Account Options

  1. Sign in
The old Google Groups will be going away soon.
Switch to the new Google Groups.
Google Groups Home
« Groups Home
Message from discussion Please Help! -60 penalty from Google due to proxy site.
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
JLH  
View profile  
 More options Feb 22 2008, 10:48 am
From: JLH
Date: Fri, 22 Feb 2008 07:48:20 -0800 (PST)
Local: Fri, Feb 22 2008 10:48 am
Subject: Re: Please Help! -60 penalty from Google due to proxy site.
I suspect spammy links may have been a culprit here, some have been
indexed:

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache:r7iJxoTglK8J:www.farawayfurnitur...

http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=A0geu.q0575HpkQApt9XNyoA?p=-asdfa...

http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&safe=off&q=site%3Afarawayf...

So I looked on your site for other links that actually exist today:

http://zelnorm.idoo.com/vaigra/

is on
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=1d1cff9a6d...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...

http://view-videos6.about.tc/ (which redirects and then tries to
install malware)

is on:

http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=1d1cff9a6d...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...

http://freepornshare.net/

is on:

http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...

http://bear0porn72.greatnow.com/

is on:
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=1d1cff9a6d...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...

http://air908.airbiz1.info/ (another malware site)

is on:

http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=6e9ef35efc...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/memberlist.php?sid=1d1cff9a6d...
http://www.farawayfurniture.co.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&...

This being said, anyone of those links that currently exist, or that
you've already cleaned up could have triggered and automatic penalty
from Google.  Since the forum seems to be the problem, I'd get rid of
it, at least from a robots point of view and block the crawling (since
it uses session IDs is a good enough reason to not let a crawler into
it)

Cleaning up the spammy links, blocking the forum so it can't happen
again, getting rid of the exchanged link scheme, should all be written
up and included in the reconsideration request.

On Feb 22, 6:51 am, silverstall wrote:

> As Robo has pointed out there are other issues which may be the casue
> for the loss in the serps.
> Blocking the IP of the proxy server itself may help prevent further
> attacks however you must check it is the proxy server you have blocked
> and not a  visitor - a human or a robot that accessed your site via
> the proxy link that was indexed.
> A proxy attack of this nature i think can sometimes bring the
> attention of a closer scrutiny of your site by google. Previously
> Pages may have escaped their filters but because they have been
> recrawled and re-examined they are now subject to penalties. I am sure
> this was the case when we recently had a proxy attack as when i looked
> at some of our pages in finer detail i thought how the hell did i
> overlook that or why the hell did she put that in etc. Also i ran a
> check of ALL our pages at copyscape and was horrified to see how many
> times some text had been copied. Regretably your homepage when i ran
> it through copyscape churns up a lot of duplicate content found
> elsewhere
> I am afraid there is a lot of work ahead. I know i have recently been
> there and it requires a closer loook at EVERY single page on your site
> before thinking about filing for re-inclusion. Having re-styled,
> rephotograped and rewritten our homepage and all key level 1 pages i
> found our serps are returning so on a positive note a proxy attack can
> act as a wake-ip call to improve quality and cut out all the errors.
> In the meantime finding out more detail of the proxy hijackers is
> useful - as i found telephone calls and even a 'visit' acts as
> deterrant from further attack.
>  As Robo points out the forum is a breeding ground for trouble - is it
> really necessary to have one?


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.