Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Block Declaration Question

0 views
Skip to first unread message

Ben Swainbank

unread,
Sep 6, 2002, 12:56:50 PM9/6/02
to
My minion bleeds (for 1).
My prey's minion plays Telepathic Counter (basic) reducing the bleed
to 0.
I don't play a modifier (yet).

Does my prey have to declare if he's blocking?
Can he just say "This isn't a real bleed action until you increase it.
I'll announce blocks then." ?

If there is no block, and the action resolves as a bleed for 0, was it
still a sucessful action even if it is not a successful bleed?


How about:

My minion with 1 blood plays Govern the Unaligned. Bleeding at basic.
I immediately play Conditioning. I have no blood and it looks like the
action will fizzle.

Does my prey have to declare if he's blocking? Does he have the
opportunity to block?

Thanks.

-Ben Swainbank

LSJ

unread,
Sep 6, 2002, 1:10:25 PM9/6/02
to
Ben Swainbank wrote:
>
> My minion bleeds (for 1).
> My prey's minion plays Telepathic Counter (basic) reducing the bleed
> to 0.
> I don't play a modifier (yet).
>
> Does my prey have to declare if he's blocking?

Eventually, yes. You can't get to resolution without it.

> Can he just say "This isn't a real bleed action until you increase it.
> I'll announce blocks then." ?

No.
You can say "no modifiers. do you block?"
and then, when he declines to block (an event in itself), you
get the (next) chance to play an effect (like, say, conditioning).



> If there is no block, and the action resolves as a bleed for 0, was it
> still a sucessful action even if it is not a successful bleed?

Yes. Unblocked resolution is the definition.



> How about:
>
> My minion with 1 blood plays Govern the Unaligned. Bleeding at basic.
> I immediately play Conditioning. I have no blood and it looks like the
> action will fizzle.
>
> Does my prey have to declare if he's blocking? Does he have the
> opportunity to block?

Yes and yes. The action can't fizzle until it gets to resolution (unless
the acting minion is removed from the ready region or from your control,
that is).

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

0 new messages