Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

(LSJ) New Madness Network text

12 views
Skip to first unread message

Emiliano Imeroni

unread,
Nov 21, 2008, 8:37:41 AM11/21/08
to
Hi,

The new Madness Network text states:
"Untapped Malkavians can take actions in any Methuselah's minion phase
(follow normal sequencing rules)".

The "normal sequencing rules" (section 1.6.1 of the rulebook) state
the following:
"Sequencing. If two or more players want to play a card or effect, the
acting Methuselah plays first. At every stage, the acting player
always has the opportunity to play the next card or effect. So after
playing one effect, she may play another and another. Once she is
finished, the opportunity passes to the defending Methuselah (in the
cases of directed actions and combat), then to the rest of the
Methuselahs in clockwise order from the acting Methuselah. Note that
if any Methuselah uses a card or effect, the acting Methuselah again
gets the opportunity to play the next effect."

Suppose for definiteness that player A has Madness Network in play and
three untapped Malkavians, and it is player B's turn.

If I understand the above correctly, player A still has to ask B if he/
she is finished with his/her actions before any of A's Malkavians can
take any action. After B has declined to take any more actions, A can
now act with one of his/her Malkavians, which gives B another
opportunity to take an action with one of his/her minions afterwards.
Is that correct?

Also, can A decide to act with two or three of his/her Malkavians in a
row, before B has a chance to take another action (as happens for
instance with cards played before range in combat), or does each
action that one of A's Malkavian takes give B an immediate opportunity
to act again?

Thank you,
Emiliano

PS I guess the answer to this question will apply to Enkil Cog and The
Ankou as well.

LSJ

unread,
Nov 21, 2008, 8:49:34 AM11/21/08
to
Emiliano Imeroni wrote:
> Hi,
>
> The new Madness Network text states:
> "Untapped Malkavians can take actions in any Methuselah's minion phase
> (follow normal sequencing rules)".
>
> The "normal sequencing rules" (section 1.6.1 of the rulebook) state
> the following:
> "Sequencing. If two or more players want to play a card or effect, the
> acting Methuselah plays first. At every stage, the acting player
> always has the opportunity to play the next card or effect. So after
> playing one effect, she may play another and another. Once she is
> finished, the opportunity passes to the defending Methuselah (in the
> cases of directed actions and combat), then to the rest of the
> Methuselahs in clockwise order from the acting Methuselah. Note that
> if any Methuselah uses a card or effect, the acting Methuselah again
> gets the opportunity to play the next effect."
>
> Suppose for definiteness that player A has Madness Network in play and
> three untapped Malkavians, and it is player B's turn.
>
> If I understand the above correctly, player A still has to ask B if he/
> she is finished with his/her actions before any of A's Malkavians can
> take any action.

Close. Meth B still has to pass the opportunity to declare the next action
before A can do so.

> After B has declined to take any more actions, A can
> now act with one of his/her Malkavians, which gives B another
> opportunity to take an action with one of his/her minions afterwards.
> Is that correct?

Yes. After B passes, and someone else does something, the impulse goes back to B
(the acting Methuselah).

> Also, can A decide to act with two or three of his/her Malkavians in a
> row, before B has a chance to take another action (as happens for
> instance with cards played before range in combat),

No. The impulse goes back to B (which is also how it happens for cards played
before range in combat).

> or does each
> action that one of A's Malkavian takes give B an immediate opportunity
> to act again?

This (which matches combat and all other sequencing).

Emiliano Imeroni

unread,
Nov 21, 2008, 8:52:20 AM11/21/08
to
On 21 Nov, 14:49, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
> Emiliano Imeroni wrote:
> > Hi,
>
> > The new Madness Network text states:
> > "Untapped Malkavians can take actions in any Methuselah's minion phase
> > (follow normal sequencing rules)".
>
<skip useful answers>

Thanks!

Ben Swainbank

unread,
Nov 21, 2008, 2:20:50 PM11/21/08
to
On Nov 21, 8:49 am, LSJ <vtes...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
> > The new Madness Network text states:
> > "Untapped Malkavians can take actions in any Methuselah's minion phase
> > (follow normal sequencing rules)".
>
> > does each
> > action that one of A's Malkavian takes give B an immediate opportunity
> > to act again?
>
> This (which matches combat and all other sequencing).

If B passes the impulse (agrees that A can act with a Malk), and A
does not act, does B get the impulse back still in his minion phase?

For example:

B is at the start of his minion phase. All B minions are untapped.

A "Do you mind if I hunt with Normal?"

B. "Sure, go ahead."

A. "Actually, I'll pass. Ooops looks like your minion phase is
over...".

Is that legit? Should you always take your actions first or risk
"passing" on your minion phase?

Or is going onto the next turn phase an explicit choice -- until you
move on it's still you minion phase, because you get your impulse
back?

-Ben Swainbank


mich...@gmail.com

unread,
Nov 23, 2008, 11:47:13 AM11/23/08
to
On Nov 21, 2:20 pm, Ben Swainbank <bswainb...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> If B passes the impulse (agrees that A can act with a Malk), and A
> does not act, does B get the impulse back still in his minion phase?
>
> For example:
>
> B is at the start of his minion phase. All B minions are untapped.
>
> A "Do you mind if I hunt with Normal?"
>
> B. "Sure, go ahead."
>
> A. "Actually, I'll pass. Ooops looks like your minion phase is
> over...".
>
> Is that legit? Should you always take your actions first or risk
> "passing" on your minion phase?
>
> Or is going onto the next turn phase an explicit choice -- until you
> move on it's still you minion phase, because you get your impulse
> back?

Regardless if Player A's Malks acted or passed, the impulse would go
back to B, who could continue to take actions or pass. Passing would
allow another one of Player A's Malks to act or pass, but it would
immediately go back to B afterwards. Player B (the minion whose turn
it) would (as I read the new text) have the last say in how the minion
phase ends. Even if A decided to add an action, the impulse would
travel back to B just in case that would change anything.

LSJ

unread,
Nov 23, 2008, 12:10:54 PM11/23/08
to

No. If B passes, then the impulse doesn't come back to B until and unless
someone else does something. If everyone passes, then you move on to the next
timing window (phase, whatever).

0 new messages