Part of the mail header looks like:----
To: undisclosed-recipients:;
From: warn...@absamail.co.za
Subject: FINAL WARNING
Reply-To: nonre...@absamail.co.zabfm.hr
Organization: Your Email Account Will Be Terminated
Message-ID: <20120929084213.80dca2e2@bio.bg.ac.rs>
Date: Sat, 29 Sep 2012 10:42:13 +0200
X-Mailer: Kerio Connect 7.4.2 WebMail
X-User-Agent: Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 5.1; U; Edition Next; en) Presto/2.8.131
---------------------
And "whois" will give you information about the web address and who owns
it. But phishing operators make use of machines around the world which have
been hijacked. Ie, there is no reason to expect that the cracker is at
any of the addresses listed. You could let them know that their machines
hae been hijacked if you wished.
In article <slrnk6eghq.879.BitTwis...@wb.home.test>, Bit Twister <BitTwis...@mouse-potato.com> wrote: > On Sat, 29 Sep 2012 18:22:11 +0000 (UTC), no.top.p...@gmail.com wrote:
> > I've got some false <email warnings from my bank> that I should <klik>
On Sun, 30 Sep 2012 02:44:12 +0000 (UTC), no.top.p...@gmail.com wrote:
> In article <slrnk6eghq.879.BitTwis...@wb.home.test>, Bit Twister <BitTwis...@mouse-potato.com> wrote:
> Thanks; it gives a big story about Venezuella.
> But can you belive any thing?
All I can say is the provided information is what was
provide/maintained by the entity who is leasing that ip range from the
indicated vendor.
> My ISP2's pop & smtp and my ISP1's smtp failed
> about 2 months ago. As if MicroSoft had made a
> new change, which my old software doesn't satisfy.
Your not providing much information there. If you are talking about
your MTA (qmail, postfix, sendmail, exim,..), upgrade it.
If it's your MUA (thunderbird, kontact, kwrite. knode..), upgrade it.
> > And `nslookup capeziodance.com.ve` ==
> .ve is the country.
Well, it is the two character country code used for the domain in DNS.
However, it would be up to the folks running com.ve (or just .ve) as
to whether or not all names registered therein must actually reside in
that country. For example, I suspect that by far most of the names
registered in ".tv" are not for systems actually residing in Tuvalu.
> But phishing operators make use of machines around the world which
> have been hijacked. Ie, there is no reason to expect that the
> cracker is at any of the addresses listed. You could let them know
> that their machines hae been hijacked if you wished.
Agreed.
rick jones
-- firebug n, the idiot who tosses a lit cigarette out his car window
these opinions are mine, all mine; HP might not want them anyway... :)
feel free to post, OR email to rick.jones2 in hp.com but NOT BOTH...