Web Images Videos Maps News Shopping Gmail more »
Recently Visited Groups | Help | Sign in
Google Groups Home
Car sales scam on the web- beware!
There are currently too many topics in this group that display first. To make this topic appear first, remove this option from another topic.
There was an error processing your request. Please try again.
flag
  2 messages - Collapse all  -  Translate all to Translated (View all originals)
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
r...@replicar.ca  
View profile  
 More options Jun 13 2005, 6:45 pm
From: r...@replicar.ca
Date: Mon, 13 Jun 2005 15:45:27 -0700
Local: Mon, Jun 13 2005 6:45 pm
Subject: Car sales scam on the web- beware!
Quite a few victims have fallen prey to this scam.It is particularly
rampant on EBAY Motors

~ This new scam has surfaced on the web recently involving the sale or
purchase of vehicles over the Internet. Please excercise EXTREME
caution in Internet transactiona, particularly when selling vehicles.
Here is how the scam works:

Scammer poses as a buyer interested in a car (or boat, plane, whatever)
you have for sale over the web;

Scammer then sends a pre-authorized note or chaeque (certified) that is
made out for several thousand dollars more than the purchase price;

Scammer then requests that you cash the cheque, keep the portion of the
money that is used to buy the car ( or boat, or whatever high ticket
item) and send the cash on to a third party via money wire, Western
Union, etc. They will likely tell you it is to cover the shipping or
"transfer" costs and will be handled by the thrid party. It will
probably be in a foreign country;

You know where this is going, right? The certified check they sent you
inevitably turns out to be bogus (counterfeit), and you are of course
in the rather awkward position of being out the amount of money that
you sent to the third party, and the latest victim of the scam.
Here is an email from a near-victim:

Hello there !

I'm the one with the XXXXXX on you're site !!

Someone (from a diff. site) has been emailing me about the car ...said
the best he can do is offer $12,000 BUT will send me a cheque for
$24,700 US from a US bank and could I send the diff. to the UK via
Western Union to handle shipping and then they will pick up the car
anyway I would like you to know his so-called name and addy for future
ref. ............

Cheers,

Ron


    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
CoreyDeals@gmail.com  
View profile  
 More options Jun 15 2005, 2:43 pm
From: "CoreyDe...@gmail.com" <CoreyDe...@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 15 Jun 2005 18:43:59 -0000
Local: Wed, Jun 15 2005 2:43 pm
Subject: Re: Car sales scam on the web- beware!
That's funny.  Someone is trying to do that to me now for a dodge viper
kit.

    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
End of messages
« Back to Discussions « Newer topic     Older topic »

Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2009 Google