Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

vampire abilities in torpor (LSJ?)

58 views
Skip to first unread message

Joshua Duffin

unread,
Jan 4, 2001, 12:57:02 PM1/4/01
to
OK. I could swear that there used to be a rule or ruling
that said that (for example) Alexandra can't use her "untap
another Toreador" ability if she's in torpor. I was under
the impression that it was a general rule that vampires can't
use any of their abilities (though "restrictions" still apply)
in torpor. But I can't find it in the rulebook or on the WW
rulings page. Maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places? Or
did I imagine the whole thing?

Surely it's not that Alexandra's cardtext:

"Once during your turn, Alexandra may tap or untap another ready
Toreador"

is supposed to imply that *she* must be ready ("another" ready
Toreador) to use it? I notice that some later vampire abilities,
like Cardinal Moncada's, explicitly say that the vampire must be
ready to use the ability. But what about abilities like Masika's -
can he still untap between turns in torpor? Or Alvaro, Scion of
Angelica - if he abstains from a vote while in torpor (sure, he
can't cast votes, but he's still abstaining, right?), does he gain
two blood?


Josh

confused again


Sent via Deja.com
http://www.deja.com/

LSJ

unread,
Jan 4, 2001, 1:13:19 PM1/4/01
to
Joshua Duffin <jt...@cornell.edu> wrote:
> OK. I could swear that there used to be a rule or ruling
> that said that (for example) Alexandra can't use her "untap
> another Toreador" ability if she's in torpor. I was under

Hmm. Not that I recall. If the ability doesn't specify that
the vampire must be ready, then the ability can be used from
torpor (as in Alexandra's case).

> the impression that it was a general rule that vampires can't
> use any of their abilities (though "restrictions" still apply)
> in torpor. But I can't find it in the rulebook or on the WW
> rulings page. Maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places? Or
> did I imagine the whole thing?

Vampires cannot cast votes from torpor (and cannot play reaction
cards from torpor, and cannot play third-party action modifiers
like superior Cloak the Gathering from torpor, and cannot take
"normal" actions or enter combat from torpor), but are otherwise
unrestricted, except as card text makes exceptions.

> Surely it's not that Alexandra's cardtext:
>
> "Once during your turn, Alexandra may tap or untap another ready
> Toreador"
>
> is supposed to imply that *she* must be ready ("another" ready
> Toreador) to use it? I notice that some later vampire abilities,
> like Cardinal Moncada's, explicitly say that the vampire must be
> ready to use the ability. But what about abilities like Masika's -
> can he still untap between turns in torpor? Or Alvaro, Scion of

Yes.

> Angelica - if he abstains from a vote while in torpor (sure, he
> can't cast votes, but he's still abstaining, right?), does he gain
> two blood?

Yes. Abstaining and not voting are the same thing. [LSJ 14-JAN-1997]

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) VTES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Pat Ricochet

unread,
Jan 4, 2001, 1:25:10 PM1/4/01
to

> OK. I could swear that there used to be a rule or ruling
> that said that (for example) Alexandra can't use her "untap
> another Toreador" ability if she's in torpor. I was under
> the impression that it was a general rule that vampires can't
> use any of their abilities (though "restrictions" still apply)
> in torpor. But I can't find it in the rulebook or on the WW
> rulings page. Maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places? Or
> did I imagine the whole thing?

I think you're imagining it. The only thing that makes abilities "go"
or "not go" is the card text. If Donal rescues himself from torpor, you
burn the blood to block him, yes?

> Surely it's not that Alexandra's cardtext:
>
> "Once during your turn, Alexandra may tap or untap another ready
> Toreador"

If they EVER reprint Alexandra (and I'm not suggesting they do, Dark
Soveriegns is still below retail last I looked) they should FIX that card
text. It makes it sound like she's taking an action, except she's not. I
think the intent is:

"If you control Alexandra, once during your turn you may tap or untap
another ready Toreador."
I mean, if *she's* doing the untapping, then it should be an action
(and, thereby, worthless). But all conclusions have been that she isn't
taking an action, but the wording is just all cutesy so you know that "she's
the one doing it," confusing the issue.

> is supposed to imply that *she* must be ready ("another" ready
> Toreador) to use it? I notice that some later vampire abilities,
> like Cardinal Moncada's, explicitly say that the vampire must be
> ready to use the ability. But what about abilities like Masika's -
> can he still untap between turns in torpor?

It doesn't say "if Masika is ready," so, yeah, sure.

> Or Alvaro, Scion of
> Angelica - if he abstains from a vote while in torpor (sure, he
> can't cast votes, but he's still abstaining, right?), does he gain
> two blood?

If Alvaro lost his votes (say, contested titled he had to give up) he
would have no votes to abstain with. I think being in torpor is similar.
He can't "abstain" any more than a newly influenced Smudge can.

--
Pat Ricochet
Soul Jar'rn Fool of Atlanta

Joshua Duffin

unread,
Jan 5, 2001, 10:00:02 AM1/5/01
to
In article <932efn$m5s$1...@nnrp1.deja.com>,

LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote:
> Joshua Duffin <jt...@cornell.edu> wrote:
> > OK. I could swear that there used to be a rule or ruling
> > that said that (for example) Alexandra can't use her "untap
> > another Toreador" ability if she's in torpor. I was under
>
> Hmm. Not that I recall. If the ability doesn't specify that
> the vampire must be ready, then the ability can be used from
> torpor (as in Alexandra's case).

Ah. Thanks for the clarification. Must've been too much
LDS back in the 60s.


Josh

some days you just can't get rid of a bomb...

0 new messages