-=-=-
Locksmith Christchurch
locksmithchristchurch.co.nz
lock...@locksmithchristchuch.co.nz
112.202.254.227
Submitted on 2010/02/02 at 6:50pm
Cool collection! I have firemint flight control. It is difficult yet addicting at times, whenever I lose my patience, its boring hahah
-=-=-
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "NZ Web Dev" group.
To post to this group, send email to nz-we...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to nz-web-dev+...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/nz-web-dev?hl=en.
I was always amazed how a certain Allen Stern was always commenter #1 on
any topic on TechChrunch some time ago. He would always say something
"... I also wrote about it in my blog <link> ...". Look at 'm now?
http://www.centernetworks.com/ He did troll his way to the top. What's
wrong with it?
www.killerstartups.com did absolutely the same. The list is endless.
So, take it easy and keep those filters tuned. There are better ways to
spend your time than on angry phone calls. :)
P.S. I guess there were better ways of spending my time than writing
this .... post :)))
On 2/3/2010 11:27 AM, Miles Thompson wrote:
> Just rang them up, got their answer machine ...
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "NZ Web Dev" group.
To post to this group, send email to nz-we...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to nz-web-dev+...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/nz-web-dev?hl=en.
Harvey.
--
Harvey Kane
New Zealand:
-Office: +64 9 950 4133
-Mobile: +6421 811 951
Email: har...@harveykane.com
If you need to contact me urgently, please read my email policy www.ragepank.com/email/
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "NZ Web Dev" group.
To post to this group, send email to nz-we...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to nz-web-dev+...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/nz-web-dev?hl=en.
SEO is the result of a pessimistic view of the world. It says that
good service, good design, great content and a compelling product
aren't enough. It says that even with all of those things, you need to
have an arsenal of underhand tactics with which to prosper.
My own strategy has always been that if you build good enough
websites, offering good enough services of products that people
genuinely have a need or desire for, they're going to find your site
whether it is #1 on google or not. You write clean HTML and give
google a good enough chance of understanding your content, and you let
the rest happen organically.
I got into a very heated exchange with some SEO nutjob recently, and
it really god my back up. I realise there are quite probably people
here who make a living from such means, and all power to you, I'd do
it too if I had too, but that doesn't make it right.
Stuart.
On Wed, Feb 3, 2010 at 12:59 PM, Brett Taylor <br...@webfroot.co.nz> wrote:
> Yes, trolling can be a good way to success, but in this case, it seems that
> the business in question is essentially a network of glorified cybersquat
> sites with a team of comment writers who don't know what rel='nofollow'
> means instructed to write trite comments on blogs with metadata links to
> their target site of the day.
> This is spamming, no question. It's not email spam, but it is spam
> none-the-less. They are attempting to game Google for their own gain at the
> time expense of people like us.
> I am keeping my filters tight: I noticed this happening. Akismet thought
> this was a legitimate comment, emailed me and I could tell it wasn't.
> Because this was a more close-to-home spam, the web community of New Zealand
> needs to tell the businesses that exist within it when their practices are
> unethical.
> I am NOT saying an eye-for-an-eye; I am NOT saying let's spam the spammers.
> I AM saying let us send the message that these actions are not tolerated in
> our corners of the internet and we are disappointed in those who black-hat
> techniques.
>
> Brett
--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "NZ Web Dev" group.
To post to this group, send email to nz-we...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to nz-web-dev+...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/nz-web-dev?hl=en.
The sorts of companies that go looking for SEO services are usually the
ones that aren't ranking well and don't have the resource to make their
sites awesome, so they look for the shortcut. Often, marketing the site
hasn't actually been brought up in conversation until now. The poor old
SEO is just catering for his market, doing the best he can with what
he's got. (I'm quite a bit more picky about the jobs I take on though)
There's no point getting all upset about it - this is market forces at
play, there is demand for these kinds of SEO services. It's good to call
people out on it though if you can spare the time.
Harvey.
---
Name: John
Email: in...@cleaningchristchurch.co.nz
Website: http://cleaningchristchurch.co.nz
Subject: new comment
Message:
Blackout day is a pretty good tactic but it has to be translated into
votes by members on a winning candidate so that a more effective
battle can be made on the legislative floor.
Name: Debt Collection Christchurch
Email: in...@debtcollectionchristchurch.co.nz
Website: http://debtcollectionchristchurch.co.nz
Subject: new comment
Message:
Those were the days...alas societies change too!
---
I've requested they remove our domains from their list and even got a
response from Nic Dale, the head honcho. http://idzr.org/sg0oky
Obviously this has worked a treat ... NOT.
Very angry too,
Su Yin Khoo
http://idealog.co.nz
On Feb 3, 11:22 am, Brett Taylor <br...@webfroot.co.nz> wrote:
> Hi all,
> Just checked my blog for comments and this one got through the filters:
>
> -=-=-
>
> Locksmith Christchurch
>
> locksmithchristchurch.co.nz
>
> locksm...@locksmithchristchuch.co.nz
On Mar 20, 3:05 pm, Juha Saarinen <juhasaari...@gmail.com> wrote:
> Interesting... got some of the AdCard spam comments on my blog now as well.
> Hmm.
Looking a bit further, the URLs dropped by Adcard seem to be all over
NZ blogs as well as Facebook.
--
Juha