Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Shadow Court Satyr + Weighted Walking Stick

9 views
Skip to first unread message

Ankur Gupta

unread,
Sep 21, 2005, 1:42:11 AM9/21/05
to
Ok, so I'm part of a degenerate playgroup that decided to use a Shadow
Court Satyr and throw a Weighted Walking Stick on it. Now, the question is
whether the WWS burns once its counters run out. The answer to this is
yes. I found that in a ruling by LSJ from 2002.

Here's the question though:

Suppose the WWS has 3 counters on it. It's still on the SCS. At this
point, could you elect to employ the SCS text and "use the ability of that
card as if that card had been played from your hand"? The SCS is careful
not to suggest that "that card" is still a combat card. So, it could in
fact be a piece of equipment.

This would of course mean that a SCS would always be able to play with the
Weighted Walking Stick for the rest of the game. Why for the love of god,
you wouldn't play with Lucky Blow instead, I don't know.

Anyway, any answers would be welcome.

Thanks,

Ankur Gupta
Prince of West Lafayette
"Weighted Walking Sticks are not good for corn."

hp

unread,
Sep 21, 2005, 4:47:49 AM9/21/05
to

Ankur Gupta wrote:

> Suppose the WWS has 3 counters on it. It's still on the SCS. At this
> point, could you elect to employ the SCS text and "use the ability of that
> card as if that card had been played from your hand"? The SCS is careful
> not to suggest that "that card" is still a combat card. So, it could in
> fact be a piece of equipment.
>
> This would of course mean that a SCS would always be able to play with the
> Weighted Walking Stick for the rest of the game. Why for the love of god,
> you wouldn't play with Lucky Blow instead, I don't know.

Hello,

a few assumptions:

Card text (Weighted Walking Stick) says that a minion may have only one
WWS. The problem with playing it "as from your hand" with SCS's ability
is that you can't play it - SCS already has one. When all WWS counters
are used up, there seems to be no window to play the same WWS again on
SCS. I'm pretty sure that WWS card text was written with this
particular situation in mind :)

This actually brings up a question about Zip Gun - can you repeat the
"equip from your hand" -part every combat with Shadow Court Satyr that
has one (originally)? ). Zip Gun does not have the "Minion can have
only one" restriction. I did a brief search on the Newsgroup but there
seemed to nothing about this issue (although there was thread about ZG
+ SCS). Quite cornercase, but anyway...

Heikki Parviainen

LSJ

unread,
Sep 21, 2005, 6:44:57 AM9/21/05
to
Ankur Gupta wrote:

> Ok, so I'm part of a degenerate playgroup that decided to use a Shadow
> Court Satyr and throw a Weighted Walking Stick on it. Now, the question
> is whether the WWS burns once its counters run out. The answer to this
> is yes. I found that in a ruling by LSJ from 2002.
>
> Here's the question though:
>
> Suppose the WWS has 3 counters on it. It's still on the SCS. At this
> point, could you elect to employ the SCS text and "use the ability of
> that card as if that card had been played from your hand"?

No. It was moved from being "that card on him" to an equipment on him.

--
LSJ (vtesr...@TRAPwhite-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep (remove spam trap to reply)
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Ankur Gupta

unread,
Sep 21, 2005, 9:27:31 AM9/21/05
to
>> Suppose the WWS has 3 counters on it. It's still on the SCS. At this
>> point, could you elect to employ the SCS text and "use the ability of
>> that card as if that card had been played from your hand"?
>
> No. It was moved from being "that card on him" to an equipment on him.

Fair enough. Thanks LSJ. By the way, we'll just use Lucky Blow from now
on. ;) (As it turns out, this is a useful ruling regarding the zip gun, so
that you can't freely make 1 million zip guns during prerange with a SCS.)

Ankur

XZealot

unread,
Sep 21, 2005, 4:53:24 PM9/21/05
to

LSJ wrote:
> Ankur Gupta wrote:
>
> > Ok, so I'm part of a degenerate playgroup that decided to use a Shadow
> > Court Satyr and throw a Weighted Walking Stick on it. Now, the question
> > is whether the WWS burns once its counters run out. The answer to this
> > is yes. I found that in a ruling by LSJ from 2002.
> >
> > Here's the question though:
> >
> > Suppose the WWS has 3 counters on it. It's still on the SCS. At this
> > point, could you elect to employ the SCS text and "use the ability of
> > that card as if that card had been played from your hand"?
>
> No. It was moved from being "that card on him" to an equipment on him.
>

What about Disguised Weapon? Could the Shadow Court Satyr put a weapon
on itself at the beginning of each round of combat?

Comments Welcome,
Norman S. Brown, Jr
XZealot
Archon of the Swamp

LSJ

unread,
Sep 21, 2005, 5:13:55 PM9/21/05
to
XZealot wrote:

> LSJ wrote:
> What about Disguised Weapon? Could the Shadow Court Satyr put a weapon
> on itself at the beginning of each round of combat?

So long as you have a weapon in hand, sure.

Ankur Gupta

unread,
Sep 21, 2005, 10:09:35 PM9/21/05
to
> What about Disguised Weapon? Could the Shadow Court Satyr put a weapon
> on itself at the beginning of each round of combat?

Norm, YOU'RE MY HERO. I love it. Especially if it works.

Ankur

Daneel

unread,
Sep 22, 2005, 3:08:17 PM9/22/05
to
On 21 Sep 2005 13:53:24 -0700, XZealot <X_Ze...@cox-internet.com> wrote:

> What about Disguised Weapon? Could the Shadow Court Satyr put a weapon
> on itself at the beginning of each round of combat?

I don't think so. Satyr can only use the effects of the combat card once
each combat.

--
Bye,

Daneel

Sten During

unread,
Sep 23, 2005, 5:27:44 AM9/23/05
to

Eh, Daneel, read what you just answered to :)

Sten During

LSJ

unread,
Sep 23, 2005, 6:06:59 AM9/23/05
to
Sten During wrote:

Daneel is correct. It cannot be used each round of combat, only once
each combat.

Sten During

unread,
Sep 23, 2005, 9:23:50 AM9/23/05
to
LSJ wrote:
> Sten During wrote:
>
>> Daneel wrote:
>>
>>> On 21 Sep 2005 13:53:24 -0700, XZealot <X_Ze...@cox-internet.com>
>>> wrote:
>>>
>>>> What about Disguised Weapon? Could the Shadow Court Satyr put a weapon
>>>> on itself at the beginning of each round of combat?
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> I don't think so. Satyr can only use the effects of the combat card once
>>> each combat.
>>>
>>
>> Eh, Daneel, read what you just answered to :)
>
>
> Daneel is correct. It cannot be used each round of combat, only once
> each combat.

*LAUGH* And I suggested Daneel to read the text quoted, and didn't do it
properly myself :) Oh well...

Sten During

0 new messages