Gmail Calendar Documents Reader Web more »
Recently Visited Groups | Help | Sign in
Google Groups Home
Re Alan Brown's (Orbs) suggestion to block Actrix Networks
There are currently too many topics in this group that display first. To make this topic appear first, remove this option from another topic.
There was an error processing your request. Please try again.
flag
  4 messages - Collapse all  -  Translate all to Translated (View all originals)
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
stever  
View profile  
 More options Apr 19 2001, 11:29 pm
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
From: ste...@actrix.co.nz
Date: Fri, 20 Apr 2001 15:27:33 +1200
Local: Thurs, Apr 19 2001 11:27 pm
Subject: Re Alan Brown's (Orbs) suggestion to block Actrix Networks
Re Orbs blocking Actrix

The simple fact is that ACTRIX is not an open relay.  ACTRIX has been
included on the ORBS database because actrix.gen.nz is the delivery
point for domainz.net.nz, and there is a dispute between Alan Brown (the
ORBS administrator) and Domainz (Actrix isn’t involved in that
dispute).  However, only those who check the database will discover why
Actrix is included.

In the meantime, mail servers that are set up to check the ORBS database
are automatically blocking mail from actrix.gen.nz, even though
actrix.gen.nz does not have an open relay.  That means ACTRIXs'
customers are being affected because of a dispute that is beyond our
control.  That is why we will take legal action, if we have to, to
resolve the situation.


    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
None  
View profile  
 More options Apr 20 2001, 12:06 am
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
From: n...@none1.invalid (None)
Date: Fri, 20 Apr 2001 04:06:29 GMT
Local: Fri, Apr 20 2001 12:06 am
Subject: Re: Re Alan Brown's (Orbs) suggestion to block Actrix Networks
In article <3ADFACA5.C163...@actrix.co.nz>

ste...@actrix.co.nz wrote:

> In the meantime, mail servers that are set up to check the ORBS database
> are automatically blocking mail from actrix.gen.nz, even though
> actrix.gen.nz does not have an open relay.  That means ACTRIXs'
> customers are being affected because of a dispute that is beyond our
> control.  That is why we will take legal action, if we have to, to
> resolve the situation.

I don't know the full story on this... But the fact is the internet is made
up PRIVATE networks which can for any reason they choose block any other
IP,Domain,Class,etc for no reason at all and since you can't force them to
accept network traffic they have choosen not to recieve. Everyone who uses
orbs accepts the blocks they have (agreeing with them or not). I have heard
Alan has blocked networks before during disputes over whatever. When MAPS
was sued by 24/media (?) they found themselves put into local email blocks
world wide and are about out of business now. I'm now sure orbs has that
kind of support because it has a more colorful past. Anyway you probably
want to talk it out Alan because I not sure you can win something like this
in court, I don't think anyone has yet..

    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Tom Betz  
View profile  
 More options Apr 20 2001, 12:06 am
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
From: tb...@panix.com (Tom Betz)
Date: 20 Apr 2001 04:06:34 GMT
Local: Fri, Apr 20 2001 12:06 am
Subject: Re: Re Alan Brown's (Orbs) suggestion to block Actrix Networks

Quoth ste...@actrix.co.nz in <3ADFACA5.C163...@actrix.co.nz>:
|Re Orbs blocking Actrix
|
|The simple fact is that ACTRIX is not an open relay.  ACTRIX has been
|included on the ORBS database because actrix.gen.nz is the delivery
|point for domainz.net.nz, and there is a dispute between Alan Brown (the
|ORBS administrator) and Domainz (Actrix isn’t involved in that
|dispute).  However, only those who check the database will discover why
|Actrix is included.

You might start by getting your facts straight.

If you are referring to 203.96.26.131 (mail.actrix.gen.nz), it is not
in the open relay database, it is in the static database.

Very few people other than Alan use the static (manual) database.

And frankly, if you are providing MX (and other) services to people
trying to attack ORBS' network, you will find few friends here.  

While some may not care much for some of Alan's methods, nobody here
will support those who would engage in net-abuse against his systems,
or those who enable such abuse.

|In the meantime, mail servers that are set up to check the ORBS database
|are automatically blocking mail from actrix.gen.nz, even though
|actrix.gen.nz does not have an open relay.  That means ACTRIXs'
|customers are being affected because of a dispute that is beyond our
|control.  That is why we will take legal action, if we have to, to
|resolve the situation.

It sounds to me like Alan has more of a case for legal action against
you, if you are selling domains.net.nz the tools with which they
attack his servers.

--
|I always wanted to be someone,|            Tom Betz, Generalist               |
|but now I think I should have | Want to send me email? FIRST, READ THIS PAGE: |
|been a wee bit more specific. | <http://www.panix.com/~tbetz/mailterms.shtml> |
| "Fuck NANAE." -- Paul Vixie  | YO! MY EMAIL ADDRESS IS HEAVILY SPAM-ARMORED! |


    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Bill Maloy  
View profile  
 More options Apr 20 2001, 3:20 am
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
From: Bill Maloy <ma...@goldinc.com>
Date: 20 Apr 2001 06:24:11 GMT
Local: Fri, Apr 20 2001 2:24 am
Subject: Re: Re Alan Brown's (Orbs) suggestion to block Actrix Networks

Tom Betz <tb...@panix.com> wrote:
> Quoth ste...@actrix.co.nz in <3ADFACA5.C163...@actrix.co.nz>:
> |Re Orbs blocking Actrix
> |
> |The simple fact is that ACTRIX is not an open relay.  ACTRIX has been
> |included on the ORBS database because actrix.gen.nz is the delivery
> |point for domainz.net.nz, and there is a dispute between Alan Brown (the
> |ORBS administrator) and Domainz (Actrix isn't involved in that
> |dispute).  However, only those who check the database will discover why
> |Actrix is included.
> You might start by getting your facts straight.
> If you are referring to 203.96.26.131 (mail.actrix.gen.nz), it is not
> in the open relay database, it is in the static database.

Specifically, it's in the spamsources and manual databases

131.26.96.203.manual.orbs.org  internet address = 127.0.0.5
131.26.96.203.spamsources.orbs.org  internet address = 127.0.0.6

BUT it's also in inputs.orbs.org, even though the ORBS website
reports otherwise -- and that's a pretty big BUT:

inputs.orbs.org
        origin = dns-orbs.proxy.aol.com
        mail addr = hostmaster.orbs.org
        serial = 987739202
        refresh = 1800 (30M)
        retry   = 900 (15M)
        expire  = 2592000 (4w2d)
        minimum ttl = 300 (5M)

131.26.96.203.inputs.orbs.org   internet address = 127.0.0.2

The inclusion of 203.96.26.131 in a list of open relays
appears to be erroneous, since inputs.orbs.org is for
"multistage inputs and direct open relays, automated
tester only, returns 127.0.0.2" -- if, that is, we accept the
ORBS database check reporting that "203.96.26.131 is not in
the main automated open relay database".  I mean, either it
is or isn't.  If it isn't, why is it in the DNS zone?

This may very well be the first recorded instance of ORBS
not functioning as described on their web site.

Users of inputs.orbs.org may want to whitelist 203.96.26.131
until the discrepancy is resolved.  Those not using
inputs.orbs.org may want to *begin* blocking 203.96.26.131
for a personalized cartooney threat.

--
Bill "who am I and what have I done with myself?" Maloy (brm4)


    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
End of messages
« Back to Discussions « Newer topic     Older topic »

Create a group - Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2009 Google