Google Groups no longer supports new Usenet posts or subscriptions. Historical content remains viewable.
Dismiss

Facebook - Interesting Pages

12 views
Skip to first unread message

Gerry

unread,
May 11, 2013, 6:13:56 PM5/11/13
to
I have over a month or so, received three emails from Facebook with the
subject "Interesting Pages on Facebook" with the line "Like the Pages
you are interested in to get their updates in your news feed." with a
list of six political subject areas, all of a political persuasion very
much opposite to my own. These subjects are a commentator's site, two
political party sites, two news source.

I've checked the detail headers, and they seem to be from Facebook, but
are these emails actually coming from Facebook (yes I'm a member)?

If from Facebook, what is generating these particular emails?

Erik Richard Sørensen

unread,
May 11, 2013, 7:11:48 PM5/11/13
to
Hi Gerry
Well... These mails are also pending here in Denmark, but one thing is
for sure - none of them are coming from Facbook!

These mails all contain malware - 'phishing app' - that in worst case
can be installed on your computer and from there log and collect any of
your personal information including credit card numbers and other
personal data. - Worst case these information can then be used to steel
your identity or empty your bank accounts for each and every cent.

So DO NEVER CLICK on any of the contained links or buttons.

You can find more relevant header information on the mails if you have a
good mail application like Thunderbird or the mail part of SeaMonkey.
Here under the menu point "Message source" you can find even from whcih
IP address the mail has been sent or at least re-directed. This source
information will probalby also give the correct sender's mail address
and/or the mail host.

Cheers, Erik Richard

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Erik Richard Sørensen, Member of ADC, <mac-m...@Mstofanet.dk>
NisusWriter - The Future In Multilingual Text Processing - www.nisus.com
OpenOffice.org - The Modern Productivity Solution - www.openoffice.org
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Calum

unread,
May 23, 2013, 10:30:34 AM5/23/13
to
On 11/05/2013 23:13, Gerry wrote:

> I've checked the detail headers, and they seem to be from Facebook, but
> are these emails actually coming from Facebook (yes I'm a member)?

I never trust email headers. Roll your mouse over some of the links in
the email (DON'T CLICK THEM) and see where the tooltip or status bar
says they're going to take you to. If the domain name in the links isn't
facebook.com, it's not from Facebook.

(It's always best to check more than one link, as sometimes scam emails
will have some superfluous genuine links in them too, such as a link to
the real company's customer service or FAQ page.)

--
Xbox: GallusNumpty Steam: scottishwildcat
Message has been deleted

Calum

unread,
May 24, 2013, 6:31:19 AM5/24/13
to
On 24/05/2013 03:18, Lewis wrote:

> That's silly; if you know what to look for, they are the only thing you
> *can* trust.

Perhaps, but as somebody without sufficient knowledge to discern real
headers from spoofed ones, it's a heck of a lot quicker and easier just
to trust what my email app is telling me about link destinations. If my
email app has been compromised, then all bets are off anyway.
0 new messages