Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Compel the Spirit (clarification needed)

11 views
Skip to first unread message

Dark Howler

unread,
Mar 25, 2001, 10:06:59 PM3/25/01
to
If I have anyone with supieror Necromancy can they bring allies from the
graveyard that they normally wouldn't be able to play?

like a Giovanni bringing out an Escaped Mental Patient or a Muddled Vampire
Hunter...

Please just clear this up for me cause I think he can bring them out cause
he isn't recruiting them but some of my friends think the clan spacific
ruling for playing them from your hand should still apply

Dark Howler

LSJ

unread,
Mar 26, 2001, 6:47:46 AM3/26/01
to
Dark Howler wrote:
>
> If I have anyone with supieror Necromancy can they bring allies from the
> graveyard that they normally wouldn't be able to play?

Yes, so long as the ally was burned from play (not merely discarded from
your hand) since your last turn.



> like a Giovanni bringing out an Escaped Mental Patient or a Muddled Vampire
> Hunter...

Yes.

> Please just clear this up for me cause I think he can bring them out cause
> he isn't recruiting them but some of my friends think the clan spacific
> ruling for playing them from your hand should still apply

Compel the Spirit uses the "Move" terminology (not the "employ" or "recruit"
terminology), indicating that the requirements (if any) of the card
have no bearing.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Dark Howler

unread,
Mar 27, 2001, 8:29:55 AM3/27/01
to
vte...@white-wolf.com (LSJ) wrote in <3ABF2C62...@white-wolf.com>:

>Dark Howler wrote:
>>
>> If I have anyone with supieror Necromancy can they bring allies from
>> the graveyard that they normally wouldn't be able to play?
>
>Yes, so long as the ally was burned from play (not merely discarded from
>your hand) since your last turn.
>

Would then if you had one mental patient burnt from play and then you
brought him back and he was burnt again and you had thrown one from your
hand could you then legally bring 2 with compels since you have technically
had 2 distroyed from play?

LSJ

unread,
Mar 27, 2001, 9:14:24 AM3/27/01
to

No, that would be 3 compels for 2 burned allies.

Roger Carhult

unread,
Mar 27, 2001, 11:18:23 AM3/27/01
to

--


"LSJ" <vte...@white-wolf.com> wrote in message
news:3AC0A040...@white-wolf.com...


> Dark Howler wrote:
> >
> > vte...@white-wolf.com (LSJ) wrote in
<3ABF2C62...@white-wolf.com>:
> >
> > >Dark Howler wrote:
> > >>
> > >> If I have anyone with supieror Necromancy can they bring allies from
> > >> the graveyard that they normally wouldn't be able to play?
> > >
> > >Yes, so long as the ally was burned from play (not merely discarded
from
> > >your hand) since your last turn.
> > >
> >
> > Would then if you had one mental patient burnt from play and then you
> > brought him back and he was burnt again and you had thrown one from your
> > hand could you then legally bring 2 with compels since you have
technically
> > had 2 distroyed from play?
>
> No, that would be 3 compels for 2 burned allies.

Hmmm I'm not sur,e but iof I make a Far Mastery on an ally and take control
of it and then it's burnt, doesn't it get returned to the original player's
ashheap? I so, can I compel it still?


Robert Franklin Grau

unread,
Mar 27, 2001, 12:02:11 PM3/27/01
to
Roger Carhult wrote:
>
>
> Hmmm I'm not sur,e but iof I make a Far Mastery on an ally and take control
> of it and then it's burnt, doesn't it get returned to the original player's
> ashheap? I so, can I compel it still?

No. The Ally must be in your ash heap to compel. This has been clarified
with respect to Kherebutu that shuffles itself into the library when
burnt.

There are a couple strange corner cases that allow you to place a card
belonging to someone else into your ash heap, but I suspect a scenario
where an Ally was stolen, then burnt, then retrieved from the other ash
heap, and then placed in your ash heap, and then compelled into play is
a remote one at best.

I don't think you could even use the succubus club to "trade" ash heaps
because (my understanding is that) the ash heap would revert back to
it's rightful owner as soon as the trade is completed.

Rob Grau
rfg...@eos.ncsu.edu

LSJ

unread,
Mar 27, 2001, 12:26:32 PM3/27/01
to
Robert Franklin Grau wrote:
> Roger Carhult wrote:
> > Hmmm I'm not sur,e but iof I make a Far Mastery on an ally and take control
> > of it and then it's burnt, doesn't it get returned to the original player's
> > ashheap?

Yes. [1.1.2]

> [If] so, can I compel it still?


>
> No. The Ally must be in your ash heap to compel. This has been clarified
> with respect to Kherebutu that shuffles itself into the library when
> burnt.

Correct, by card text.



> I don't think you could even use the succubus club to "trade" ash heaps
> because (my understanding is that) the ash heap would revert back to
> it's rightful owner as soon as the trade is completed.

You cannot use SC to trade ash heaps because you can't - the ash heap is
not composed of pool, cards in your hand, nor cards in play. SC can only
enable the trade of those three things.

Jeroen

unread,
Mar 28, 2001, 5:30:11 AM3/28/01
to
The cards:
Compel the Spirit: Action, Necromancy, 1 blood
1 stealth action. Only usable if a retainer or ally you control has been burned
since your last turn. Move the card from your ash heap to your hand. (S) As
above, but you may move the ally or retainer to the ready region without paying
the cost to put him or her in play. If a retainer is chosen, he or she must be
placed on the acting minion.

War Ghoul: Ally, Tzimisce, 3 pool
Ally with 5 life. 4 strength, 0 bleed. When War Ghoul enters play, burn an ally
or retainer you control. She can enter combat with any vampire controlled by
another Methuselah as a (D) action. She may prevent 1 damage each round. Tap and
burn War Ghoul to burn any location; you cannot use this ability during combat.

The questions:
1. Is the 'burn an ally or retainer' clause of War Ghoul considered to be a
cost?

(IOW: do you have to burn a retainer/ally when you CtS (at Sup.) of a War
Ghoul?)

2. War ghoul is a she? :-o

Jeroen


LSJ

unread,
Mar 28, 2001, 6:30:49 AM3/28/01
to
Jeroen wrote:
> Compel the Spirit: Action, Necromancy, 1 blood [...]

> War Ghoul: Ally, Tzimisce, 3 pool
> Ally with 5 life. 4 strength, 0 bleed. When War Ghoul enters play, burn an ally
> or retainer you control. She can enter combat with any vampire controlled by [...]

>
> The questions:
> 1. Is the 'burn an ally or retainer' clause of War Ghoul considered to be a
> cost?

No. It is an effect that happens "when" the War Ghoul enters play (not "to put" the
War Ghoul into play).

> (IOW: do you have to burn a retainer/ally when you CtS (at Sup.) of a War
> Ghoul?)

Yes.

Wes

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 3:32:23 AM3/29/01
to

"Jeroen" <Jeroen...@newsranger.com> wrote

> 2. War ghoul is a she? :-o

War Ghoul is a 'them'. It's a composite of about ten or so ghouls, usually
human, fleshcrafted together into a monstrous, mindless, angry... thing.

Suffice to say it is considered a breach of the Masquerade.

Pat Ricochet

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 1:42:47 AM3/29/01
to

Not unlike saying a nuclear bomb going off makes noise.

--
Pat Ricochet
Soul Jar'rn Fool of Atlanta

jeroen rombouts

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 4:34:39 AM3/29/01
to

"Wes" <gh...@mnsi.net> wrote in message
news:99uhr...@enews4.newsguy.com...

>
> "Jeroen" <Jeroen...@newsranger.com> wrote
>
> > 2. War ghoul is a she? :-o
>
> War Ghoul is a 'them'. It's a composite of about ten or so ghouls, usually
> human, fleshcrafted together into a monstrous, mindless, angry... thing.
>
I know. But hey use 'she' in the card text.

> Suffice to say it is considered a breach of the Masquerade.
>

DUH!


Dark Howler

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 7:30:01 AM3/29/01
to
What if you use Death of my conciance to "burn" cards from your hand... can
you then compel them into play if there were some allies that were burnt?

Dark Howler

LSJ

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 7:45:51 AM3/29/01
to

No. See card text and my response to your initial message that began this thread.

Dark Howler

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 8:49:12 AM3/29/01
to
vte...@white-wolf.com (LSJ) wrote in <3AC32E7F...@white-wolf.com>:

>Dark Howler wrote:
>>
>> What if you use Death of my conciance to "burn" cards from your
>> hand... can you then compel them into play if there were some allies
>> that were burnt?
>>
>> Dark Howler
>
>No. See card text and my response to your initial message that began
>this thread.
>

hehehehe

I'm just trying to find a way of having HEAPS of mental paitents on the
table... who wouldn't want the lunitics running the asylum?

Dark Howler

Geb

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 7:18:58 PM3/29/01
to
hello

On Wed, 28 Mar 2001 06:30:49 -0500, LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com>
wrote:


>Jeroen wrote:
>> Compel the Spirit: Action, Necromancy, 1 blood [...]
>> War Ghoul: Ally, Tzimisce, 3 pool
>> Ally with 5 life. 4 strength, 0 bleed. When War Ghoul enters play, burn an ally
>> or retainer you control. She can enter combat with any vampire controlled by [...]
>>
>> The questions:
>> 1. Is the 'burn an ally or retainer' clause of War Ghoul considered to be a
>> cost?
>
>No. It is an effect that happens "when" the War Ghoul enters play (not "to put" the
>War Ghoul into play).

so you can put the war ghoul in play when you don't have retainers or
allys in play? burning no retainer/ally *confused*

>> (IOW: do you have to burn a retainer/ally when you CtS (at Sup.) of a War
>> Ghoul?)
>Yes.

what card is CtS? *more confused*

bye!
Geb

The Lasombra

unread,
Mar 29, 2001, 6:38:28 PM3/29/01
to
Geb <1gan...@teleline.es> was confused.

> hello

Hi.

>
> On Wed, 28 Mar 2001 06:30:49 -0500, LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com>

> >> Compel the Spirit: Action, Necromancy, 1 blood [...]
> >> War Ghoul: Ally, Tzimisce, 3 pool
> >> Ally with 5 life. 4 strength, 0 bleed. When War Ghoul enters play, burn
an ally
> >> or retainer you control. She can enter combat with any vampire
controlled by [...]
> >>
> >> The questions:
> >> 1. Is the 'burn an ally or retainer' clause of War Ghoul considered to
be a
> >> cost?
> >
> >No. It is an effect that happens "when" the War Ghoul enters play (not
"to put" the
> >War Ghoul into play).
>
> so you can put the war ghoul in play when you don't have retainers or
> allys in play? burning no retainer/ally *confused*

Yes you can put the War Ghoul into play without any retainers or allies
already in play, unfortunately, the War Ghoul is then burned immediately
to satisfy its own card text.

See http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/rulings.html:

"If you have no other allies and no retainers in play when War Ghoul is
recruited,
then you burn War Ghoul to satisfy card text. [RTR 19961113] "


> >> (IOW: do you have to burn a retainer/ally when you CtS (at Sup.) of a
War
> >> Ghoul?)
> >Yes.
>
> what card is CtS? *more confused*

C for Compel
t for the
S for Spirit

The whole point of the original post and the title of the thread.
Compel the Spirit

> bye!

Hasta.


Carpe Noctem.

Lasombra

http://www.TheLasombra.com

ski...@tamu.edu

unread,
Apr 18, 2001, 7:36:02 PM4/18/01
to

>> Suffice to say it is considered a breach of the Masquerade.
>
haha

> Not unlike saying a nuclear bomb going off makes noise.
>

but if no one survives to tell whether they heard it or not, did it
make noise?


Skippy
Malk-Anti
The crazy Aggie

James Coupe

unread,
Apr 19, 2001, 5:40:16 PM4/19/01
to
In message <3ade24ab...@news.tamu.edu>, ski...@tamu.edu writes

>> Not unlike saying a nuclear bomb going off makes noise.
>>
>but if no one survives to tell whether they heard it or not, did it
>make noise?

The answer to this question is, obviously, quite simply answered by
$£"ASDF£$"AGFDSG%^FGHLG@&*@FSHDFG

INCONNU USENET CENSORSHIP MECHANISM AT WORK
YOUR NORMAL POST WILL BE RESUMED SHORTLY

%^RFGA&*&8()^ghj[]p;gfp[o654wThere you go. Pretty simply, wasn't it?


--
James Coupe PGP Key: 0x5D623D5D
EBD690ECD7A1F
What's the meaning when you speak with so much feeling? B457CA213D7E6
Is it over when you're sober? Is it junk? 68C3695D623D5D

0 new messages