Google Groups Home
Help | Sign in
Message from discussion Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
Maciej Gluszek  
View profile
 More options Dec 10 2007, 8:42 am
From: Maciej Gluszek
Date: Mon, 10 Dec 2007 05:42:39 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Dec 10 2007 8:42 am
Subject: Re: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
Well, I'm not offended by those spam messages in any way (besides
viagra etc). It's quite amusing to see the evaluation of such "you
have won!!!" offers.

But actually, they don't evaluate..

On 10 Gru, 14:17, cass-hacks wrote:

> If you guys run your own servers, check into ASSP (Anti-Spam Smtp
> Proxy).

> If you get spam, you just forward it to your mail server and if ASSP
> is set up right, that is the last you will see of spam from that
> source, and almost any other source using similar techniques.  It ends
> up effectively becoming a SPAM Firewall.

> Craig

> On Dec 10, 8:13 pm, Maciej Gluszek wrote:

> > I just got that one.
> > My reaction was: oh my, not again..

> > A quick research led me here.
> > True, it's a scam

> > I guess their goal is to force you to buy all those domain names.

> > A quick research also showed that a company named "Starnet
> > International Holdings Ltd" which "tried to acquire those domain
> > names" does not even exist.

> > I'll just tell tham thay they need to do a better job, that email
> > template is low quality ;)

> > On 6 Gru, 04:07, RoseJD wrote:

> > > Email scam alert to webmasters,

> > > Yesterday I received an email from a 'Kate Fu' from China Net
> > > Technology Limited :-

> > > We are China Net Technology Limited, which is the domain name register
> > > center in China.I have something need to confirm with you.
> > > we have received an application formally,one company named "Worldpro
> > > Holdings Limited" applies for the domain names...( followed by a long
> > > list of my domain URL in different versions of cn, hk, tw, biz, info,
> > > org, etc) We need to know the opinion of your company, because the
> > > domain names and keywords may relate to the usufruct of brand name on
> > > internet.
> > > we would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us
> > > by telephone or email as soon as possible. Please let someone in your
> > > company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact
> > > me freely.

> > > Best Regards,

> > > Kate Fu

> > > Sponsoring Registrar:
> > > China Net Technology Limited.
> > > Tel:+(852)3075 9838
> > > Fax:+(852)3177 1520
> > > Email: [adres e-mail]
> > > Website:www.cnnet.hk

> > > My initial reaction was to panick and register as many of the domain
> > > names listed in their email (cheaply with other providers) and
> > > discovered this blog on the Internet today on the scam:-

> > >http://www.e-consultancy.com/news-blog/363197/internet-brand-hijackin...

> > > Kate Fu sent through a very dodgy application form this morning to
> > > register the domain names they had listed at very expensive prices -
> > > my first suspicions arose.

> > > So if anyone else has been targeted by this scam I would like to hear
> > > their experiences and lets pass this one round so that as many people
> > > as possible are aware of the scam


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.

Create a group - Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2008 Google