during my prey's untap phase, they have a ready titled vampire.
because LV is MY card, after the methuselah who's untap phase it is
has done their untappy stuff, then i get to order my stuff for their
untap phase, right?
so i can make them take the pool loss before the LV burns?
or do they get to order the effects of my card during their untap
phase? cause that'd make LV pretty much suck-tastic.
salem
domain:canberra http://www.geocities.com/salem_christ.geo/vtes.htm
(replace "hotmail" with "yahoo" to email)
> Say i have a leadership vaccuum in play.
>
> during my prey's untap phase, they have a ready titled vampire.
>
> because LV is MY card, after the methuselah who's untap phase it is
> has done their untappy stuff, then i get to order my stuff for their
> untap phase, right?
>
> so i can make them take the pool loss before the LV burns?
>
> or do they get to order the effects of my card during their untap
> phase?
This, essentially. They order the burning just as they would be
able to order the pool loss from Army of Rats. Once LV is burned,
the question of ordering the pool loss is moot.
--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to V:TES news, rules, cards, utilities, and tournament calendar:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/
>salem wrote:
>
>> Say i have a leadership vaccuum in play.
>>
>> during my prey's untap phase, they have a ready titled vampire.
>>
>> because LV is MY card, after the methuselah who's untap phase it is
>> has done their untappy stuff, then i get to order my stuff for their
>> untap phase, right?
>>
>> so i can make them take the pool loss before the LV burns?
>>
>> or do they get to order the effects of my card during their untap
>> phase?
>
>This, essentially. They order the burning just as they would be
>able to order the pool loss from Army of Rats. Once LV is burned,
>the question of ordering the pool loss is moot.
well, sir, i just don't like it. :)
i thought the army of rats ordering thing was more like...ok...some
set up:
A is meth who's turn it is. B, C, D are the other methuselahs around
the table. D has army of rats. other methuselahs have miscellaneous
stuff.
A goes '1 for edge, 1 from hunting ground. do other people want to
respond with effects in my untap phase? B? C?
C says 'i tap heidleburg to move 3 blood from Marcus to Giangaleazzo'
A goes 'in response, i'll get 2 from the Rack. B? C? D?'
D says 'ok, army of rats'
A says 'now, i'll look at the top card of my library using my Weirding
Stone. nothing else from me again. B? C? D?'
'right then, master phase...'
that's how i read things from 1.6.2 (where it says who controls master
cards) 1.6.3 (where it says who controls minion cards) and 1.6.1.6
(sequencing).
is the part where the current turn's methuselah gets to apply effects
from cards controlled by other methuselahs (what if they are optional,
does he get to make them happen or not at his whim?) during his own
untap phase come from somewhere in the rulebook, or from prior
rulings?
from:
4. Untap Phase
we have:
Any cards or effects that require or allow you to do something during
your untap phase take effect after you have untapped your cards. You
may choose the order in which these effects take place.
from that i took the second sentence's 'these effects' to apply to
effects that allow YOU to do something (what the first sentence was
talking about). Army of Rats and Leadership Vaccuum seem to be cards
that allow _other_ methuselahs to do something during your untap
phase, and thus _wouldn't_ be ordered by you.
unless you want to read it weird, and get to some sort of
interpretation which, when extended, might have another methuselah
bleeding me allows ME to lose pool, and is thus one of my effects.
Army of Rats was a poorly chosen example on my part, since its effect
happens under the untap phase of its controller. Sorry about that.
> unless you want to read it weird, and get to some sort of
> interpretation which, when extended, might have another methuselah
> bleeding me allows ME to lose pool, and is thus one of my effects.
One of the effects of resolving the action, sure.
There are scant effects that also resolve in that time. The
effects that resolve "when the action resolves" are either
either "before resolving the action" or "after". So
the question of how to order one thing (and who chooses) is not
very interesting.
>salem wrote:
>> from that i took the second sentence's 'these effects' to apply to
>> effects that allow YOU to do something (what the first sentence was
>> talking about). Army of Rats and Leadership Vaccuum seem to be cards
>> that allow _other_ methuselahs to do something during your untap
>> phase, and thus _wouldn't_ be ordered by you.
>
>Army of Rats was a poorly chosen example on my part, since its effect
>happens under the untap phase of its controller. Sorry about that.
it's ok, as for some reason i was picturing it as occuring during the
untap phase of the meth who suffers from it, anyway, in my nice long
fictional game transcription.
let's pretend that everywhere it said "Army of Rats" we meant "Anarch
Revolt"
so, to back up a bit, could we answer this?:
is the part where the current turn's methuselah gets to apply effects
from cards controlled by other methuselahs (what if they are optional,
does he get to make them happen or not at his whim?) during his own
untap phase come from somewhere in the rulebook, or from prior
rulings?
He gets to apply his effects.
In this case, burning the Leadership Vacuum that targets him is one
of his effects, poorly worded though it may be.