Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

[LSJ] Unity

21 views
Skip to first unread message

Salem

unread,
Apr 12, 2006, 6:38:45 PM4/12/06
to
Unity, i think someone called it. The one that allows you to put two
cards from your ash heap on top of your library, then you _may_ cut your
deck once.

Qns:

Can you put the cards on top in whatever order you want?

I assume from the 'may', that the cutting is optional?

If you do cut, are you allowed to, say, choose how many cards you grab
in the piece of cut?
eg: just grab the two cards you put on top, and then put them on the
bottom, or just grab the bottom 1 or 2 cards, and put them on top.

I'm trying to get a sense for how 'random' the cut-point it in the cut,
and how, if it is supposed to be fairly random, are you to enforce it if
a player wants to cut the deck at one extreme end of her deck.

--
salem
http://users.tpg.com.au/adsltqna/vtes/
(replace 'hotmail' with 'yahoo' to email)

Sten During

unread,
Apr 13, 2006, 4:13:40 AM4/13/06
to
Salem skrev:

> Unity, i think someone called it. The one that allows you to put two
> cards from your ash heap on top of your library, then you _may_ cut your
> deck once.
>
> Qns:
>
> Can you put the cards on top in whatever order you want?
>
> I assume from the 'may', that the cutting is optional?
>
> If you do cut, are you allowed to, say, choose how many cards you grab
> in the piece of cut?
> eg: just grab the two cards you put on top, and then put them on the
> bottom, or just grab the bottom 1 or 2 cards, and put them on top.
>
> I'm trying to get a sense for how 'random' the cut-point it in the cut,
> and how, if it is supposed to be fairly random, are you to enforce it if
> a player wants to cut the deck at one extreme end of her deck.
>

Split a deck in two portions seems to be the normal definition. Seems
it would be legal to get GREAT use of Waste Management Operation.

Sten
*** Posted via a free Usenet account from http://www.teranews.com ***

James Coupe

unread,
Apr 13, 2006, 4:45:54 AM4/13/06
to
In message <443dfa97$0$14383$6d36...@titian.nntpserver.com>, Sten

During <ya...@netg.se> writes:
>Split a deck in two portions seems to be the normal definition. Seems
>it would be legal to get GREAT use of Waste Management Operation.

Yes, I've been wondering about that. Waste Management Operation with a
few supporting Hunters. The Rose Foundation (I think?) to let you use
Conviction to get votes, and a !Brujah Presence vote-y sort of deck.
Recycle the key cards to taste.

--
James Coupe
PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D YOU ARE IN ERROR.
EBD690ECD7A1FB457CA2 NO-ONE IS SCREAMING.
13D7E668C3695D623D5D THANK YOU FOR YOUR COOPERATION.

LSJ

unread,
Apr 13, 2006, 7:20:08 AM4/13/06
to
Salem wrote:
> Unity, i think someone called it. The one that allows you to put two
> cards from your ash heap on top of your library, then you _may_ cut your
> deck once.
>
> Qns:
>
> Can you put the cards on top in whatever order you want?

Yes. How else?

> I assume from the 'may', that the cutting is optional?

No need to assume. :-)
"May" does indeed tell you that it is optional.

> If you do cut, are you allowed to, say, choose how many cards you grab
> in the piece of cut?

Yes. How else?

Fred Scott

unread,
Apr 13, 2006, 9:15:08 AM4/13/06
to
"LSJ" <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message
news:1144927208....@t31g2000cwb.googlegroups.com...

> Salem wrote:
>> If you do cut, are you allowed to, say, choose how many cards you grab
>> in the piece of cut?
>
> Yes. How else?

Well, some might try to claim that it was not legal to cut a precise number
of cards of your choosing and that you must attempt to cut a "random"
number of cards instead.

Personally, I think it's fine to allow the user to count out how many
cards he wants to cut. But...since you asked.

Fred


niko...@hotmail.com

unread,
May 1, 2006, 7:45:42 PM5/1/06
to


I assume that cards requiring Virtues also counts as requiring am
Imbued? And Convictions? They dont specifically say "requires an
imbued" but they kind of do... :)

So, can I use Unity to put a Vigilance and a Second Sight on top of the
library for instance?

witness1

unread,
May 1, 2006, 8:52:01 PM5/1/06
to

niko...@hotmail.com wrote:
> Fred Scott wrote:
> > "LSJ" <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message
> > news:1144927208....@t31g2000cwb.googlegroups.com...
> > > Salem wrote:
> > >> If you do cut, are you allowed to, say, choose how many cards you grab
> > >> in the piece of cut?
> > >
> > > Yes. How else?
> >
> > Well, some might try to claim that it was not legal to cut a precise number
> > of cards of your choosing and that you must attempt to cut a "random"
> > number of cards instead.
> >
> > Personally, I think it's fine to allow the user to count out how many
> > cards he wants to cut. But...since you asked.
> >
> > Fred
>
>
> I assume that cards requiring Virtues also counts as requiring am
> Imbued? And Convictions? They dont specifically say "requires an
> imbued" but they kind of do... :)

Unity has text on this: "cards that require an imbued (or creed or
virtue)." I don't know if convictions count or not, but my guess would
be not (since they aren't in the parenthetical text and don't
specifically say that they require an imbued). But I've been wrong
before.

> So, can I use Unity to put a Vigilance and a Second Sight on top of the
> library for instance?

Witness1
-ItE

LSJ

unread,
May 2, 2006, 7:54:36 AM5/2/06
to
witness1 wrote:

> niko...@hotmail.com wrote:
> > I assume that cards requiring Virtues also counts as requiring am
> > Imbued? And Convictions? They dont specifically say "requires an
> > imbued" but they kind of do... :)
>
> Unity has text on this: "cards that require an imbued (or creed or
> virtue)." I don't know if convictions count or not, but my guess would
> be not (since they aren't in the parenthetical text and don't
> specifically say that they require an imbued). But I've been wrong
> before.

Convictions do "require" imbued (although not necessarily "ready"
imbued -- incapacitated imbued can still grab a Convcition in their
untap).

This ruling shouldn't matter one way or the other, though, since
Convictions recycle from the ash heap by nature so there's no reason to
pull one back into the library.

Jozxyqk

unread,
May 2, 2006, 8:03:05 AM5/2/06
to
LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
> This ruling shouldn't matter one way or the other, though, since
> Convictions recycle from the ash heap by nature so there's no reason to
> pull one back into the library.

There is one reason you might want to do this.
Unity allows an arbitrary "cut", so it works well in combination with
Waste Management Operation and other effects that put cards on the
bottom of your library.
So you can use a token Visionary, a Conviction card, and Unity in a
deck, along with your !Brujah and Waste Management, to be able to
burn a pool to put any card from your ash heap on top of your library.


LSJ

unread,
May 2, 2006, 10:33:02 AM5/2/06
to

Why would you bury a still-useful ashed Conviction card in your library
instead of one of your other ashed cards?

niko...@hotmail.com

unread,
May 2, 2006, 10:47:57 AM5/2/06
to


Ok, I just used those two cards as examples so I wouldnt have to reveal
my evil and cunning plan, but I'll do so, just to make sure that I'm
not breaking any rules. :)

Can I pick up Determine (this is the one im unsure about)

Cardtype: Reaction
Cost: 1 Conviction
Virtue: Vision
Play when a monster controlled by your predator is bleeding you. Tap
this reacting imbued. The monster is now bleeding your predator's
predator.
Or play when a monster controlled by your predator or prey plays an
action card. Tap this reacting imbued and cancel that action card as it
is played (no cost is paid, and the monster doesn't tap). That monster
cannot play the same action card again this turn.

and

Angel of Berlin [NoR:C] (this one im sure about)
Cardtype: Master
Master: out-of-turn. Requires a ready imbued.
Untap an imbued, or equip a ready imbued you control with an equipment
from your hand (requirements must be met; pay cost as normal). Not
usable during combat.

Jozxyqk

unread,
May 2, 2006, 10:53:36 AM5/2/06
to

Because you specifically built the deck with a Visionary, Unity, and a
couple of Conviction cards, just to get your Waste Management Operation
"Twister" combo to work, in a deck that otherwise doesn't care about
Imbued.

witness1

unread,
May 2, 2006, 5:36:32 PM5/2/06
to

niko...@hotmail.com wrote:
> Ok, I just used those two cards as examples so I wouldnt have to reveal
> my evil and cunning plan, but I'll do so, just to make sure that I'm
> not breaking any rules. :)

Yes, card text: "cards that require an imbued (or a creed or a
virtue)". By the ruling above, Convictions also count as requiring an
imbued.

> Can I pick up Determine (this is the one im unsure about)
>
> Cardtype: Reaction
> Cost: 1 Conviction
> Virtue: Vision
> Play when a monster controlled by your predator is bleeding you. Tap
> this reacting imbued. The monster is now bleeding your predator's
> predator.
> Or play when a monster controlled by your predator or prey plays an
> action card. Tap this reacting imbued and cancel that action card as it
> is played (no cost is paid, and the monster doesn't tap). That monster
> cannot play the same action card again this turn.
>
> and
>
> Angel of Berlin [NoR:C] (this one im sure about)
> Cardtype: Master
> Master: out-of-turn. Requires a ready imbued.
> Untap an imbued, or equip a ready imbued you control with an equipment
> from your hand (requirements must be met; pay cost as normal). Not
> usable during combat.

Witness1
-ItE

0 new messages