That is a strange MX record. When that mail system (MX Exchange) tries to send the mail, it opens an SMTP port 25 connection to one of my DNS servers. Is this what is supposed to happen? Thanks. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Barry S. Finkel Computing and Instrumentation Solutions Division Argonne National Laboratory Phone: +1 (630) 252-7277 9700 South Cass Avenue Facsimile:+1 (630) 252-4601 Building 222, Room D209 Internet: BSFin...@anl.gov Argonne, IL 60439-4828 IBMMAIL: I1004994
> That is a strange MX record. When that mail system (MX Exchange) > tries to send the mail, it opens an SMTP port 25 connection to one of > my DNS servers. Is this what is supposed to happen? Thanks. > ---------------------------------------------------------------------- > Barry S. Finkel > Computing and Instrumentation Solutions Division > Argonne National Laboratory Phone: +1 (630) 252-7277 > 9700 South Cass Avenue Facsimile:+1 (630) 252-4601 > Building 222, Room D209 Internet: BSFin...@anl.gov > Argonne, IL 60439-4828 IBMMAIL: I1004994
It's an attempt to say "don't sent mail to the domain altavista.com." It's a pity it is not been codified AFAIK.
I would be teaching my MTA to treat a MX record like this as a indication to just bounce the mail.
Mark -- Mark Andrews, ISC 1 Seymour St., Dundas Valley, NSW 2117, Australia PHONE: +61 2 9871 4742 INTERNET: Mark_Andr...@isc.org
>>That is a strange MX record. When that mail system (MX Exchange) >>tries to send the mail, it opens an SMTP port 25 connection to one of >>my DNS servers. Is this what is supposed to happen? Thanks.
[snip]
> It's an attempt to say "don't sent mail to the domain > altavista.com." It's a pity it is not been codified > AFAIK.
> I would be teaching my MTA to treat a MX record like > this as a indication to just bounce the mail.
Note that altavista.com uses SPF to declare that they don't send any mail either...
;; ANSWER SECTION: altavista.com. 587 IN TXT "Null SPF is for tracking purposes only" altavista.com. 587 IN TXT "All mail claiming to be from altavista.com is forged" altavista.com. 587 IN TXT "v=spf1 +exists:CL.%{i}.FR.%{s}.HE.%{h}.null.spf.altavista.com -all" altavista.com. 587 IN TXT "This domain sends no email"
In article <ch5fte$14e...@sf1.isc.org>, Barry Finkel <b19...@achilles.ctd.anl.gov> wrote:
> That is a strange MX record. When that mail system (MX Exchange) > tries to send the mail, it opens an SMTP port 25 connection to one of > my DNS servers. Is this what is supposed to happen? Thanks.
Well, that MX record is pretty much busted. The mail server -should- probably just barf and refuse to deliver the message, but some other behavior is not too unexpected.
Looks like Yahoo pouched the MX record for altavista.com.
In article <ch5mlr$1io...@sf1.isc.org>, Christian Smith <n...@i.am.invalid> wrote:
> In article <ch5fte$14e...@sf1.isc.org>, > Barry Finkel <b19...@achilles.ctd.anl.gov> wrote:
> > That is a strange MX record. When that mail system (MX Exchange) > > tries to send the mail, it opens an SMTP port 25 connection to one of > > my DNS servers. Is this what is supposed to happen? Thanks.
> Well, that MX record is pretty much busted. The mail server -should- > probably just barf and refuse to deliver the message, but some other > behavior is not too unexpected.
There's no reason for any special-casing. The mailer should try to look up an A record for "." (the root domain). Since there is no such record, it should handle it just like any other MX record that points to a name without an A record -- log a complaint and bounce the mail.
-- Barry Margolin, bar...@alum.mit.edu Arlington, MA *** PLEASE post questions in newsgroups, not directly to me ***
blacklist_zone domain status Submitted Added Rejected Removed Postmaster altavista.com Listed Apr 1, 2004 21:24 EST Apr 2, 2004 1:51 EST Never Never dsn altavista.com Listed Feb 29, 2004 19:26 EST Mar 1, 2004 4:19 EST Never Never abuse altavista.com Listed Jan 21, 2002 23:54 EST Jan 23, 2002 21:28 EST Never Never bogusmx altavista.com Listed Mar 25, 2004 17:47 EST Mar 25, 2004 17:47 EST Never Never
> -----Original Message----- > From: bind-users-bou...@isc.org > [mailto:bind-users-bou...@isc.org] On Behalf Of Barry Finkel > Sent: Wednesday, September 01, 2004 3:36 PM > To: bind-us...@isc.org > Subject: Strange MX Record for altavista.com
> There is a mail system here that has mail queued for altavista.com. > dig reports:
> That is a strange MX record. When that mail system (MX Exchange) > tries to send the mail, it opens an SMTP port 25 connection to one of > my DNS servers. Is this what is supposed to happen? Thanks. > ---------------------------------------------------------------------- > Barry S. Finkel > Computing and Instrumentation Solutions Division > Argonne National Laboratory Phone: +1 (630) 252-7277 > 9700 South Cass Avenue Facsimile:+1 (630) 252-4601 > Building 222, Room D209 Internet: BSFin...@anl.gov > Argonne, IL 60439-4828 IBMMAIL: I1004994