From: JLH
Date: Fri, 22 Feb 2008 11:05:16 -0800 (PST)
Local: Fri, Feb 22 2008 2:05 pm
Subject: Re: Please Help! -60 penalty from Google due to proxy site.
I don't want to put words into Matt Cutts' mouth here, but I will
anyway :) Matt said, "For example, if you had been attempting to get PageRank
Which to me means that the site may have been ranking higher than it
I'm not buying the paid link ignorance after looking at how prolific
On Feb 22, 12:50 pm, ShyBoy wrote:
> ok, forum is now gone. I know it's a bit drastic, but I had no choice
> and to be honest, it was a pain to moderate anyway for the amount of > users it had. It was only a way for us to quickly announce new > products etc with some extra pictures. > Matt, Yes, I have sponsored links and I honestly had no idea it was a
> Removed the forum
> Anything else you can suggest?
> Thanks everyone for all the great replies and advice up to now.
> On Feb 22, 6:30 pm, Matt Cutts wrote:
> > ShyBoy, have you been collecting backlinks in any unusual ways? It
> > If that applies to you, my advice would be to pay special attention to
> > On Feb 22, 10:12 am, ShyBoy wrote:
> > > Thanks guys. If I remove the forum tonight, how long would you say it
> > > Many thanks everyone, I feel much better now.
> > > On Feb 22, 3:59 pm, Aaron Pratt wrote:
> > > > JLH - Please warn people whn you link to malware sites, I clicked on
> > > > yes, that site is under a -SPAM penalty.
> > > > On Feb 22, 10:48 am, JLH wrote:
> > > > > I suspect spammy links may have been a culprit here, some have been
> > > > >http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache:r7iJxoTglK8J:www.farawayfurnitur...
> > > > >http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=A0geu.q0575HpkQApt9XNyoA?p=-asdfa...
> > > > >http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&safe=off&q=site%3Afarawayf...
> > > > > So I looked on your site for other links that actually exist today:
> > > > >http://zelnorm.idoo.com/vaigra/
> > > > > is onhttp://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > >http://view-videos6.about.tc/(whichredirectsandthentries to
> > > > > is on:
> > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > >http://freepornshare.net/
> > > > > is on:
> > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...
> > > > >http://bear0porn72.greatnow.com/
> > > > > is on:http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > >http://air908.airbiz1.info/(anothermalwaresite)
> > > > > is on:
> > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > > This being said, anyone of those links that currently exist, or that
> > > > > Cleaning up the spammy links, blocking the forum so it can't happen
> > > > > On Feb 22, 6:51 am, silverstall wrote:
> > > > > > As Robo has pointed out there are other issues which may be the casue
> > > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -
> > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -
> > - Show quoted text - You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
| ||||||||||||||