-- Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting are solely the responsibility of their author. Please read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
-- Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting are solely the responsibility of their author. Please read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
Someday in the distant future, archeologists digging thru the ruins of news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting will discover that partnn...@hotmail.com (Flavio Maia) had this to say on 31 Aug 2004:
> I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my > address has never been spamming. What can we do?
> My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big, > isn't it?
A whois shows ajato owning the entire /20 SPEWS seems to think that bestwebdealz.com is hosted by Ajato, which would make the mask accurate.
I just queried all the spammer domains listed though in S2608, and either I screwed something up, or Ajato nuked them. It looks like the spammers are all now on theplanet, or internap, or dead.
Edson Lopes who posted on nanabl for Ajato a couple of days ago ought to come back and confirm that just to play it safe.
-- I AM SPEWS (SLAPP PREVENTION ELECTRONIC WHITENOISE SYSTEM) "Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we." George W. Bush 8/5/04
-- Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting are solely the responsibility of their author. Please read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
Flavio Maia <partnn...@hotmail.com> wrote: > I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my > address has never been spamming. What can we do? > My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big, > isn't it? > Evidence showed @ Spews : > ... > 1, 200.162.241.222, planetdealz.com / bestwebdealz.com / > beststoreonlinetoday.com / dfnational.com (Rede Ajato Ltda) > 1, 200.162.240.0/20, AJATO.COM.BR (planetdealz.com) > 1, 200.162.241.215, bestwebdealz.com > 1, 200.162.241.210, bestwebdealz.com / smtp.2193.net > 1, 200.162.241.209, bestwebdealz.com / govtguaranteed.com / 2193.net > 1, 200.162.241.222, dfnational.com / mortgage-search.net > 1, 200.162.252.26, Scanning for email addresses > 1, 200.162.240.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com) > 1, 200.162.192.0/20, BACKOFFICE - AJATO (bestwebdealz.com) <--- THIS > MASK????
Bom dia!
You aren't listed; Ajato.com.br is -- or so I read the listing above.
It appears that they haven't been doing much about valid complaints that planetdealz.com, bestwebdealz.com, beststoreonlinetoday.com, dfnational.com, 2193.net, and govtguaranteed.com have been sending spam.
It takes a fair amount of inactivity to get three /20 networks listed.
You have these options:
o Stay where you are and accept limited connectivity to the rest of the world; o Complain to Ajato, or have your ISP complain to Ajato; o Smarthost your outbound mail through another provider; and o Move.
-- Mike Andrews mi...@mikea.ath.cx Tired old sysadmin
-- Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting are solely the responsibility of their author. Please read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
> I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my > address has never been spamming. What can we do?
> My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big, > isn't it?
No, the amount of spam coming from 200.0.0.0/8 is too much.
-- McWebber "Richter points to the lack of legal action against his company as proof that he's operating appropriately." Information Week, November 10, 2003
-- Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting are solely the responsibility of their author. Please read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
Flavio Maia <partnn...@hotmail.com> wrote: >I am listed. The following report shows, but actually I'm sure my >address has never been spamming. What can we do?
Actually, you are not specifically listed, your ISP seems to be. You see, they seem to be harboring some spammers, have been for a long time, and SPEWS is simply tired of waiting for appropriate action to be taken. So your ISP is blocked.
>My IP: 200.162.193.79. It's strange, but the network mask is too big, >isn't it?
Since the ISP is being blocked, it isn't too big at all. Worse yet, your IP is in a Latin America network. There are actually a lot of mail servers that block either all of that part of the world or at least entire countries, like Brazil, because spammers have been using them a lot and their admins generally don't care (that may have started to change, though).
What it boils down to is that you are renting network space in a terrible network neighborhood, and other networks don't want to have anything to do with your neighborhood.
That means you can't appeal to SPEWS about your problem because it isn't you that is causing the problem. Complain to your ISP, or their upstream, and tell them that your e-mail is being blocked because they are being blocked for allowing spammers to operate (either spamming directly, or having a web site mentioned in spam, or anything else benefitting from the spam). Tell them that SPEWS will probably only unblock them if they terminate all spammer accounts. Otherwise, your options are to find a more reputable ISP (not easy in your area), smarthost your e-mail, ask your e-mail recipients' mail admins to whitelist you, or live with being blocked. I hope you find a way out of the block.
ru
-- I am not SPEWS.
-- Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting are solely the responsibility of their author. Please read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.
In <359106ea.0408310942.38c6...@posting.google.com>, on 08/31/2004 at 06:34 PM, partnn...@hotmail.com (Flavio Maia) said:
>I am listed.
No. Your provider is.
>My IP:
It's not your IP.
>It's strange, but the network mask is too big, isn't it?
No. You need to talk to your provider, or move to a reputable provider.
A42: SPEWS is just an automated system, if spam or spam involvement (hosting spammers, selling spamware) from your IP address/range ceases, it will drop out of the list in time. Normally the listing involves spam related problems with your host and the first step you need to take is to complain to them about the listing, in almost all cases, they are the only people who can get an address/range out of the SPEWS list. If there is a spam related problem with your host, their IP address/range will not be removed until it is resolved.
Unsolicited bulk E-mail will be subject to legal action. I reserve the right to publicly post or ridicule any abusive E-mail. Reply to domain Patriot dot net user shmuel+news to contact me. Do not reply to spamt...@library.lspace.org
-- Comments posted to news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting are solely the responsibility of their author. Please read the news.admin.net-abuse.blocklisting FAQ at http://www.blocklisting.com/faq.html before posting.