From: ShyBoy
Date: Fri, 22 Feb 2008 11:20:05 -0800 (PST)
Local: Fri, Feb 22 2008 2:20 pm
Subject: Re: Please Help! -60 penalty from Google due to proxy site.
Well, it's your right not to buy into anything. Unfortunately, I had
no idea it was wrong. Why would I risk our only source of income if I did? It's not like the site is some spam site. It is a site which took us ages to build and maintain. I have taken all the pictures on the sites, written all the text, we work over 10 hours each day, drive around the country delivering and more. The testimonials you see on the site are real, we have really begun to build a reputation for ourselves. All of our competitors have some form of link building in place, all designed to 'artificially inflate' their rankings. We just competed. One site has over 264,000 links and they are still in the top 10. All from themes and blogs and other type links. I write articles about teak, how to maintain it and how to work with it. Please don't judge me or our business just by quickly checking the links pointing to our site. Thanks everyone, im going to give this some thought.
On Feb 22, 7:05 pm, JLH wrote:
> I don't want to put words into Matt Cutts' mouth here, but I will
> anyway :) > Matt said, "For example, if you had been attempting to get PageRank
> Which to me means that the site may have been ranking higher than it
> I'm not buying the paid link ignorance after looking at how prolific
> On Feb 22, 12:50 pm, ShyBoy wrote:
> > ok, forum is now gone. I know it's a bit drastic, but I had no choice
> > Matt, Yes, I have sponsored links and I honestly had no idea it was a
> > Removed the forum
> > Anything else you can suggest?
> > Thanks everyone for all the great replies and advice up to now.
> > On Feb 22, 6:30 pm, Matt Cutts wrote:
> > > ShyBoy, have you been collecting backlinks in any unusual ways? It
> > > If that applies to you, my advice would be to pay special attention to
> > > On Feb 22, 10:12 am, ShyBoy wrote:
> > > > Thanks guys. If I remove the forum tonight, how long would you say it
> > > > Many thanks everyone, I feel much better now.
> > > > On Feb 22, 3:59 pm, Aaron Pratt wrote:
> > > > > JLH - Please warn people whn you link to malware sites, I clicked on
> > > > > yes, that site is under a -SPAM penalty.
> > > > > On Feb 22, 10:48 am, JLH wrote:
> > > > > > I suspect spammy links may have been a culprit here, some have been
> > > > > >http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache:r7iJxoTglK8J:www.farawayfurnitur...
> > > > > >http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=A0geu.q0575HpkQApt9XNyoA?p=-asdfa...
> > > > > >http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&safe=off&q=site%3Afarawayf...
> > > > > > So I looked on your site for other links that actually exist today:
> > > > > >http://zelnorm.idoo.com/vaigra/
> > > > > > is onhttp://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > > >http://view-videos6.about.tc/(whichredirectsandthentriesto
> > > > > > is on:
> > > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > > >http://freepornshare.net/
> > > > > > is on:
> > > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...
> > > > > >http://bear0porn72.greatnow.com/
> > > > > > is on:http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > > >http://air908.airbiz1.info/(anothermalwaresite)
> > > > > > is on:
> > > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......
> > > > > > This being said, anyone of those links that currently exist, or that
> > > > > > Cleaning up the spammy links, blocking the forum so it can't happen
> > > > > > On Feb 22, 6:51 am, silverstall wrote:
> > > > > > > As Robo has pointed out there are other issues which may be the casue
> > > > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -
> > > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -
> > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -
> - Show quoted text - You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
| ||||||||||||||