Google Groups Home
Help | Sign in
Discussions > Crawling, indexing, and ranking > Looks like porn is in my site description somehow
There are currently too many topics in this group that display first. To make this topic appear first, remove this option from another topic.
There was an error processing your request. Please try again.
flag
  6 messages - Collapse all  -  Translate all to Translated (View all originals)
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
 
From:
To:
Cc:
Followup To:
Add Cc | Add Followup-to | Edit Subject
Subject:
Validation:
For verification purposes please type the characters you see in the picture below or the numbers you hear by clicking the accessibility icon. Listen and type the numbers you hear
 
Neil Sattin  
View profile  
 More options Feb 4 2008, 9:44 am
From: Neil Sattin
Date: Mon, 4 Feb 2008 06:44:59 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Feb 4 2008 9:44 am
Subject: Looks like porn is in my site description somehow
OK, this is truly bizarre, but I know one of you will have the answer.

My wife noticed a bizarre search that brought someone to her site.
You can duplicate the results if you Google using the search terms:
interracial happydash.

http://www.happydash.com is the name of my wife's site.

So, when you do that search, notice that it brings up two results,
both of which are links to her site, and both of which, in the
descriptions, seem to reference porn (HappyDash, Dashiell inspired
since January 2007 is proudly powered by WordPress ... Of Hell Sylvia
Saint Free Sylvia Saint Interracial Gallery Sylvia Saint ... ) and
(HappyDash Says: January 17th, 2008 at 1:22 pm. Thanks Robyn. ...
Saint Sylvia Free Sylvia Saint Interracial Gallery Free Sylvia Saint
Porn Pics Sylvia Saint ...)

Now, there is absolutely no porn on the site.  No reference to Sylvia
Saint.  No Interracial Gallery.  If you go to the pages that come up
in the search, you'll see no mention of Sylvia Saint anywhere - even
if you view the source (I worried that maybe the pages had been
hacked).

So....why does the *porn* stuff show up in the description on the
Google search then?  Any ideas?  And, furthermore, any idea how to get
rid of that?

Thanks,
Neil


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
JLH  
View profile  
(2 users)  More options Feb 4 2008, 10:36 am
From: JLH
Date: Mon, 4 Feb 2008 07:36:56 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Feb 4 2008 10:36 am
Subject: Re: Looks like porn is in my site description somehow
That's because the site is covered in porn links.

Take a look at the cache of this page:

http://64.233.167.104/search?q=cache:ZLpO6cxGVaoJ:www.happydash.com/b...

Then view the source code of the page, You've probably been hacked.

I see the blog is "WordPress 2.1.3" That's a few generations behind
and may have left it open to attack.

On Feb 4, 8:44 am, Neil Sattin wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Discussion subject changed to "Looks like porn is in my site description somehow - where's the hack?" by Neil Sattin
Neil Sattin  
View profile  
 More options Feb 4 2008, 10:50 am
From: Neil Sattin
Date: Mon, 4 Feb 2008 07:50:07 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Feb 4 2008 10:50 am
Subject: Re: Looks like porn is in my site description somehow - where's the hack?
Hi JLH,

Well - you're definitely right that the links are in the source code
of the cached page.  However, when I look at the actual site (i.e. not
the cached page, but that link on the site itself) there are no porn
links.

Does that mean that the cache could have been hacked?

Or that somehow the page was temporarily hacked, but is no longer
hacked?  I never actually changed anything on that page one way or
another...

Thanks,
Neil

On Feb 4, 10:36 am, JLH wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
JLH  
View profile  
(1 user)  More options Feb 4 2008, 10:56 am
From: JLH
Date: Mon, 4 Feb 2008 07:56:20 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Feb 4 2008 10:56 am
Subject: Re: Looks like porn is in my site description somehow - where's the hack?
I just looked at it with my user agent changed to Googlebot and I can
see it.  So the hack is only showing the porn links to Google (or
maybe other engines too) when they view it, but if you view it in a
regular browser you cannot see it.

On Feb 4, 9:50 am, Neil Sattin wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Neil Sattin  
View profile  
(2 users)  More options Feb 4 2008, 11:39 am
From: Neil Sattin
Date: Mon, 4 Feb 2008 08:39:32 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Feb 4 2008 11:39 am
Subject: Re: Looks like porn is in my site description somehow - where's the hack?
Wow.  Amazing.  I just installed useragent switcher in firefox and saw
the same thing.  I'd be truly amazed if it weren't so irritating!

Time for an immediate upgrade, and then to see what might be causing
the injection.  Thanks for your help!!!

On Feb 4, 10:56 am, JLH wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
Neil Sattin  
View profile  
(1 user)  More options Feb 4 2008, 1:16 pm
From: Neil Sattin
Date: Mon, 4 Feb 2008 10:16:48 -0800 (PST)
Local: Mon, Feb 4 2008 1:16 pm
Subject: Re: Looks like porn is in my site description somehow - where's the hack?
For future reference for all others regarding this wordpress hack,
you'll find helpful information at this link:

http://blog.kakkoi.net/wordpress/how-to-removed-wordpress-net-in-spam...

By getting rid of the offending file and upgrading my wordpress
installation, I *think* I've taken care of the problem.  For now.

Thanks JLH for your help.

On Feb 4, 11:39 am, Neil Sattin wrote:


    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.
End of messages
« Back to Discussions « Newer topic     Older topic »

Create a group - Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2009 Google