You need to burn the counters after you play one of the cards (Corruption or
Venenation).
Corruption [AH, FN]
Cardtype: Action
Clan: Follower of Set
+1 stealth action.
(D) Put a corruption counter on a minion controlled by your prey. If the number
of your corruption counters on the minion equals or exceeds the blood capacity
of that vampire or the cost of that ally, you may burn all of your corruption
counters on that minion to gain control of him or her.
The card does not set up a lasting effect that lets you burn the corruption
counters whenever you want. If you want to use that portion of the card text,
you have to use it when the card is played.
Halcyan 2
The former. Card text, not the counter's inherent power, allows you to
take control. You must therefore use it when the action resolves (or
when you play Venenation).
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
------------------------------------------------------------
Get your FREE web-based e-mail and newsgroup access at:
http://MailAndNews.com
Corruption counters (those placed by using Corruption or Venation
cards) can only be burned by explicit card text. In other words you
must use a card to burn them and take control of the vampire. In the
case of Corruption, you place a corruption counter and THEN have the
option to burn them to take control of the vamp/ally "if" the number
of counters equals or exceeds the capacity or cost, but only for the
duration of that action. Once action ends, so does your opportunity
to use the card text to burn the counters.
Example: Vamp A is a 5 cap and has 4 counters on him. Vamp B plays
Corruption on Vamp A. If successful, you place a 5th counter on Vamp
A and then (upon checking the amount of counters against his cap) burn
them to take control of Vamp A.
If for some reason you neglect take the vamp/ally when you place the
last counter needed, you MUST have explicit card text to burn the
counters and take control (ie, another Corruption/Venenation must be
played).
Long answer to a short question, but I hope it's clear now.
Aramis
To add to other peoples' comments (of "You need to do it when the card
resolves"), you *can't* burn the counters and take control when
Nefertiti plays them with her built in action, since she has no card
text.
So, plan carefully.
--
James Coupe PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D
"Surely somewhere out there there's a woman who's EBD690ECD7A1F
been sodomized by her father and is capable of B457CA213D7E6
composing a few coherent sentences on the subject." 68C3695D623D5D