a work colleague reported that he was on a train this morning (Providence to Boston) that had MBTA WiFi available. There was an MBTA splashscreen that he had to click through before he could get access.
Is this some sort of unannounced pilot? Has anyone else seen/heard of it?
On Tue, 22 Jan 2008 07:54:22 -0500, Helen Rose <hrose-use...@ckdhr.com> wrote:
: a work colleague reported that he was on a train this morning : (Providence to Boston) that had MBTA WiFi available. There was an MBTA : splashscreen that he had to click through before he could get access. : : Is this some sort of unannounced pilot? Has anyone else seen/heard of : it?
No, and I'd be careful. There appear to be virus/spyware programs that advertise themselves as free wi-fi. I've seen them on the Fitchburg line many times. The people carrying them probably don't even know they're there.
On Jan 22, 7:54 am, Helen Rose <hrose-use...@ckdhr.com> wrote:
> a work colleague reported that he was on a train this morning > (Providence to Boston) that had MBTA WiFi available. There was an MBTA > splashscreen that he had to click through before he could get access.
> Is this some sort of unannounced pilot? Has anyone else seen/heard of > it?
> --Helen
If anyone sees this could they take a screen shot? (On a PC press the "PrtSc" or "Print Screen" button on your keyboard... this copies the screen image to your clipboard and you can paste into MSPaint or an email or something...
> On Jan 22, 7:54 am, Helen Rose <hrose-use...@ckdhr.com> wrote:
> > a work colleague reported that he was on a train this morning > > (Providence to Boston) that had MBTA WiFi available. There was an MBTA > > splashscreen that he had to click through before he could get access.
> > Is this some sort of unannounced pilot? Has anyone else seen/heard of > > it?
> > --Helen
> If anyone sees this could they take a screen shot? (On a PC press the > "PrtSc" or "Print Screen" button on your keyboard... this copies the > screen image to your clipboard and you can paste into MSPaint or an > email or something...
Interesting screenshot! Upon first look, I am going to say it's a fake or spam. Can you perhaps post the Address/URL in more detail? Either an image blown up so the URL is readable or copy it into a response. Some of can investigate it from there. thanks!
> Interesting screenshot! Upon first look, I am going to say it's a > fake or spam. Can you perhaps post the Address/URL in more detail? > Either an image blown up so the URL is readable or copy it into a > response. Some of can investigate it from there. thanks!
I can see that the first part is <http://ridernet.parvus.com/> which leads to a login screen. Parvus.com seems to be a company that makes wifi products for cars and transit systems, so it looks like this might be legit.
Note there are a bunch of MBTA ones in testing. Most importantly, a MBTA page complete with a real mbta.com email address for inquiries (the gmail.com one on the splash page above is what made me doubt)...
> > Interesting screenshot! Upon first look, I am going to say it's a > > fake or spam. Can you perhaps post the Address/URL in more detail? > > Either an image blown up so the URL is readable or copy it into a > > response. Some of can investigate it from there. thanks!
> I can see that the first part is <http://ridernet.parvus.com/> which > leads to a login screen. Parvus.com seems to be a company that makes > wifi products for cars and transit systems, so it looks like this might > be legit.
> Note there are a bunch of MBTA ones in testing. Most importantly, a > MBTA page complete with a real mbta.com email address for inquiries > (the gmail.com one on the splash page above is what made me doubt)...
> Someone wanna email wifipi...@mbta.com for more information? :)
> Nil wrote: >> On 25 Jan 2008, MPS <mps...@gmail.com> wrote in ne.transportation:
>>>> http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2384/2213016829_0fa5dbb5d8.jpg?v=0 >>> Interesting screenshot! Upon first look, I am going to say it's a >>> fake or spam. Can you perhaps post the Address/URL in more detail? >>> Either an image blown up so the URL is readable or copy it into a >>> response. Some of can investigate it from there. thanks! >> I can see that the first part is <http://ridernet.parvus.com/> which >> leads to a login screen. Parvus.com seems to be a company that makes >> wifi products for cars and transit systems, so it looks like this might >> be legit.
I've seen RiderNet show up as a wireless network on the Lakeville/Middleboro line, but did not try to connect.
In article <85bq7euikh....@sergyar.ckdhr.com>, Helen Rose <hrose-use...@ckdhr.com> wrote:
>a work colleague reported that he was on a train this morning >(Providence to Boston) that had MBTA WiFi available. There was an MBTA >splashscreen that he had to click through before he could get access.
>Is this some sort of unannounced pilot? Has anyone else seen/heard of >it?
Here is an article in the mainstream media about the trial on the Worcester line:
Helen Rose <hrose-use...@ckdhr.com> writes: >a work colleague reported that he was on a train this morning >(Providence to Boston) that had MBTA WiFi available. There was an MBTA >splashscreen that he had to click through before he could get access. >Is this some sort of unannounced pilot? Has anyone else seen/heard of >it?
There was a news story on WBZ-AM about free WiFi from the MBTA on the Framingham-Worcester line, apparently only on certain cars. They say they plan to have it on all lines in the future.
In article <fnlhth$ht...@pcls6.std.com>, moro...@world.std.spaamtrap.com (Michael Moroney) wrote:
> There was a news story on WBZ-AM about free WiFi from the MBTA on the > Framingham-Worcester line, apparently only on certain cars. They say they > plan to have it on all lines in the future.
MBTA press release at their web site says W/F line will have select cars available. Cars equipped with WiFi will eventually show up on other lines as well.
The W/F line WiFi is a pilot program and they will be soliciting input from users on what is right, wrong, and how to make it better.