Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

(LSJ) Stealing L Jacket...

4 views
Skip to first unread message

LSJ

unread,
Sep 6, 2000, 8:01:10 AM9/6/00
to
reyda seddiki wrote:
> Leather Jacket txt says "if a minion successfuly equip w/ L J, untap it
> at end of turn."
>
> 1 - My vampire equips LJ via "Vast Wealth". She untaps, right ?

At the end of the turn, yeah.
Equipping via Vast Wealth is still equipping.

> 2 - My vampire equips LJ by taking various equipment from another minion
> i control. It seems like he succesfuly equipped. She untaps, right ?

Yes.

> (by the way, can i take equipment from one of my own vampire in torpor ?)

Yes.

> 3- I use Kostantin's ability, to steal someone else's Leather Jacket.
> the result of stealing is Kostantin is now equipped with a leather
> jacket. Does Kostantin untap at end of my turn ?

No. Stealing equipment is not the same as equipping. (for instance, no
cost is paid).

> 4- I block a bleeding minion with Lucian. I steal acting minion's
> Leather jacket as a strike. Does Lucian untap at end of acting minion's
> turn ?

No, stealing equipment is not the same as equipping.

> Can i burn the jacket just on the round of combat i stole it to prevent
> opponent's strike ? Does Lucian untap even if i do so ?

No. Stolen equipment cannot be used for the rest of the round.

--
LSJ (vte...@white-wolf.com) V:TES Net.Rep for White Wolf, Inc.
Links to revised rulebook, rulings, errata, and tournament rules:
http://www.white-wolf.com/vtes/

Rafid Armani

unread,
Sep 6, 2000, 3:07:07 PM9/6/00
to
On Wed, 06 Sep 2000 08:01:10 -0400, LSJ <vte...@white-wolf.com>
wrote:


>> 2 - My vampire equips LJ by taking various equipment from another minion
>> i control. It seems like he succesfuly equipped. She untaps, right ?
>
>Yes.

>> 3- I use Kostantin's ability, to steal someone else's Leather Jacket.


>> the result of stealing is Kostantin is now equipped with a leather
>> jacket. Does Kostantin untap at end of my turn ?
>
>No. Stealing equipment is not the same as equipping. (for instance, no
>cost is paid).

I don't understand the difference between 2 and 3 ; no cost is paid in
both situation, and the LJ is taken from another minion.

Can you explain a little more ?

Thanks

Rémy

LSJ

unread,
Sep 6, 2000, 3:21:16 PM9/6/00
to

The rulebook under "equip" identifies the exchange as an "equip" action,
and says that the acting minion "equips" with the exchanged card(s) - which
is sufficient to satisfy LJ's card text. [6.1.3]

Stealing equipment is not "equipping" - the effect is just that the
equipment card is moved. [6.4.5] So this doesn't satisfy LJ's card text
for untapping.

Sorry for muddying the issue by referring to the cost being paid.

Gomi no Sensei

unread,
Sep 6, 2000, 3:52:57 PM9/6/00
to
ra...@videotron.ca (Rafid Armani) wrote in
<39b69556....@news.videotron.ca>:

Different mechanisms are at work. In one case, the equipment is taken
by an equip action. In the other, the equipment is taken by a special
ability, which is its own action and not equipping (Konstantin's special
ability does not use the word 'equip').

gomi

--
There are enough people who have a brain-cell to their credit and
yet still disagree with me that I don't feel any need to argue with
morons. -- M. Lorton

0 new messages