Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

A Familiar Ian question...

36 views
Skip to first unread message

erinus

unread,
Feb 18, 2002, 4:29:17 AM2/18/02
to
Okay...I'm sorry to be bothering you guys with this question...but I
want to make sure that what I did was wrong...so I can go apologize to
my group for cheating.
scenario
Ian recruits infernal familiar and uses it to get superior on whatever
he wants...granted racking up pathos counters...
But I reread both cards and I don't think that combo will work...
A) Familiar says a discipline you don't have, It says Ian can play
cards as though he has the basic level, which 'might' imply that he
doesn't technically have them...you just play cards as though he does.
***that will probably kill it there, but if that goes through...here's
the second problem***
B) Master Discipline cards played on him grant him superior of that
discipline...Obviously Infernals power isn't a Master discipline
card...therefore Ian's effect wouldn't work on granting the
superior...

Just wondered about some feedback if my reasoning was right and
sound...that the combo that I tried in a game would not work...ie- be
legal...no matter how much I like the idea of an infernal familiar pet
casting demonic ideas to ian...seducing his soul:)

thanks in advance
Erinus

Halcyan 2

unread,
Feb 18, 2002, 5:55:11 AM2/18/02
to
>Okay...I'm sorry to be bothering you guys with this question...but I
>want to make sure that what I did was wrong...so I can go apologize to
>my group for cheating.
>scenario
>Ian recruits infernal familiar and uses it to get superior on whatever
>he wants...granted racking up pathos counters...
>But I reread both cards and I don't think that combo will work...
>A) Familiar says a discipline you don't have, It says Ian can play
>cards as though he has the basic level, which 'might' imply that he
>doesn't technically have them...you just play cards as though he does.
>***that will probably kill it there, but if that goes through...here's
>the second problem***
>B) Master Discipline cards played on him grant him superior of that
>discipline...Obviously Infernals power isn't a Master discipline
>card...therefore Ian's effect wouldn't work on granting the
>superior...


Doesn't work. Infernal Familiar just duplicates Ian's ability. In fact, it's
*bad* for Ian to have an Infernal Familiar because using his ability will
indeed put counters on the Familiar.

Halcyan 2

BTW: You know how Ian or Infernal Familiar will provide one of the missing
disciplines for a multi-discipline card, right? Can you use multiple Infernal
Familiars to provide both of the missing disciplines? For example, can Smudge
with 2 Infernal Familiars play a Read the Winds? One IF could provide the
Auspex while the other IF provided the Animalism. (We'll let him have a dozen
Camarilla Vitae Slaves but still no disciplines to make sure poor Smudge
doesn't burn!).

Halcyan 2

James Coupe

unread,
Feb 18, 2002, 6:12:11 AM2/18/02
to
In message <20020218055511...@mb-fo.aol.com>, Halcyan 2

<halc...@aol.com> writes:
>BTW: You know how Ian or Infernal Familiar will provide one of the missing
>disciplines for a multi-discipline card, right? Can you use multiple Infernal
>Familiars to provide both of the missing disciplines?

My reading is that you use the ability of the Infernal Familiar to play
the card. And I don't think you could play it via two cards at once.

--
James Coupe but I lust after the raw pow0r of c.
PGP 0x5D623D5D together with the humping great
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 elephant arse of gnome.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D - Vashti

LSJ

unread,
Feb 18, 2002, 6:56:11 AM2/18/02
to
James Coupe wrote:
>
> In message <20020218055511...@mb-fo.aol.com>, Halcyan 2
> <halc...@aol.com> writes:
> >BTW: You know how Ian or Infernal Familiar will provide one of the missing
> >disciplines for a multi-discipline card, right? Can you use multiple Infernal
> >Familiars to provide both of the missing disciplines?
>
> My reading is that you use the ability of the Infernal Familiar to play
> the card. And I don't think you could play it via two cards at once.

Correct. You can use IF to play a card that you're missing a discipline for.
Not one that you're missing two disciplines for, even if you plan to make
up the other missing discipline later.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

0 new messages