Account Options

  1. Sign in
The old Google Groups will be going away soon.
Switch to the new Google Groups.
Google Groups Home
« Groups Home
Message from discussion Please Help! -60 penalty from Google due to proxy site.
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
ShyBoy  
View profile  
 More options Feb 22 2008, 3:12 pm
From: ShyBoy
Date: Fri, 22 Feb 2008 12:12:12 -0800 (PST)
Local: Fri, Feb 22 2008 3:12 pm
Subject: Re: Please Help! -60 penalty from Google due to proxy site.
Thanks for the reply Matt, but how can i stop links from themes that
are already out there?

On Feb 22, 8:02 pm, Matt Cutts wrote:

> Shyboy, those are good steps and I'd tackle them in earnest. After you
> feel comfortable about the paid links being gone, I'd do a
> reconsideration request.
> Matt

> On Feb 22, 10:50 am, ShyBoy wrote:

> > ok, forum is now gone. I know it's a bit drastic, but I had no choice
> > and to be honest, it was a pain to moderate anyway for the amount of
> > users it had. It was only a way for us to quickly announce new
> > products etc with some extra pictures.

> > Matt, Yes, I have sponsored links and I honestly had no idea it was a
> > problem. I never actually bought a link from a high pr site just for
> > the sake of the PR. The amount of people sponsoring links without ever
> > saying they had any problems and a recommendation from my SEO guy led
> > me to believe it was not something that was wrong.

> > Removed the forum
> > Removed reciprocal links
> > Got rid of the proxy site
> > Sent emails to all the other sites copying us to remove text
> > Will never sponsor any themes ever again.

> > Anything else you can suggest?

> > Thanks everyone for all the great replies and advice up to now.

> > On Feb 22, 6:30 pm, Matt Cutts wrote:

> > > ShyBoy, have you been collecting backlinks in any unusual ways? It
> > > looks like you may have, and I would pay special attention to that.
> > > For example, if you had been attempting to get PageRank via paid links
> > > on various templates, then when that PageRank stops flowing (e.g. if
> > > Google improves its detection in various ways), the fact that you have
> > > less PageRank can also mean that a site won't rank as well.

> > > If that applies to you, my advice would be to pay special attention to
> > > that issue, in addition to the other good advice you've already
> > > gotten.
> > > Matt

> > > On Feb 22, 10:12 am, ShyBoy wrote:

> > > > Thanks guys. If I remove the forum tonight, how long would you say it
> > > > will take for the site to return to normal? Aaron, you seem very sure,
> > > > can I take that as a definite?

> > > > Many thanks everyone, I feel much better now.

> > > > On Feb 22, 3:59 pm, Aaron Pratt wrote:

> > > > > JLH - Please warn people whn you link to malware sites, I clicked on
> > > > > one of those spam links and it tried to take over my computer. :(

> > > > > yes, that site is under a -SPAM penalty.

> > > > > On Feb 22, 10:48 am, JLH wrote:

> > > > > > I suspect spammy links may have been a culprit here, some have been
> > > > > > indexed:

> > > > > >http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache:r7iJxoTglK8J:www.farawayfurnitur...

> > > > > >http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=A0geu.q0575HpkQApt9XNyoA?p=-asdfa...

> > > > > >http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&safe=off&q=site%3Afarawayf...

> > > > > > So I looked on your site for other links that actually exist today:

> > > > > >http://zelnorm.idoo.com/vaigra/

> > > > > > is onhttp://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......

> > > > > >http://view-videos6.about.tc/(whichredirectsandthentriesto
> > > > > > install malware)

> > > > > > is on:

> > > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......

> > > > > >http://freepornshare.net/

> > > > > > is on:

> > > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...

> > > > > >http://bear0porn72.greatnow.com/

> > > > > > is on:http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......

> > > > > >http://air908.airbiz1.info/(anothermalwaresite)

> > > > > > is on:

> > > > > >http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc......

> > > > > > This being said, anyone of those links that currently exist, or that
> > > > > > you've already cleaned up could have triggered and automatic penalty
> > > > > > from Google.  Since the forum seems to be the problem, I'd get rid of
> > > > > > it, at least from a robots point of view and block the crawling (since
> > > > > > it uses session IDs is a good enough reason to not let a crawler into
> > > > > > it)

> > > > > > Cleaning up the spammy links, blocking the forum so it can't happen
> > > > > > again, getting rid of the exchanged link scheme, should all be written
> > > > > > up and included in the reconsideration request.

> > > > > > On Feb 22, 6:51 am, silverstall wrote:

> > > > > > > As Robo has pointed out there are other issues which may be the casue
> > > > > > > for the loss in the serps.
> > > > > > > Blocking the IP of the proxy server itself may help prevent further
> > > > > > > attacks however you must check it is the proxy server you have blocked
> > > > > > > and not a  visitor - a human or a robot that accessed your site via
> > > > > > > the proxy link that was indexed.
> > > > > > > A proxy attack of this nature i think can sometimes bring the
> > > > > > > attention of a closer scrutiny of your site by google. Previously
> > > > > > > Pages may have escaped their filters but because they have been
> > > > > > > recrawled and re-examined they are now subject to penalties. I am sure
> > > > > > > this was the case when we recently had a proxy attack as when i looked
> > > > > > > at some of our pages in finer detail i thought how the hell did i
> > > > > > > overlook that or why the hell did she put that in etc. Also i ran a
> > > > > > > check of ALL our pages at copyscape and was horrified to see how many
> > > > > > > times some text had been copied. Regretably your homepage when i ran
> > > > > > > it through copyscape churns up a lot of duplicate content found
> > > > > > > elsewhere
> > > > > > > I am afraid there is a lot of work ahead. I know i have recently been
> > > > > > > there and it requires a closer loook at EVERY single page on your site
> > > > > > > before thinking about filing for re-inclusion. Having re-styled,
> > > > > > > rephotograped and rewritten our homepage and all key level 1 pages i
> > > > > > > found our serps are returning so on a positive note a proxy attack can
> > > > > > > act as a wake-ip call to improve quality and cut out all the errors.
> > > > > > > In the meantime finding out more detail of the proxy hijackers is
> > > > > > > useful - as i found telephone calls and even a 'visit' acts as
> > > > > > > deterrant from further attack.
> > > > > > >  As Robo points out the forum is a breeding ground for trouble - is it
> > > > > > > really necessary to have one?- Hide quoted text -

> > > > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -

> > > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -

> > > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -

> > - Show quoted text -- Hide quoted text -

> - Show quoted text -


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.