In [LSJ 11-Sep-2006] there's a ruling that Orlando Oriundus does not double 
the Priscus votes of any vampires his controller may control:
> > > #8. Does Orlando double any votes for the prisci sub-referendum? Since
> > > there is no explicit card text stating so (like Free States Rant), 
> > > then
> > > based on the precedence of Condemnation: Mute and Rastacourere, I 
> > > would
> > > guess that it does not double prisci votes (same thing with superior
> > > Hall of Hades' Court). Right?
>
> > Probably.
>
>
> Correct.
I think this should probably be reversed, because Orlando Oriundus's text is 
written to affect the vampires themselves (i.e. doubling their votes, 
whatever those votes might be) rather than explicitly affecting the *number* 
of votes that those vampires' titles are worth.  That is, it should work 
like Scalpel Tongue (which can "see" that a Priscus has cast "one or more 
votes" in a referendum, even though it makes no specific mention of the 
Priscus title) rather than like Condemnation: Mute (which affects the number 
of votes that a vampire has, therefore affecting only the number that 
vampire has in the main referendum, since it does not specifically mention 
affecting Priscus-subreferendum votes).  So, just as you can Telepathic Vote 
Count to make a Priscus abstain from voting, it should be possible to use 
Orlando (or Hall of Hades' Court) to double a Priscus's votes.
Orlando Oriundus: "During a referendum, if Orlando is ready, your vampires' 
votes are doubled when votes are tallied, and other multipliers may not be 
played on your vampires."
Scalpel Tongue: "Choose a vampire who has cast one or more votes in this 
referendum. The chosen vampire is tapped and abstains during this referendum 
(this cancels that vampire's votes)."
Condemnation: Mute: "Put this card on a ready vampire. The vampire with this 
card has -3 votes."
Josh
from the depths of hades
"V's votes" refers to V's votes in the main referendum.
"V's prisci votes" refers to V's votes in the prisci sub-referendum.
This frequently leads to confusion. It would be better if there was another 
suitable name for prisci votes that didn't involve the word vote. Much like it 
would be better to distinguish the bleed action from the bleed. But this is not 
the case.
"Make V Abstain" sets V's alignment to neutral for the referendum. The affects 
both V's votes (if any) and his prisci votes (if any).
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/f5f3092799ed765c
Orlando affects "votes" which means only main referendum votes.
Scalpel Tongue requires that one or more "votes" have been cast, which means one 
or more main referendum votes. Once played, however, Scalpel Tongue makes the 
victim abstain, and that affects the victims prisci votes as well as his votes.
Ah, fair enough, and a very clear explanation (though yeah, it would 
certainly be nice if we had more-easily-distinguishable terms from the 
start).  Sounds like there is some existing confusion on Scalpel Tongue 
though - in this message (LSJ 13-Nov-2005) you appeared to be confirming 
that Scalpel Tongue was playable against Gratiano even if he only has his 
own (Priscus) votes, though maybe you were thinking of the case where 
Gratiano *did* have main-referendum votes:
http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/4f891bc1bec0f7ee
Josh
scalpel!
clamp!
> This frequently leads to confusion. It would be better if there was another 
> suitable name for prisci votes that didn't involve the word vote. Much like it 
> would be better to distinguish the bleed action from the bleed. But this is not 
> the case.
The Prisci Block: The prisci as a group have 3 votes. During a referendum, the 
prisci block of 3 votes is cast "for" or "against" the referendum according to 
the prisci subreferendum. Each ready priscus provides 1 *frumple* for this 
subreferendum, and no other votes may be used in this subreferendum. Each *frumple* 
is either "for" or "against" the main referendum. Whichever side has the 
greater number of *happy campers* in the subreferendum gains 3 votes in the main 
referendum. If the subreferendum is tied, the prisci abstain from the 
main vote. As prisci cast their *fingers* in the subreferendum, the prisci 
block of 3 votes may shift between "for," "against" and "abstain" (as the 
majority in the subreferendum changes). 
(Apologies to Star Control II)
No need to apologize, hu-man.
Enjoy,
WES
> Ah, fair enough, and a very clear explanation (though yeah, it would 
> certainly be nice if we had more-easily-distinguishable terms from the 
> start).  Sounds like there is some existing confusion on Scalpel Tongue 
> though - in this message (LSJ 13-Nov-2005) you appeared to be confirming 
> that Scalpel Tongue was playable against Gratiano even if he only has his 
> own (Priscus) votes, though maybe you were thinking of the case where 
> Gratiano *did* have main-referendum votes:
> http://groups.google.com/group/rec.games.trading-cards.jyhad/msg/4f891bc1bec0f7ee
So is that only true if Gratiano also casts non-Priscus Votes?
What about this crazy situation:
Cardano goes Into the Fire.
Someone calls Investiture on him.
Someone else controls Astrid Thomas.
A vote is called and Cardano casts 1 priscus vote in favor;
Astrid casts 1 vote against.
Astrid's text:
"When votes are tallied during a referendum, any Tremere vampires who cast 
votes (that is, who are not abstaining) vote with Astrid if Astrid casts any 
votes."
The key is the clarification text "(that is, who are not abstaining)".
Cardano is not abstaining; does his Priscus vote get changed by Astrid's 
ability?
It seems like "yes", specifically because of her 10th anniversary Parenthetical
Clarification (and before that clarification it seems it would have been "no").
But if the answer to the above question is "no", then let's say Cardano is also
Legendary, and the same situation happens; since Cardano now has both regular 
votes and Priscus votes, does Astrid's ability now affect both?
Yes.
Astrid's ability changes his alignment. All votes from a single source must be 
cast in agreement (this rule giving rise to the notion of "alignment").
> It seems like "yes", specifically because of her 10th anniversary Parenthetical
> Clarification (and before that clarification it seems it would have been "no").
In truth, the clarification changes nothing, since the situation you describe 
will never occur. :-)
I will further clarify it.