team

James Coupe

unread,
Oct 20, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/20/97
to

In article <8771789...@dejanews.com>, rai...@mich.com writes

>This came up by accident.
>
>I corrupted a 1 point vampire with 0 blood, but forgot to
>burn the corruption counter and take control. When can I burn
>the corruption counter legally to take control of this vampire?


>


>Can I wait until after the vampire has hunted and before my turn,
>so as to allow it to untap? or must I wait until it is my
>minion phase?

You can burn the counters whenever you want. This led to the problem of
what happens if Sheldon, Lord of the Clog (with enough Corruption
Counters) rushes Saqqaf. I can burn all the Corruption Counters and
control both vampires in combat so this led to the ruling that if you
are ever control both vampires in a combat (or rather, minions) abort
the combat immediately. However, you can burn hte counters any time you
want.

--

James Coupe (remove .nospam to reply by e-mail)

If you find you are falling into madness - dive

LSJ

unread,
Oct 22, 1997, 3:00:00 AM10/22/97
to

James Coupe <ja...@obeah.demon.co.uk.nospam> wrote:
> >I corrupted a 1 point vampire with 0 blood, but forgot to
> >burn the corruption counter and take control. When can I burn
> >the corruption counter legally to take control of this vampire?
>
> You can burn the counters whenever you want. This led to the problem of
> what happens if Sheldon, Lord of the Clog (with enough Corruption
> Counters) rushes Saqqaf. I can burn all the Corruption Counters and
> control both vampires in combat so this led to the ruling that if you
> are ever control both vampires in a combat (or rather, minions) abort
> the combat immediately. However, you can burn hte counters any time you
> want.

You're remembering the Form of Corruption -> Self Combat situation.
While Form of Corruption's counters can be burned at any time (since the
card is "put into play"), Corruption counters (from the Corruption action)
cannot be burned except when allowed by card text. Since the Corruption
action card doesn't remain in play (only the counter does), you can
only burn the counters during the action resolution.

0 new messages