*
*
*JIBAROS USER **QUESTION:
DJ --- What's an H15 GLITCH? I hope your computer is not damaged. I do
agree Facebook is on the busy side. I hope we don't lose you. Not many
Puerto Rican's out here in the States to keep us on the up and up on things.
*
* *
Hola!
JUST LIKE inFACEBOOK and TWEETER...In Hi5, users create an online profile in
order to show information such as interests, age and hometown
and upload user pictures where users can post comments. Hi5 also allows the
user to create personal photo albums and set up a music player in the
profile. Users can also send friend requests via e-mail to other users. When
a person receives a friend request, he may accept or decline it, or block
the user altogether. If the user accepts another user as a friend, the two
will be connected directly or in the 1st degree. The user will then appear
on the person's friend list and vice-versa.
There's a new phishing campaign targeting the users of the Hi5 social
network. The e-mails masquerade as a friend invitation, and the contained
link directs the users to a fake login page.
It's no news that identity thieves are using social engineering tactics in
order to trick unsuspecting users into handing over their personal
information. Such techniques are particularly effective when applied to
social networks, where the practice of trusting people added to a friend
list with more detailed personal information is rather common.
The latest spam targeting the Hi5 users is no different, in this respect, as
J. Legare, malware analyst at SophosLabs Canada, explains. “This phishing
campaign could be an attempt to steal login and password information from
legitimate hi5.com users, as well as all the information that this login and
password can unlock,” he notes.
For an untrained eye, the fake e-mails are hard to differentiate from the
legit invitations sent by the users of the social network. They employ the
same design and, of course, the picture of a pretty girl is attached to the
deceptive one in order to entice interested men into rushing to accept the
alleged friend invitation.
Obviously, adding someone to the list of friends requires user
authentication, so one would expect the link included with the invitation to
open the Hi5 sign-in and registration page in their browsers. This is where
the phishers hope that people are not paying attention, because the page
that opens, even if closely resembling the legit one, is hosted on a
.vc domain.
I'll be writing more on this...
IN THE next few days!
This is BIG
Peace
DJ
~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.
"We played you happy songs, and you weren’t happy,
so we played you funeral songs..." (Matthew 11:17)
~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.~.