Google Groups Home
Help | Sign in
Discussions > Crawling, indexing, and ranking > Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
There are currently too many topics in this group that display first. To make this topic appear first, remove this option from another topic.
There was an error processing your request. Please try again.
flag
  7 messages - Collapse all
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
RoseJD  
View profile
(3 users)  More options Dec 5 2007, 10:07 pm
From: RoseJD
Date: Wed, 5 Dec 2007 19:07:15 -0800 (PST)
Local: Wed, Dec 5 2007 10:07 pm
Subject: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
Email scam alert to webmasters,

Yesterday I received an email from a 'Kate Fu' from China Net
Technology Limited :-

We are China Net Technology Limited, which is the domain name register
center in China.I have something need to confirm with you.
we have received an application formally,one company named "Worldpro
Holdings Limited" applies for the domain names...( followed by a long
list of my domain URL in different versions of cn, hk, tw, biz, info,
org, etc) We need to know the opinion of your company, because the
domain names and keywords may relate to the usufruct of brand name on
internet.
we would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us
by telephone or email as soon as possible. Please let someone in your
company who is responsible for trademark or intellectual right contact
me freely.

Best Regards,

Kate Fu

Sponsoring Registrar:
China Net Technology Limited.
Tel:+(852)3075 9838
Fax:+(852)3177 1520
Email: [email address]
Website: www.cnnet.hk

My initial reaction was to panick and register as many of the domain
names listed in their email (cheaply with other providers) and
discovered this blog on the Internet today on the scam:-

http://www.e-consultancy.com/news-blog/363197/internet-brand-hijackin...

Kate Fu sent through a very dodgy application form this morning to
register the domain names they had listed at very expensive prices -
my first suspicions arose.

So if anyone else has been targeted by this scam I would like to hear
their experiences and lets pass this one round so that as many people
as possible are aware of the scam


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Maciej Gluszek  
View profile
(1 user)  More options Dec 10 2007, 6:13 am
From: Maciej Gluszek
Date: Mon, 10 Dec 2007 03:13:50 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Dec 10 2007 6:13 am
Subject: Re: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
I just got that one.
My reaction was: oh my, not again..

A quick research led me here.
True, it's a scam

I guess their goal is to force you to buy all those domain names.

A quick research also showed that a company named "Starnet
International Holdings Ltd" which "tried to acquire those domain
names" does not even exist.

I'll just tell tham thay they need to do a better job, that email
template is low quality ;)

On 6 Gru, 04:07, RoseJD wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
cass-hacks  
View profile
(1 user)  More options Dec 10 2007, 8:17 am
From: cass-hacks
Date: Mon, 10 Dec 2007 05:17:11 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Dec 10 2007 8:17 am
Subject: Re: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
If you guys run your own servers, check into ASSP (Anti-Spam Smtp
Proxy).

If you get spam, you just forward it to your mail server and if ASSP
is set up right, that is the last you will see of spam from that
source, and almost any other source using similar techniques.  It ends
up effectively becoming a SPAM Firewall.

Craig

On Dec 10, 8:13 pm, Maciej Gluszek wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Maciej Gluszek  
View profile
(1 user)  More options Dec 10 2007, 8:42 am
From: Maciej Gluszek
Date: Mon, 10 Dec 2007 05:42:39 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Dec 10 2007 8:42 am
Subject: Re: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
Well, I'm not offended by those spam messages in any way (besides
viagra etc). It's quite amusing to see the evaluation of such "you
have won!!!" offers.

But actually, they don't evaluate..

On 10 Gru, 14:17, cass-hacks wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Cootie Block  
View profile
(1 user)  More options Dec 17 2007, 3:10 pm
From: Cootie Block
Date: Mon, 17 Dec 2007 12:10:22 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Dec 17 2007 3:10 pm
Subject: Re: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
Here's the boilerplate I use when responding to these:

To whom it may concern:

"Acoustiblok" is a registered trademark of Acoustiblok Inc.,
protected under international law and treaty.  Acoustiblok Inc.
expressly forbids the use of our registered trademark by any
party without our written permission.  In the event that any
party registers any domain name that infringes our trademark, we
shall initiate ICANN dispute resolution to acquire ownership of
the said domain name, and file criminal complaints and/or civil
proceedings as we may deem appropriate.

Further communications from you will be reported to the U.S.
Department of Commerce, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation
Internet Fraud Task Force.

Thank you, [etc.]

I believe that is is appropriate to respond, because failure to do so
could be construed as failure to protect your trademarks & etc.
Then again, I'm ultra-cautious about these things.

So far, the above has made a half dozen scammers shut up and leave
me alone.  (Well, one got an autoreply...)

:o)


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Maciej Gluszek  
View profile
 More options Dec 17 2007, 8:15 pm
From: Maciej Gluszek
Date: Mon, 17 Dec 2007 17:15:59 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Dec 17 2007 8:15 pm
Subject: Re: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
More than using spam filters, I would rather block all incoming mail
from @gmail.com (link request spam is really beginning to piss me off)
and half of traffic from @yahoo.com.

This especially goes from so called "seo specialists" from india.

But it's amusing sometimes to read those link exchange offers written
in half-english-half-india-half-something language

On 17 Gru, 21:10, Cootie Block wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Chian SEO  
View profile
(3 users)  More options Dec 27 2007, 2:59 am
From: Chian SEO
Date: Wed, 26 Dec 2007 23:59:49 -0800 (PST)
Local: Thurs, Dec 27 2007 2:59 am
Subject: Re: Beware of Email scam on Domain Names by China Net Technology Limited
A similar blog post:
http://blog.sinohosting.net/beware-of-chinese-domain-names-fraud/

On Dec 18, 9:15 am, Maciej Gluszek wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
End of messages
« Back to Discussions « Newer topic     Older topic »

Create a group - Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2008 Google