Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Listed

25 views
Skip to first unread message

Flavio Maia

unread,
Aug 31, 2004, 2:34:57 PM8/31/04
to
I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my
address has never been spamming. What can we do?

My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big,
isn't it?


Evidence showed @ Spews :

...
1, 200.162.241.222, planetdealz.com / bestwebdealz.com /
beststoreonlinetoday.com / dfnational.com (Rede Ajato Ltda)
1, 200.162.240.0/20, AJATO.COM.BR (planetdealz.com)
1, 200.162.241.215, bestwebdealz.com
1, 200.162.241.210, bestwebdealz.com / smtp.2193.net
1, 200.162.241.209, bestwebdealz.com / govtguaranteed.com / 2193.net
1, 200.162.241.222, dfnational.com / mortgage-search.net
1, 200.162.252.26, Scanning for email addresses
1, 200.162.240.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com)
1, 200.162.192.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com) <--- THIS
MASK????
...

--
Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting
are solely the responsibility of their author. Please
read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at
http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.

The Open Sourceror's Apprentice

unread,
Aug 31, 2004, 3:19:51 PM8/31/04
to
part...@hotmail.com (Flavio Maia) wrote in news:359106ea.0408310942.38c68e0
@posting.google.com:

> My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big,
> isn't it?

Not really. A lot of admins block 200.0.0.0/7 due to the huge volumes of
spam, and miniscule volumes of legitimate email that come from that space.

--
Tired of spam in your mailbox?
Come to http://www.spamblocked.com
Who is Brad Jesness? http://www.wilhelp.com/bj_faq/
To the spammers, my motto: FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC.

Socks the white house cat

unread,
Aug 31, 2004, 4:11:15 PM8/31/04
to
Someday in the distant future, archeologists digging thru the ruins of
news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting will discover that part...@hotmail.com
(Flavio Maia) had this to say on 31 Aug 2004:

> I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my
> address has never been spamming. What can we do?
>
> My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big,
> isn't it?
>

> 1, 200.162.240.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com)


> 1, 200.162.192.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com) <--- THIS
> MASK????
> ...

A whois shows ajato owning the entire /20 SPEWS seems to think that
bestwebdealz.com is hosted by Ajato, which would make the mask accurate.

I just queried all the spammer domains listed though in S2608, and either I
screwed something up, or Ajato nuked them. It looks like the spammers are
all now on theplanet, or internap, or dead.

Edson Lopes who posted on nanabl for Ajato a couple of days ago ought to
come back and confirm that just to play it safe.

--
I AM SPEWS (SLAPP PREVENTION ELECTRONIC WHITENOISE SYSTEM)
"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop
thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do
we."
George W. Bush 8/5/04

Mike Andrews

unread,
Aug 31, 2004, 8:30:16 PM8/31/04
to
Flavio Maia <part...@hotmail.com> wrote:
> I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my
> address has never been spamming. What can we do?

> My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big,
> isn't it?


> Evidence showed @ Spews :

> ...
> 1, 200.162.241.222, planetdealz.com / bestwebdealz.com /
> beststoreonlinetoday.com / dfnational.com (Rede Ajato Ltda)
> 1, 200.162.240.0/20, AJATO.COM.BR (planetdealz.com)
> 1, 200.162.241.215, bestwebdealz.com
> 1, 200.162.241.210, bestwebdealz.com / smtp.2193.net
> 1, 200.162.241.209, bestwebdealz.com / govtguaranteed.com / 2193.net
> 1, 200.162.241.222, dfnational.com / mortgage-search.net
> 1, 200.162.252.26, Scanning for email addresses
> 1, 200.162.240.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com)
> 1, 200.162.192.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com) <--- THIS
> MASK????

Bom dia!

You aren't listed; Ajato.com.br is -- or so I read the listing above.

It appears that they haven't been doing much about valid complaints
that planetdealz.com, bestwebdealz.com, beststoreonlinetoday.com,
dfnational.com, 2193.net, and govtguaranteed.com have been sending
spam.

It takes a fair amount of inactivity to get three /20 networks listed.

You have these options:

o Stay where you are and accept limited connectivity to the rest
of the world;
o Complain to Ajato, or have your ISP complain to Ajato;
o Smarthost your outbound mail through another provider; and
o Move.

--
Mike Andrews
mi...@mikea.ath.cx
Tired old sysadmin

McWebber

unread,
Aug 31, 2004, 8:31:16 PM8/31/04
to
"Flavio Maia" <part...@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:359106ea.0408...@posting.google.com...

> I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my
> address has never been spamming. What can we do?
>
> My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big,
> isn't it?

No, the amount of spam coming from 200.0.0.0/8 is too much.


--
McWebber
"Richter points to the lack of legal action against his company as proof
that he's operating appropriately."
Information Week, November 10, 2003

ru.ig...@usask.ca

unread,
Aug 31, 2004, 8:41:18 PM8/31/04
to
Flavio Maia <part...@hotmail.com> wrote:
>I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my
>address has never been spamming. What can we do?

Actually, you are not specifically listed, your ISP seems to be.
You see, they seem to be harboring some spammers, have been for
a long time, and SPEWS is simply tired of waiting for appropriate
action to be taken. So your ISP is blocked.

>My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big,
>isn't it?

Since the ISP is being blocked, it isn't too big at all. Worse
yet, your IP is in a Latin America network. There are actually a
lot of mail servers that block either all of that part of the world
or at least entire countries, like Brazil, because spammers have
been using them a lot and their admins generally don't care (that
may have started to change, though).

What it boils down to is that you are renting network space in
a terrible network neighborhood, and other networks don't want
to have anything to do with your neighborhood.

That means you can't appeal to SPEWS about your problem because
it isn't you that is causing the problem. Complain to your ISP,
or their upstream, and tell them that your e-mail is being blocked
because they are being blocked for allowing spammers to operate
(either spamming directly, or having a web site mentioned in
spam, or anything else benefitting from the spam). Tell them
that SPEWS will probably only unblock them if they terminate all
spammer accounts. Otherwise, your options are to find a more
reputable ISP (not easy in your area), smarthost your e-mail,
ask your e-mail recipients' mail admins to whitelist you, or
live with being blocked. I hope you find a way out of the
block.

ru

--
I am not SPEWS.

Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz

unread,
Aug 31, 2004, 9:47:09 PM8/31/04
to
In <359106ea.0408...@posting.google.com>, on 08/31/2004
at 06:34 PM, part...@hotmail.com (Flavio Maia) said:

>I am listed.

No. Your provider is.

>My IP:

It's not your IP.

>It's strange, but the network mask is too big, isn't it?

No. You need to talk to your provider, or move to a reputable
provider.

A42: SPEWS is just an automated system, if spam or spam involvement
(hosting spammers, selling spamware) from your IP address/range
ceases, it will drop out of the list in time. Normally the
listing involves spam related problems with your host and the
first step you need to take is to complain to them about the
listing, in almost all cases, they are the only people who can
get an address/range out of the SPEWS list. If there is a spam
related problem with your host, their IP address/range will not
be removed until it is resolved.

--
Shmuel (Seymour J.) Metz, truly insane Spews puppet
<http://patriot.net/~shmuel>

Unsolicited bulk E-mail will be subject to legal action. I reserve
the right to publicly post or ridicule any abusive E-mail. Reply to
domain Patriot dot net user shmuel+news to contact me. Do not
reply to spam...@library.lspace.org

0 new messages