Account Options

  1. Sign in
The old Google Groups will be going away soon.
Switch to the new Google Groups.
Google Groups Home
« Groups Home
Discussions > Crawling, indexing, and ranking > My site has been blocked
There are currently too many topics in this group that display first. To make this topic appear first, remove this option from another topic.
There was an error processing your request. Please try again.
flag
  8 messages - Collapse all  -  Translate all to Translated (View all originals)
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
CTPhil  
View profile  
 More options Sep 20 2008, 7:13 pm
From: CTPhil
Date: Sat, 20 Sep 2008 16:13:00 -0700 (PDT)
Subject: My site has been blocked
My site, http://www.randallcattleregistry.org/, has been blocked.

 From Webmaster Tools:

"Your page has been blocked from our index because it does not meet
the quality standards necessary to assign accurate PageRank. Certain
actions such as cloaking, writing text in such a way that it can be
seen by search engines but not by users, or setting up pages/links
with the sole purpose of fooling search engines may result in
permanent removal from our index. Please read our webmaster guidelines
for more information."

I have no idea why, I have not made any significant changes to the
site, and have been ranking #1 for several relevant keyword phrases
for several years.  My site disappeared from the serps a while ago due
to my host being hacked and hidden spam links added to some of my
pages, but I changed hosts and the site came back.  I can find no
evidence of hacking now.

Can someone look at my site and tell me if I'm doing something wrong?

Thank you very much.


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Chibcha  
View profile  
 More options Sep 20 2008, 7:40 pm
From: Chibcha
Date: Sat, 20 Sep 2008 16:40:26 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Sat, Sep 20 2008 7:40 pm
Subject: Re: My site has been blocked
Hi

No way of being sure but the way you are interlinking your domains
could be a problem, particularly when more than one carries:

" To request a link exchange, contact the webmaster at Howland
Homestead Website Design."

You can see why this might look like a link clearing house for your
sites.

On Sep 21, 12:13 am, CTPhil wrote:


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
JohnMu Google employee  
View profile  
 More options Sep 20 2008, 8:16 pm
From: JohnMu
Date: Sat, 20 Sep 2008 17:16:54 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Sat, Sep 20 2008 8:16 pm
Subject: Re: My site has been blocked
Hi CTPhil and welcome to the groups!

If you've cleaned up the hacked content and taken measures to prevent
it in the future, I would recommend that you also submit a
reconsideration request through your Webmaster Tools account.

Hope it helps!
John


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
donh  
View profile  
 More options Sep 20 2008, 8:55 pm
From: donh
Date: Sat, 20 Sep 2008 17:55:01 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Sat, Sep 20 2008 8:55 pm
Subject: Re: My site has been blocked

 JohnMu,

 From my understanding he has already done this including a
reinclusion request awhile back when it was hacked. This appears to be
a different issue. I just did a walk-thru of the pages on the site in
the Lynx browser and found nothing inappropriate.

 The only thing I could find was that he has a small network of
several sites that all interlink with eachother and atleast most of
them include a link exchange note on the footer.  However, all the
sites he links to are relevant to the topic, are not excessive, and
since these are all on topic links that would be for the benefit of
his visitors we cannot be sure of his 'link exchange' intentions. So
now this guy must remove his links page just to get back into Google?
The links page which just so happens to be very resourceful and
complementary to the rest of his site's content.  I could understand
if the links page was full of recripicated links that span many
different topics and have nothing to do with the site.

 My view is that if Google banned his site just for interlinking with
a few other resourceful sites that add to his own site's content then
this is more of a case of Google bullying.

On Sep 20, 8:16 pm, JohnMu wrote:


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
wilderness  
View profile  
 More options Sep 20 2008, 9:16 pm
From: wilderness
Date: Sat, 20 Sep 2008 18:16:51 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Sat, Sep 20 2008 9:16 pm
Subject: Re: My site has been blocked
I don't know if it makes any difference, but I noticed that you had a
number of identical keyword and very similar description/titles. These
were both between pages on yours site and pages form other linked and
related sites. I understand that Google does not look at keywords, but
they were for content that you appear to not have on the page which
may look like spam to Google?

 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
CTPhil  
View profile  
 More options Sep 20 2008, 9:35 pm
From: CTPhil
Date: Sat, 20 Sep 2008 18:35:56 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Sat, Sep 20 2008 9:35 pm
Subject: Re: My site has been blocked
Thanks for all of the replies.

Should I remove a few links from the other sites?  I hate to do that
because they were actually placed to be useful to the visitors.  I'm
not married to the "for link exchange contact" if it is felt that is a
problem.  Neither am I stuck on the keywords, I don't think Google
looks at them anyways and no longer add them to new sites.

Admittedly, some of the page titles were influenced by the desire to
rank well for certain keywords, but I thought that was just good SEO,
the titles are also relevent to the page content.

None of this really makes any sense to me. I thought I was going white
hat all the way.


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
JohnMu Google employee  
View profile  
 More options Sep 21 2008, 4:29 am
From: JohnMu
Date: Sun, 21 Sep 2008 01:29:56 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Sun, Sep 21 2008 4:29 am
Subject: Re: My site has been blocked
Hi Phil
I would definitely submit another reconsideration request - it might
be that there were still issues on your site when it was last
processed. I would mention the things you have mentioned here and
perhaps even link to this thread.

Hope it helps, good luck with your site!
John

PS Something else I noticed was that your forum uses "session-IDs."
This can be a bit of a problem so I would recommend looking into a way
of running the forum without requiring session-IDs for search engine
crawlers. This would however not prevent your site from being included
at all, it would just make it a bit harder to crawl the forum (in
other words, it's optional :-)).


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
CTPhil  
View profile  
 More options Sep 21 2008, 7:43 am
From: CTPhil
Date: Sun, 21 Sep 2008 04:43:46 -0700 (PDT)
Local: Sun, Sep 21 2008 7:43 am
Subject: Re: My site has been blocked
Thanks.

I had wondered if the forum could be a problem.  I recently installed
an anti-spam "mod", could that be a problem?


 
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
End of messages
« Back to Discussions « Newer topic     Older topic »