I got a weird email today. I dont know if it;s real or not. Im sure
many get this email
***************
Date: 25 Feb 2008 13:29:15 -0000
Subject: Advertising Inquiry
From: [email address] Add Mobile Alert
Hello,
We have reviewed your blogger.com blog on behalf of one of our
clients that would be interested in placing advertising with you.
Client profile :
DoingFine (http://doingfine.org)
New project (<1 month old)
Theme A forum dedicated to those things that came out right
and worked out fine.
We'd like either a 150x150 button, 160x600 skyscraper or 468x60 full
banner (or footer). Alternatively, we may be interested in text-only
advertising.
This would be a weekly, monthly or yearly arrangement. In either case
we will require a one time, one day (24 hours) free placement in order
to test the quality and quantity of traffic your website can actually
provide*. Within this interval, we will make a final determination,
based on the traffic volume, quality, and your asking price. Should
we find your terms acceptable, this trial day will count towards the
agreed interval.
Kindly let us know if you would be interested, which arrangement best
suits your editorial needs, and what rates you would like to charge.
We prefer using PayPal but may be able to accomodate alternative
payment methods.
Thank you.
*Please note that we employ software that reliably detects autoclick
and autosurf bots, pay per click and paid to surf type traffic, and
other such non-human traffic. This may be a concern for you,
especially if you are buying "bulk traffic", or employing the
services of dubious "SEO experts".
*********************
Can anyone help me? Is this email made by real company or by
hacker???? What should I do with the offer? I only have gay adult
blog! I mean, is there really any ad company who wants to place ad in
adult blogs???
Please help! What should I do with this ad offer???? Thx
I just realize that my copy-paste didnt copy the email address for the
sender. The address is: [email address]
Try typing "polimedia advertising" at Google. You will find MANY blogs
displaying that same emails coz they didnt know whetehr the email is
real or made-by-hacker.
I would definitely steer clear of this kind of stuff; it seems very
suspicious to me.
A Google Search on 'polimedia advertising' returns nothing but
concerned folks such as yourself asking what to do about the
solicitation. This is a big red flag to me, because any legitimate
advertising company would make their information readily available.
Third parties can also easily install badware on your computer by
asking you to put code into your template.
> I got a weird email today. I dont know if it;s real or not. Im sure
> many get this email
> ***************
> Date: 25 Feb 2008 13:29:15 -0000
> Subject: Advertising Inquiry
> From: [email address] Add Mobile Alert
> Hello,
> We have reviewed your blogger.com blog on behalf of one of our
> clients that would be interested in placing advertising with you.
> Client profile :
> DoingFine (http://doingfine.org)
> New project (<1 month old)
> Theme A forum dedicated to those things that came out right
> and worked out fine.
> We'd like either a 150x150 button, 160x600 skyscraper or 468x60 full
> banner (or footer). Alternatively, we may be interested in text-only
> advertising.
> This would be a weekly,monthlyoryearlyarrangement. In either case
> we will require a one time, one day (24 hours) free placement in order
> to test the quality and quantity of traffic your website can actually
> provide*. Within this interval, we will make a final determination,
> based on the traffic volume, quality, and your asking price. Should
> we find your terms acceptable, this trial day will count towards the
> agreed interval.
> Kindly let us know if you would be interested, whicharrangementbest
> suits your editorial needs, and what rates you would like to charge.
> We prefer using PayPal but may be able to accomodate alternative
> payment methods.
> Thank you.
> *Please note that we employ software that reliably detects autoclick
> and autosurf bots, pay per click and paid to surf type traffic, and
> other such non-human traffic. This may be a concern for you,
> especially if you are buying "bulk traffic", or employing the
> services of dubious "SEO experts".
> *********************
> Can anyone help me? Is this email made by real company or by
> hacker???? What should I do with the offer? I only have gay adult
> blog! I mean, is there really any ad company who wants to place ad in
> adult blogs???
> Please help! What should I do with this ad offer???? Thx
I'm so curious about this forum website (doingfine) dan I registered
to ask. I made a post, complete with the copy of email I got.
Apparently some forum members also got the same email. The moderator
replied that DOingFine really asks polimedia to advertise. The weird
thing, he EDITTED my post! I clearly remember I pasted that email.
It's gone, editted by its moderator. And he asked me to send inquiry
email to Polymedia/ Here's the reply:
******************
Re: DoingFine.org advertise with Polimedia? I got weird email
by Mr. M on Mon Feb 25, 2008 4:05 pm
For the past week or so, we've been employing this Polimedia company
to handle our marketing and advertising. So far it is working really
GREAT, as far as I understand these things (which admittedly isn't
very far).
So, you should probably direct the question to them, their email is
advertising@whatever-website-I've-just-mentioned. They seem like very
friendly people.
***********************
Why did he have to say 'advertising@whatever-website-I've-just-
mentioned' ???
Since this Polimedia emails have reached MANY blog owners (and
Blogger.com's name is mentioned), could Blogger/BlogSpot does
something about this???? If this is fake, Im sure many blog owners
will be asked to paste bad javascript ads which in time maybe will
cause trouble for Blogger.
@Sifis: "Noticed that most webmasters got that mail have something in
common...
They are photographers or illustrators (hobby or pro) and/or submit
photos at microstock sites!"
Sorry for double post (i know in some forum, double post is a big
sin). But i forget to respond to Sifis. I'm not a photographers. I'm
not an illustrators either. And I certainly never submit anything to
Microstock sites. I think my blog is a 'weirdo' coz its gay adult
(that has been labeled as adult blog already by me). WHy did I get it?
I dont know. I do think it's weird since NO click-ads company wants to
put ads in adult blogs.
I do have one other blog under the same email address. But that blog
is not active anymore. And it's just filled with the rambling poetry
that I made. I haven't updated it in YEARS! So Im not sure that the ad
is meant for my rambling-poetry dead blog.
Hi, I got this email, too. I'm not a photographer or illustrator.
However, when I googled this doingfine.org I notice a lot of
connections with StumbleUpon, which I signed up for just yesterday.
I'm thinking the connection is through them.
> I got a weird email today. I dont know if it;s real or not. Im sure
> many get this email
> ***************
> Date: 25 Feb 2008 13:29:15 -0000
> Subject: Advertising Inquiry
> From: [email address] Add Mobile Alert
> Hello,
> We have reviewed your blogger.com blog on behalf of one of our
> clients that would be interested in placing advertising with you.
> Client profile :
> DoingFine (http://doingfine.org)
> New project (<1 month old)
> Theme A forum dedicated to those things that came out right
> and worked out fine.
> We'd like either a 150x150 button, 160x600 skyscraper or 468x60 full
> banner (or footer). Alternatively, we may be interested in text-only
> advertising.
> This would be a weekly, monthly or yearly arrangement. In either case
> we will require a one time, one day (24 hours) free placement in order
> to test the quality and quantity of traffic your website can actually
> provide*. Within this interval, we will make a final determination,
> based on the traffic volume, quality, and your asking price. Should
> we find your terms acceptable, this trial day will count towards the
> agreed interval.
> Kindly let us know if you would be interested, which arrangement best
> suits your editorial needs, and what rates you would like to charge.
> We prefer using PayPal but may be able to accomodate alternative
> payment methods.
> Thank you.
> *Please note that we employ software that reliably detects autoclick
> and autosurf bots, pay per click and paid to surf type traffic, and
> other such non-human traffic. This may be a concern for you,
> especially if you are buying "bulk traffic", or employing the
> services of dubious "SEO experts".
> *********************
> Can anyone help me? Is this email made by real company or by
> hacker???? What should I do with the offer? I only have gay adult
> blog! I mean, is there really any ad company who wants to place ad in
> adult blogs???
> Please help! What should I do with this ad offer???? Thx