Network site hacked

36 views
Skip to first unread message

Susie Nelson

unread,
Jul 9, 2012, 8:29:07 AM7/9/12
to mpls-stpaul-wordpress
I have a network setup - and the site keeps getting hacked.  Those mean cruel people keep setting up new subdomain files.  We changed the password, but it has happened again.

Any suggestions???

--
Susie Nelson
Small Business Consultant, Entrepreneur, and Sales Trainer
651-442-7268



Shea Laughlin

unread,
Jul 9, 2012, 9:38:00 AM7/9/12
to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com
There are some basic things that you get do such as:
I had a few of my personal sites hacked into and learned the hard way.  Unfortunately, it was a lot of trial and error.  I would also recommend using http://sucuri.net/ to scan your site (free).

Susie Nelson

unread,
Jul 9, 2012, 9:49:51 AM7/9/12
to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com
THANK YOU!!!!!

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Minneapolis St. Paul WordPress User Group" group.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msg/mpls-stpaul-wordpress/-/A93JBl-0qGAJ.
To post to this group, send email to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to mpls-stpaul-word...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/mpls-stpaul-wordpress?hl=en.

Toby Cryns

unread,
Jul 9, 2012, 10:49:59 AM7/9/12
to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com
Susie,
I had a site hacked over the weekend, and I am curious to know if there are any similarities to what I experienced - a malware link being added to certain files.  What are/were your website's symptoms (example: links embedded into the footer, database hacked, etc.).

Thanks!
Toby


On Monday, July 9, 2012 8:49:51 AM UTC-5, Susie wrote:
THANK YOU!!!!!

On Mon, Jul 9, 2012 at 9:38 AM, Shea Laughlin <sheala...@gmail.com> wrote:
There are some basic things that you get do such as:
I had a few of my personal sites hacked into and learned the hard way.  Unfortunately, it was a lot of trial and error.  I would also recommend using http://sucuri.net/ to scan your site (free).

On Monday, July 9, 2012 7:29:07 AM UTC-5, Susie wrote:
I have a network setup - and the site keeps getting hacked.  Those mean cruel people keep setting up new subdomain files.  We changed the password, but it has happened again.

Any suggestions???

--
Susie Nelson
Small Business Consultant, Entrepreneur, and Sales Trainer
651-442-7268



--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Minneapolis St. Paul WordPress User Group" group.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msg/mpls-stpaul-wordpress/-/A93JBl-0qGAJ.
To post to this group, send email to mpls-stpaul-wordpress@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to mpls-stpaul-wordpress+unsub...@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/mpls-stpaul-wordpress?hl=en.

Susie Nelson

unread,
Jul 9, 2012, 11:28:40 AM7/9/12
to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com
They actually got into the network and set-up a subdomain website - so it was a new user added (not with super or admin privileges), and a subdomain site in place.  It's making me wonder if it is coming through the "blog copier" plugin - but since I'm a marketer - not a developer - who knows??

To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msg/mpls-stpaul-wordpress/-/QR5nCVOuP5sJ.

To post to this group, send email to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com.
To unsubscribe from this group, send email to mpls-stpaul-word...@googlegroups.com.

For more options, visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/mpls-stpaul-wordpress?hl=en.

Toby C

unread,
Jul 9, 2012, 1:16:52 PM7/9/12
to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com
Susie,
Do you have access to your server logs?  You might be able to figure out the ip address that created the new user and ban that IP using one of the plugins mentioned below.

Some other plugins you might install for security:
  • WordFence
  • Bad Behavior
  • Audit Trail
  • (there are some Multi-Site-specific ones, but I can't remember their names off-hand. Perhaps check WPMU.org)
Toby

----

Nick Ciske

unread,
Jul 10, 2012, 11:09:47 AM7/10/12
to mpls-stpau...@googlegroups.com
Are you sure registration of new sites is disabled?

Where is it hosted?


On Monday, July 9, 2012 10:28:40 AM UTC-5, Susie wrote:
They actually got into the network and set-up a subdomain website - so it was a new user added (not with super or admin privileges), and a subdomain site in place.  It's making me wonder if it is coming through the "blog copier" plugin - but since I'm a marketer - not a developer - who knows??

Reply all
Reply to author
Forward
0 new messages